We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Beautiful, Peaceful Honeymoon Stay”
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Chaumieres
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful, Peaceful Honeymoon Stay”
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Vila Chaumieres is a beautiful, quiet place to stay. The people are warm and welcoming being a small resort and the restaurant is a beautiful, intimate setting with some great food. It was great for our honeymoon as most nights we were the only ones there or there was only one or two other tables with people so it felt very private and relaxing. Prices are similar to classy restaurants in Australia around AU$30 for mains. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, it was nice to be free from bugs (problems we had in other places in Vanuatu) and the mosquito nets are an added comfort.
We split our stay between Port Vila and Santo and found Santo a better place to honeymoon as the beaches and snorkelling there (and of course the blue holes!) are really hard to beat if you're looking to just kick back by the beach.
But if you are staying in Port Vila, Vila Chaumeiers is a great option, it was easy to get into town and it's the perfect place to stay if you're looking for a smaller, more personal resort as opposed to the huge places like Irirki.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravellingjackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    49
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
124
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2010

My girlfriend and i stayed here earlier this year and it absaloutley amazing, lovely service. very friendly staff they helped me climb my first coconut tree, which was incredible!! Tracy the manager was also a terrific help, her local knowledge certainly gave us what we were looking for in our holiday. I can not recommend Vila chaumiers enough.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamestimms_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
707 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The food was outstanding, and they offered a wide range of selections for both food and drinks (The Coconut Crab was great). However I selected Vila Chaumieres based off of the reviews and its website. The rooms are very basic, and there really is no place that makes you want to just sit back and relax. The location looking over the lagoon isn't that special as others on Efate.

I would definitely recommend the restaurant, but you'd be better off staying elsewhere. The staff is friendly and helpful, but you get better value for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We had a fantastic 5 night stay here in one of the balcony rooms overlooking the lagoon. Its in a great location, 5 min bus ride (longest we had to wait for a bus was 5 min) to Port Villa. The room was huge with a lovely big balcony. Tracy was great taking us into Port Vila on our first day as she was heading in anyway, as its such a small complex the staff are on beck and call whenever you want them, Jake the gardener especially lovely. We had a few day trips so asked for breakfast early which they had no problem with, the breakfast was great too, lots of fresh fruit etc, trying to make my mind up whether to feed the fish with the bread or eat it myself! We spent every mealtime with our heads over the restaurant balcony just amazed at the creatures we could spot every day in the lagoon.
The free paddle boats were fun, a great way to get a different perspective of the lagoon, although we were shocked once out on the water how the restaurant looked liked it badly needed repairing, seemed to be held up by a few bricks (but the whole Island needed repairs so I guess nothing new).
If I had anything negative to say it would be that the bathrooms could do with a bit of an update, the shower pressure wasn't great and the sink was really slow to drain but by no means did this ruin our stay, overall it was fantastic. A pool would have been a lovely bonus as after seeing the creatures in the lagoon there was no way I was going swimming in there! I was glad the rooms didn't have internet or tv as we have those at home and were on holiday to enjoy the experience, do other things and get away from the noise of modern media.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZAng66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Enjoyed my 3-night stay here; booked one of the 2 rooms with a balcony overlooking the patio/lagoon and thoroughly enjoyed it. it's set in a quiet area by an offshoot lagoon. The service provided by the manager (Tracy) and staff (Elice especially) was outstanding, as they helped with suggestions, bookings, and all-around worked hard to ensure my stay in Port Vila was as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyche75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 km away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
11.5 km away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
7.4 km away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Ripples on the Bay
Ripples on the Bay
#22 of 47 in Port Vila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.9 km away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.0 km away
Sunset Bungalows Resort
Sunset Bungalows Resort
#9 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Property: Vila Chaumieres
Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price range (per night): $121 - $169
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing