We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
al.savo
Sunshine Coast, Australia

Intimate Resort with Surf Break

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Relaxing place to unwind yet easy to get bus or taxi into town or to go adventuring around Efate. Need cash, cash, cash to pay for tours as they aren't added onto account and all require cash payment. ATM in reception area proved handy. Breakas has surf break out front. Local kids provided afternoon entertainment with their surfing skills. Intimate resort with Beach Bar 'Happy Hour' great place to meet guests. Staff lovely. Put up with cold shower for 3 days but thankfully was quickly rectified when we advised reception. Loved our fare with its unique, open, volcanic walled shower. Appreciated the mozzie net. Our safe didn't work but clearly the staff are honest as everything in it remained safe. Thought hot breakfast was included but only continental was. Extra payment if you want eggs for breaky. Supermarket directly opposite resort too. All in all, we loved our stay at Breakas and would recommend it, especially for surfers.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Lelepa Island Tour and Johnny's Islet Island half day tour both well worth it and you can book at...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear LandnSea88,
Thank you for the 5 rating the lovely comment. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holidays.
You truly are a guest that sees beauty and everything. Embraces new experience.
Guest like you deserve a free ticket to travel beautiful places around the world.
We wish you all the best in this life's journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$272
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$223
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
AU$283
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    AU$298
5.1 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$508
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
3.8 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$307
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
6.3 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant and Beach
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$169
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Panorama Suite at the Grand Hotel And Casino
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    AU$234
  • Trip.com
4.2 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$410
  • eDreams
11.9 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial view of the property
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$215
  • Expedia.com
    AU$246
5.2 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Vila
Reviews (1,237)
Filter reviews
1,237 results
Traveller rating
723
344
114
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
723
344
114
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower beach front garden fares beachfront fare beachfront bure seafood platter reef shoes happy hour mosquito net high tide local village our honeymoon ceiling fan most nights laid back coconut crab private beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,237 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2024 via mobile

Service was crap no one wants to help you. Cocktails were discussing and they never put alcohol in them.
Saturday seafood night was horrible and made me have diarrhoea as it was all FRIED SEAFOOD nothing fresh very disappointed as we were very excited and it cost a lot.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Dear Jo B,
Thank you for the rating, the comment and thank you for staying with us for your holidays.
We are sad to read of your experience with us.
If we were advise of your challenges during your time with us we would have address this. However, now that you have left we can only extend our sincere apologies and will ensure this does not happen to our future guest.
We wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2024

Unfortunately our experience was not good. This resort as we were advised is owned by someone in Australia thus we would assume them to be ethical and fair. During our checkout they messed up with their billing and accounting. We were charged twice for same invoice one during actual checkout at their reception and one after 10 days when we back in Australia. We had to go through a difficult time to get a refund on that additional charges which they ended up charging on our credit that also without approval. For this wrong act double charging we were again penalised as the amount return was about $6 less then what was deducted which was in addition to international transaction fees we had to pay for their mistake on our credit card . Because of their mismanagement from reception and accounts we ended up loosing money for their mistakes. They haven’t yet returned the difference which we are still following up. If the owner and management of this resort is reading this please be fair and do the right thing by not hard time to your customers. Few dollars will neither us poor nor make you rich, this is all about principle of being fair.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Abhijeet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Mali / Mr. & Mrs. Bhattacharya,
Thank you so much for the 1 rating, thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holidays. We are sad to read of your experience.
We are expecting your review.
To our future guest, we request if you are travel in pairs of couples, to avoid these experience, we advise to always ensure your bills are separated correctly at the end of your meals.
Please enjoy your time with us and talk with our staff if there be any issue arise during your stay.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Perfect place for a much-needed recharge.
Wonderful staff and you can relax and have everything you need at the resort.
Food was fantastic and the cocktails are delicious. Continental breakfast is very basic, but you have the option to purchase if needed.
Loved our Fare. Open shower, comfortable bed, mosquito net for bed, small fridge. You will get some insects in the room purely for the environment, but we didn't have any issues.
The pool and bar areas were awesome, recommend bringing reef shoes for swimming the coral can be quite hard on feet. Great snorkeling spot also.
The resort also hosts some great "theme" nights, and these are a lot of fun.
Will definitely stay again.

Room tip: The paths to rooms are sand, be mindful of footwear.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear 883julieq,
Thank you greatly for the 5 star. Thank you so much for the lovely comment. And thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holidays.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your time with us.
Guest with beautiful hearts always leave happy. Enjoying what Breakas offers, and that is total relaxation, total reset to return home and face life's challenges with positiveness.
We wish you a life filled with happiness, enjoying it with full health.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

2nd time back to Breakas (last time 2018) and this time took the adult family - 3 x Garden Bures and 1 x Beachfront. We were worried that it may not be as good as we remembered but thankfully very wrong - again it was amazing. If you are looking for an authentic melanesian vibe this is the place for you. Thatched bure's - outdoor shower - shuttered windows and overhead fan all provide the setting for an amazing stay.
Food was absolutely superb with plenty of variety and fine dining at an amazing price.
Continental breakfast included and an All Inclusive option as well.
Staff - where do we start - could not be more helpful - big shout out to Mantai (Food and Bev Manager) Alsa - Tour Desk, Betty - Office - not a question they were unable to help with and all the others in the background.
$1.30 on the bus (out the front) into town - 10 minutes - for the markets or shopping or just to have a look around.
10/10 as far as we are concerned.
Mary and Glenn White

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MaryandGlenn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Dear Mary and Glenn,
Just could not say thank you enough for the 5 star the lovely comment and thank you for allowing Breakas to look after your family for your holidays.
We are very happy that you are not at all disappointed on your second trip.
Guest with beautiful hearts always leave happy. And we are grateful to have you all.
May you have a life filled with happiness enjoying it will full health.
Thank you ever so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. This along with many other accommodation venues in Port Vila are rated 3 star, but this is 5 star. Great facilities (no a/c in cabins) friendly staff and good.food and.drinks. A beautiful location on the water. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marty045
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Dear Marty045,
Thank you so much for the rating, the lovely comment and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holidays.
We always say, beautiful guest always leave happy.
We wish you a happy, successful, healthy life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews