We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed”
Review of Ripples

Ripples
Ranked #21 of 103 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: USD 9 - USD 22
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ripples on the Bay, Vanuatu, is a small, four room resort and restaurant, located on beautiful Teouma Bay, a twenty five minute drive out of Vanuatu's capital, Port Vila. Our restaurant has a small but varied menu. We're known for our Asian dishes, but also serve great fish and chips, burgers and chips, and steaks. Bring your swimming gear and enjoy a dip in our pool after lunch, or contact us about staying over in one of our spacious, waterfront rooms. Contact details are on our website and Facebook page. A complimentary breakfast is included in our room rate. Restaurant is open to the public from Wednesday to Sunday from 12 noon. (Open to in house guests every day.)
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We were a party of 12 including 6 children. Ripples were very accomodating and friendly although we did make sure to ring ahead and book . Food and drinks were delicious. We would definitely recommend and return

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank AngelaP5513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Hi Angela P,

We're glad that you all enjoyed your Ripples experience, and thanks for taking the time to write this review. Thanks also, for thinking to book the day before. While we do our best to accommodate anyone who walks in, we do only have a small staff, and can generally arrange to put an extra person on, when we know that we have a larger group coming. Makes the experience better for everyone.

We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2016

We were there for a week so could have tried twelve different meals...but Damien showed us a fish (long tailed red something???) which looked as if it had been caught in the last few minutes so we had two fish-burgers that night...and again the following night!!!...so good. All the mains and entrees (we are not desert people) were different, fresh and generous - Pacific Rim Cuisine comes to mind. Other than the fish-burgers, my favourites were the local prawns, the marinated fish and the fishcakes (which, incidentally were replacements for the coconut battered fish which was overdone (a new type of oil) and immediately and graciously replaced).

Yes, the prices are not cheap but when converted to $NZ, compared to Auckland restaurants of the same quality, much the same value for money but.... you can't beat that ambience...fish always tastes better with the surf breaking in the background!!

Beers and quality wines were well priced.

James and Jocelyn were friendly, helpful and thoroughly professional wait/bar staff, always happy to help but never intrusive.

We enjoyed every meal, thanks to all the team!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill_Draper53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Great atmosphere, friendly staff tasty mojito's and those burgers hmmmmmm!! See you next year! Thanks James.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Corinna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Once again this place has outdone itself, from wonderful location, great staff to the fantastic food. Highly recommend the Beef Rendang, my husband reckons it is the closest to his Malaysian childhood that he has tasted, I had the Balinese Pork, it just melted in your mouth was full of flavour. Desert was a great end to our meal, as always lime tart is the favourite with me. If you are travelling in Vanuatu make sure you stop in for lunch or dinner you will not be disappointed

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

It is not often you ever get to write about fish and chips, and beef burgers. Suffice to say I will, and my partner and I enjoyed an outstanding culinary experience with both dishes. Suitable for children to adults, we walked away sprouting happiness and trying to compare where in the world we have experienced that level of quality. The fish was succulent, not over battered and served with crunchy fries to compliment the moist salty poulet. The burger - fresh, juicy and tasty. Man-size and easily halved which we did, to accommodate the most energy consumptive kids in the world. Bravo Sally and Damien - a hidden gem for even a casual lunch.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank spitman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ripples also viewed

 

Been to Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing