We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great food and comfortable room overlooking a beautiful lagoon"”
Review of Vila Chaumieres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Chaumieres
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Vila Chaumieres for a week over Christmas. From the moment we arrived on the late night transfer bus from the airport to the time of departure, our hosts Richard and Ursula made us feel welcome and made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Their staff are charming and well trained, and the restaurant lived up to its reputation as one of the best in Port Vila, although I would have liked to have seen a few lower priced additions to the menu which would probably have encouraged us to eat there more often.

Let me say that the Vila Chaumieres isn't for everybody. It doesn't cater for children under 16, has no swimming pool (although one was in the final stages of construction at the time of writing), no noisy disco or TV in the rooms, and is about 4 kilometres outside Port Vila. Drawbacks for some perhaps, but for us they worked in our favour: the atmosphere was lush and tranquil, the lagoon delivered its romantic promise every day, and every foray into town (current fare 150vt) on one of Port Vila's battered but frequent mini-buses was an adventure in itself.

We stayed in one of the lagoon view rooms with a spacious balcony whose great feature was sliding concertina glass doors which when folded back turned the room and the balcony into one big open space. I've read some criticism on this website of the standard of these rooms which I think is unfounded considering we were not paying anything like 5-star hotel prices. Our air-conditioning worked quite well, the bathroom facilities were fine, and above all, we weren't plagued by insects which we had expected in such a tropical location, indeed we hardly saw any mosquitoes during our entire stay.

All in all, a value-for-money comfortable stay in a stylish setting with wonderful food - what more could you want?

Room Tip: The two lagoon view rooms are the best in my opinion, although the garden bungalows might be conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

Port Vila is a Tropical Island and the Vila Chamerire is based on this theme. First lets go over the best parts
1. Great hosts and staff, very welcoming, always willing to help us
2. Lovely resturant, as many others have mentioned the resturant is great, you can sit and watch the fish swim around for hours sipping great wine and eating even better food.
3. If you go for the top accomodation then the balony has a great view and lovely to sit out on having a glass of wine
4. There are free Kayaks to use which are great fun, and the breakfast is tropical fruit and toast - a little small but adequate.

So on the down side
1. Vila Chamerire is located about 5 Km outside the town centre. This is not a major issue once you realise there is a "bus" every 15 seconds (and I do mean seconds, read a tour book for details) and costs about £1 or AUD $1.5 each. You need to get used to their "bus" system but then its great and easy
2. The room initially looks great, it was very clutter free and set out in the the tropical island theme, however you could do with some black out curtains in the room. The AC unit simply did not work adequately at all, but did act as a good back ground noise generator for sleeping though it was peaceful outside :)
3. The bathroom needs to be replaced and this is the largest issue with the room with associated plumbing. The shower does work however the temp would change every 15 seconds and the shower area needs to be modernised, it has rust around the top and cracked tiles on the floor.
4. Communication regarding the time of breakfast either in the in room information or during checkin would have assured that we did not miss this for the first morning
For some people (not us) they may have expected a TV and maybe a DVD player, however I personally agree with the owners that it may destroy the topical feel.

In conclusion, the location is out of the way, however in Port Vila thats almost as much of an advanatage as dis-advanatage as in the town it would be very busy and noisy. The resturant is fab and would get 5 stars, however the accomodation is more 3 star then their 5 star status. New owners have just taken over and hopefully they will make the required changes.

Overall we were split on the rating I wanted 3 but my other half wanted 4, so as normal they won :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Splottlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I came to Vila Chaumieres with my wife to celebrate our anniversary anmd we stayed in one of the bungalows. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful and ensured our stay was a pleasant one.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Mickeyh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I am writing this review a year on.. but it seems like yesterday that we were there. We stayed in October 2010 to celebrate our 8 year anniversary for a week and what an amazing week it was. Our first time to Vanuatu - initially driving through Port Villa it is quite a dirty town about 10 minutes out of town was "Vila Chaumieres" a beautiful quiet location tucked away out of the hustle and bustle. We were very lucky while on our stay here to be the only ones at Vila Chaumiers for the first few nights. Our room was above the kitchen (but surprisingly we only heard the odd bang) and had the most amazing view of the lagoon. Our package included breakfast every morning and although it was limited what we were given the fruit and toast was always very fresh and tasty, we ate breakfast in the restaurant every morning downstairs on the lagoon amongst the beautiful gardens and watched the starfish and locals across the lagoon. The owner is an Australian and heads to the markets most days for fresh produce. We were treated very well and the staff very friendly and would do anything to help. On our anniversary night we ate in the restaurant and had the seafood platter - AMMAAZZINGG - defiantly recommend, defiantly try the famous coconut crab. A beautiful meal. We took the bus most places which was only a couple of dollars each way, this was a great was of getting around as you get to take all the back roads and ride with the locals and have a chat. I would recommend going to the Cascade Waterfalls for a day and on your way here you will see all the shanty towns. There is lots to do , just dont get sucked in to paying $50 for a bus - you just get on the mini bus's with and its only a couple of dollars. Will visit again one day. Vila Chaumieres is the perfect getaway as no children are at the accommodation - perfect just for two.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbles82Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for one week after reading positive reviews from fellow tripadvisors. We were suprised at how small this place is - even though this is not something to complain about. In fact, we must've been the only couple staying at the hotel because we never saw anyone else other than random visitors every now and then who came for dinner. We ate at the restaurant every day even though it was expensive - it was worth it in our opinion. Rooms were clean and staff were helpful. No TV in rooms. But hey, who needs to watch tv when you're there to unwind and forget the world?

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smoochiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.1 km away
Tropicana Lagoon Apartments Resort
3.0 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#28 of 47 in Port Vila
149 reviews
7.4 km away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
397 reviews
2.7 km away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
307 reviews
2.2 km away
Coconut Palms Resort
Coconut Palms Resort
#31 of 47 in Port Vila
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Port Vila

Been to Vila Chaumieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Chaumieres

Address: 2nd Lagoon, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: $122 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila Chaumieres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Chaumieres is a child-free Resort set in a lovely tropical garden on the banks of Erakor Lagoon. Renowned for its excellent restaurant, and situated just 4 km from the centre of Port Vila, it offers a peaceful retreat to the discerning traveller seeking an alternative to the large tourist resort, but still within easy reach of all facilities and holiday amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Chaumieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Chaumieres Hotel Port Vila
Vila Chaumieres Port
Vila Chaumieres Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing