We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dan D
Port Vila, Vanuatu

If you like drunk karaoke, go for it!

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2024
Whatever you do do not book for Monday. The restaurant hosts karaoke where drunk people attempt to sing 80s-90s ballads. Other nights they have off-key singers who play loud so good luck with sleeping (or...you know!)

If you are coming for a romantic getaway, this is definitely not the place
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$226
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
AU$234
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    AU$247
4.3 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$426
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$426
3.4 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Restaurant and Beach
AU$238
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    AU$238
  • Expedia.com
    AU$262
0.9 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$314
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
The Panorama Suite at the Grand Hotel And Casino
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$252
  • Trip.com
  • eDreams
3.7 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
  • eDreams
9.9 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Pool
Beachfront
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$430
  • Vio.com
10.6 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$118
  • eDreams
4.9 km from Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Port Vila
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
692
227
53
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
692
227
53
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews erakor island melanesian feast wedding planner pizza night movie night on the beach family villa fish day trip melanesian night a short ferry ride day bed fire show sea life blue lagoon paddle boards our honeymoon water sports
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Hi everyone!

My husband and I have just spent an unforgettable two weeks on Erakor Island, in the beautiful Erakor Island Resort. I wanted to share with you our experience, as this holiday was truly a blessing and one we will never forget.

Flights :
We travelled Air Vanuatu from Brisbane to Santo, then from Santo to PV. Everything was on time, Air staff were very accommodating, meals were great and the flight was overall a good experience. The smaller aircraft that flew us from Santo to PV was extremely hot onboard while we were waiting for take off, which I would imagine some people would really struggle with. The airports were also incredibly hot and humid... but what do you expect on a tropical Island? (lol). There were also limited places to eat and drink so keep this in mind. PV and Santo are not Huge built up cities like we have in Australia or the US, and to base unrealistic expectations around this will only lead to disappointment. The locals were very warm and welcoming, and we were offered a taxi trip around Santo during our wait time which really helped pass the time.

Accommodation :
Wow.. where to begin?!
upon arrival we were met at the airport by a transfer taxi that the resort had arranged for a small fee. Taxi was air-conditioned and the driver was very welcoming and loaded our luggage into the bus.

After a short ferry ride across the lagoon's pristine crystal clear waters, we arrived on the island. Shout out to Alice and Kevin for welcoming us with a refreshing drink and island vibe smiles!
We were then driven to our villa. I was absolutely on cloud nine when I saw how beautiful the villa was, with such a dreamy ocean backdrop. It truly felt like a tropical island paradise and I felt so blessed to be calling this place home for the next two weeks.
The villa was extremely clean, fully screened, had an extremely powerful air-conditioner, a very comfortable king sized bed, huge TV, free wi-fi, room service, PLENTY of towels which I loved, full bathroom amenities, a beautiful tropical outdoor shower with a Tarzan vibe :P , mini kitchen including bar fridge, kettle and tea/coffee making facilities, and microwave. The outdoor area featured a private plunge pool, a queen size day bed and best of all, the incredibly breathtaking ocean view that we were less than ten steps away from.

Staff :
I can not speak highly enough of the staff at Erakor Island Resort. Everyone was so humble and welcoming, very accommodating to our every need and went out of their way to ensure that we were having a great time. We truly felt as though we were staying in a home away from home.

Activities :
The resort provides snorkeling gear, kayaks, and stand up paddle boards all free of charge. There is also a ping pong table, football table and a playground for children. The resort also has an amazing pool overlooking the lagoon waters surrounding the island. The resort also offer a free 24hr ferry service to and from the mainland.

Snorkeling :
Despite some reviews about Erakor's snorkeling, I have to say that my husband and I spend about %90 of our time snorkeling around the island. We took our own gear as we enjoy snorkeling a lot and there is nothing quite like your own gear. Yes, like some reviews say, there are a lot of starfish. But "only" starfish? This wasn't our experience at all. We would spend hours snorkeling, and sometimes loose complete track of time. There are so many beautiful corals, thriving with vibrant marine life, countless tropical fish, sea cucumbers, different kinds of eels, different kinds of crabs, and of course, Erakor's famous starfish. We could tell that some of the coral has taken on damage due to the cyclones, but honestly this is to be expected, and did not draw from our experience whatsoever. The entry to the lagoon can be a bit harsh on the feet, so make sure you pack reef shoes. At the back of the island where the lagoon opens up to the ocean, there is a wonderous coral drop-off. We swam out to it while a tour boat was feeding the fish. A truly special moment.

Spa :
big shout out the the lovely masseuse who delivered a full body massage that was out of this world. I have had a lot of massages, but this by far was the best. It wasn't just the massage itself... it was all of the little things that were added to make the experience unforgettable. The energy was relaxing, nurturing and had me stumbling back to the villa. (thankfully it wasn't that far to walk! ha!) Erakor resort is blessed to have such a special lady.

Restaurant :
We ate at the restaurant for two weeks solid and did not get tired of the food. The resort offers free buffet breakfast each morning with a wide arrange of menu items that the chef cooks fresh. The all you can eat buffet includes pastries and mini cakes, fruit juice and water, coffee and tea, plenty of cereals, fresh tropical fruits and toast with different spreads. Then there is a hot breakfast menu which is included that offers a wide selection of cooked breakfast items. My husband and I ate a huge breakfast each morning which kept us going until dinner time. Shout out to Joanna, Elsie and Rory and all of the other restaurant staff who made our mornings and evenings welcoming and full of laughs. You guys really added so much to our experience.
Food seemed to be accessible at all times which was truly amazing. You hear about so many resorts who offer food strictly at certain times, this wasn't our experience.

Over the two weeks we didn't feel like we had to leave the island at all. *HUGE shout out to Kevin, Andrew and Dan the man for driving us everywhere on the island in the buggy. We really appreciate you guys.
If you are looking for a holiday which is crammed full of site seeing and various adventure activities, you can take a trip to the mainland. But if you are looking for an authentic island vibe holiday, based around pure relaxation, rejuvenation and stunning scenery... Erakor Island Resorts is the place to go.

We cant thank the staff enough for making our trip truly special and one we will never forget. Erakor island is now our home away from home and you are all like family to us. Lita, Natalie, Dan, Kevin, Andrew, Joanna, Elsie, Rory, Alice and everyone else at Erakor.. Thankyou. We cant wait to see you all again soon!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Voyagetoparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024

My wife and I spent 5 days at the resort and from start to finish it was a great experience. We were fortunate to get an upgrade to our room which was on the east side of the island right on the water. I recommend snorkeling on this side as there is a number of small coral reefs with 15 to 29 different fish around them meters from your room. The tour staff office is something we all need just an open hut looking out over the lagoon and they arranged a trip to Blue Lagoon and Lelepa Island for us. The island trip was low key but everything you needed was there and the second stop off the western side of the island had spectacular coral and sea life that we will never forget. At the resort breakfast is easy and good quality, we had lunch and dinner a couple of times with a good variety of selections. Getting to and from the island on the ferry/ tinny is easy, getting the bus into town was cheap and straightforward. Make sure you grab a kayak and explore the lagoon it’s an easy paddle but worth the few hours of adventure. One last thing we did was the Erakor Village walk with Nathalie and you see first hand how the locals go about life in such community focused way and you get to sample Kava at one of the Nakamals. In summary the staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and very comfortable with air conditioning as a great feature. We would be happy to stay again.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank R122ZBallanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

stayed for 3 nights in a lagoon suite for $430 a night and it was expensive for what it was. I regretted booking the lagoon suit as the water in the lagoon we were facing wasn’t very good to swim in. Breakfast was very sub par for the price you pay, had much better breakfast elsewhere. Thursday Melanesian night wasn’t put on as advertised which was disappointing. Umbrella wasn’t provided in room and when I asked for one no one seemed bothered to sort it. Snorkelling and seeing the many starfish was great but overall I wouldn’t stay again, I think it’s better suited for a day trip.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leahahokava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024

What a disgrace. My partner and I organised our wedding in the month of October 2024. After multiple back and forth emails we obtained the contract and quote. They sent us the available accommodation types and the wedding group rates. On the day we went to pay our deposit and book flights we found out all accommodation on the island were booked, other than the house and room allocated to the bride and groom. On previous communications via email we stipulated the houses were not required and individual rooms were going to be booked by family and friends. We also had not confirmed the total number of guests. We discussed the possibility of more than the initial number upon being finalised. My parents booked flights and proceeded to book accommodation. The only room available was the houses. I phoned the number provided only to be told all accommodation was booked and 2 weddings had already been booked for the week we were coming. My parents lost their frequent flyer miles and money on their airfares after cancelling. We are absolutely disgusted and livid that they were going to take our deposit and allow us to proceed with booking flights knowing all accommodation other than the houses and room allocated to bride and groom were all that was left. I had colleagues block out leave over the wedding dates. Shame on you Erakor. Be absolutely vigilant in booking a wedding through this resort and confirm accommodation is available prior to paying any money. I can’t express enough how much this has hurt us and our families.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2024

Rooms were comfortable and a good size for a family with 2 teenagers. Restaurant was very enjoyable. Cultural and fire dance night was terrific!! Movie night was also good. Great place to unwind and relax.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonyn828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews