We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Matt Stuart

Great time in Vanuatu

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2024
Had a great stay at the Holiday Inn Vanuatu. The staff was very friendly and the food was great. The rooms were nicely furnished and made for a comfortable stay. A special thanks for all the assistance Paul provided me during my stay! He was very helpful and professional.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rashmi Tulsiani, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 21 Mar 2024
Dear Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us.

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, delicious food, and comfortable rooms. Will be sure to pass on your compliments to Paul, a valuable member of our Front Office team.

We’re honored to have contributed to your great time in Vanuatu and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Holiday Inn Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$293
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.3 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
AU$426
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$226
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
3.5 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
AU$140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant and Beach
AU$238
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.9 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Panorama Suite at the Grand Hotel And Casino
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$235
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$238
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
4.6 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
  • Priceline
8.0 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$428
  • Trip.com
12.1 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Port Vila
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveller rating
575
320
80
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
575
320
80
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar kids club family suite water villa kids eat free fire show overwater bungalow adjoining rooms buffet breakfast tour desk kids pool golf buggy a garden view room taxi into town main pool management team a bit hit and miss
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2024

The place has a pleasant environment. The staffs there are so friendly and provide a very good service to us , special thanks to bandula and mayank for their excellent service. We have a wonderful experience each time we visit and we would by visiting more in future!!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rajagopalan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rashmi Tulsiani, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear rajagopalans2021,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our pleasant environment and received excellent service from our friendly staff, especially Bandula and Mayank. We look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable visits in the future!

Warm regards,
Holiday Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Great location a 5 minute drive from Port Vila. Resort was not super busy which may just be the season, and made the trip very relaxing. Staff are friendly and attentive. Special shout to Jacinta, Jacquelyn, Paul and Mary amongst many other names we forgot. The pool bar and staff was the highlight. The manager seems to work Dawn til dusk and is very accommodating.

Rooms are neat and comfortable. Co.ing with both a firm and soft pillow each.

Many tours available near and far.
The experienced traveller may do well to organise their own transport and get to all the sites without the tour companies which will save a few bucks. There does appear to be tariffs payable to locals at most destinations including beaches.

Taxis, especially Uncle Barry, are good and will wait for you to bring you back. Buses are great and only 150vt each way to wherever you want to go, with a few extra stops along the way. Every local is a tour guide and very happy to chat and point out things of interest and give insight to their lifestyle. They are all very proud of the university.

The town is busy but not bustling. Perhaps due to no ships at the time, and limited flights that week. There is no pushy oversell from anyone, and no tourist grab from the locals.

Make sure you shop at the local craft market and seek out Gweneth, she will do you a deal. Avoid the imported and cheap tourist shops as they do not support the locals.

A great time to come to Vanuatu, with some rain and plenty of warmth. They can really use your dollars.

We discovered the local bars and pop up trucks in the South of Port Vila a little late in our trip. Seem to be a great atmosphere there. Tourists mixing well with locals to some good tunes and great food.

Drink prices seem fairly consistent in and out of the resorts. Local beer is about $6-8AUD. Only about$2 at the bottle shop.

Big yellow duty free shop (Fung Kuei) in Port Vila is as cheap as they come. A litre of JD for $27 I excellent.

Would definitely travel here again.

Room tip: Pool was very clear while we stayed.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rashmi Tulsiani, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear 969dn,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. It's great to know that our staff, especially Jacinta, Jacquelyn, Paul, Mary, and our pool bar team, made your experience memorable. We appreciate your feedback on the rooms and the local tips you shared. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Vanuatu!

Warm regards,
Holiday Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Our experience of this hotel on the whole was very good. The staff are friendly and helpful. Jane helped us with booking a tour and any problems we had. The hotel itself is very clean. The down side for us was the room, it was musty and damp. The curtains we couldn't open so remained closed the whole stay. Milk and tea bags weren't replaced. Breakfast however was excellent with many choices, loved the fresh local fruits.

Room tip: It's just a laid back, relaxed experience
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rashmi Tulsiani, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear KathM775,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and your kind words about our staff and cleanliness. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the room condition and the issues with the curtains, as well as replenishing the tea and milk. Your comments are valuable to us, and we will address these concerns to ensure a better experience for future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide an even more enjoyable stay.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024

A last minute booking to meet our cruise, and this experience turned a potential lemon into lemonade! Excellent service, great breakfast and amazingly beautiful resort venue, highly recommend.... very special thanks to Mayank and crew.

Room tip: Hotel was super helpful by correspondence via email and helping to secure transportation from airport.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SportiQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rashmi Tulsiani, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear SportiQB,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to have been able to provide you with a great experience. We appreciate your kind words and will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Thank you for your recommendation and choosing to stay at Holiday Inn resort.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Myself and my colleagues were booked into the Holiday Inn Resort for a week to attend a workshop held in the resort conference room. The conference venue was fantastic, clean and tidy, and the staff were on hand to help the workshop run smoothly. The Holiday Inn Resort made for a fantastic venue for work trips.

But it made for an even better venue for outside-of-work activities. There are fantastic facilities at the resort, a gym if you need to exercise, not one but 2 pools which I absolutely made the most of! All the food was delicious, and it was great having so many options on the menu so closeby. The workshop team tended to park up for a beer at the end of the day and listen to the live music, and the performer weas a great singer. The resort has different "nights" - I attended the fire show and the island night, the island night was an absolute highlight as the dinner was all delicious and interesting Melanesian food, and there were a group performing island songs. In my free time, there are many tours you can go on that pick you up from the resort, and the staff were more than happy to help with booking.

The staff were also friendly and helpful and ready to assist with any request. My flight was cancelled, and the staff were so nice to me and made sure I felt looked after despite the circumstances. To name a few - Paul was super friendly and Jane helped me out with a few requests. One extra cool thing about this resort - they have a couple of sailboats down at the beach for guest use! Neither me or my colleague know to sail, so one of the men working at the activity shed (Huntington??) took us out on the sailboat and took us across the lagoon. So memorable!

Thanks heaps to the Holiday Inn Resort team, I had such a great stay and would easily recommend this for either work or personal holida.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Resort732154
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rashmi Tulsiani, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear Resort732154,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience! We're thrilled to hear that you had the best of both worlds during your stay at Holiday Inn Resort. It's great to know that our conference venue provided the perfect setting for your workshop. We're delighted that you also enjoyed our leisure facilities, food, and entertainment options, including the fire show and island night. We're glad our staff, including Paul, Jane, and Hannington, went above and beyond to assist you. It's wonderful to hear that you had a memorable time, and we appreciate your recommendation for both work and personal stays. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews