We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Abhijeet B

Wrong charges and customer care experience

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Apr 2024
Unfortunately our experience was not good. This resort as we were advised is owned by someone in Australia thus we would assume them to be ethical and fair. During our checkout they messed up with their billing and accounting. We were charged twice for same invoice one during actual checkout at their reception and one after 10 days when we back in Australia. We had to go through a difficult time to get a refund on that additional charges which they ended up charging on our credit that also without approval. For this wrong act double charging we were again penalised as the amount return was about $6 less then what was deducted which was in addition to international transaction fees we had to pay for their mistake on our credit card . Because of their mismanagement from reception and accounts we ended up loosing money for their mistakes. They haven’t yet returned the difference which we are still following up. If the owner and management of this resort is reading this please be fair and do the right thing by not hard time to your customers. Few dollars will neither us poor nor make you rich, this is all about principle of being fair.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 21 Apr 2024
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Mali / Mr. & Mrs. Bhattacharya,
Thank you so much for the 1 rating, thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holidays. We are sad to read of your experience.
We are expecting your review.
To our future guest, we request if you are travel in pairs of couples, to avoid these experience, we advise to always ensure your bills are separated correctly at the end of your meals.
Please enjoy your time with us and talk with our staff if there be any issue arise during your stay.
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$242
  • Vio.com
    AU$202
  • Hotels.com
    AU$262
0.7 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$293
  • Hotels.com
    AU$278
  • Priceline
    AU$293
1.6 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$235
  • Hotels.com
    AU$234
  • HolidayInn.com
    AU$247
5.1 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$192
  • Vio.com
    AU$165
  • Trip.com
    AU$226
1.8 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
The Panorama Suite at the Grand Hotel And Casino
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$226
  • Agoda.com
    AU$177
  • Trip.com
    AU$269
4.2 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$426
  • Vio.com
    AU$373
  • Trip.com
    AU$377
3.8 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$121
  • Vio.com
    AU$90
  • Priceline
    AU$148
9.3 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Restaurant and Beach
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$239
  • Hotels.com
    AU$234
  • Priceline
    AU$239
2.4 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$358
  • Trip.com
    AU$366
  • Agoda.com
    AU$308
  • Vio.com
    AU$366
11.9 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$131
  • Priceline
    AU$112
  • StayForLong
    AU$166
5.3 km from Breakas Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Port Vila
Reviews (1,238)
Filter reviews
1,238 results
Traveller rating
724
344
114
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
724
344
114
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower beach front garden fares beachfront fare beachfront bure seafood platter reef shoes happy hour mosquito net high tide local village our honeymoon ceiling fan most nights laid back coconut crab private beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,238 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024

Perfect place for a much-needed recharge.
Wonderful staff and you can relax and have everything you need at the resort.
Food was fantastic and the cocktails are delicious. Continental breakfast is very basic, but you have the option to purchase if needed.
Loved our Fare. Open shower, comfortable bed, mosquito net for bed, small fridge. You will get some insects in the room purely for the environment, but we didn't have any issues.
The pool and bar areas were awesome, recommend bringing reef shoes for swimming the coral can be quite hard on feet. Great snorkeling spot also.
The resort also hosts some great "theme" nights, and these are a lot of fun.
Will definitely stay again.

Room tip: The paths to rooms are sand, be mindful of footwear.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear 883julieq,
Thank you greatly for the 5 star. Thank you so much for the lovely comment. And thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holidays.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your time with us.
Guest with beautiful hearts always leave happy. Enjoying what Breakas offers, and that is total relaxation, total reset to return home and face life's challenges with positiveness.
We wish you a life filled with happiness, enjoying it with full health.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024

2nd time back to Breakas (last time 2018) and this time took the adult family - 3 x Garden Bures and 1 x Beachfront. We were worried that it may not be as good as we remembered but thankfully very wrong - again it was amazing. If you are looking for an authentic melanesian vibe this is the place for you. Thatched bure's - outdoor shower - shuttered windows and overhead fan all provide the setting for an amazing stay.
Food was absolutely superb with plenty of variety and fine dining at an amazing price.
Continental breakfast included and an All Inclusive option as well.
Staff - where do we start - could not be more helpful - big shout out to Mantai (Food and Bev Manager) Alsa - Tour Desk, Betty - Office - not a question they were unable to help with and all the others in the background.
$1.30 on the bus (out the front) into town - 10 minutes - for the markets or shopping or just to have a look around.
10/10 as far as we are concerned.
Mary and Glenn White

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MaryandGlenn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2024

Dear Mary and Glenn,
Just could not say thank you enough for the 5 star the lovely comment and thank you for allowing Breakas to look after your family for your holidays.
We are very happy that you are not at all disappointed on your second trip.
Guest with beautiful hearts always leave happy. And we are grateful to have you all.
May you have a life filled with happiness enjoying it will full health.
Thank you ever so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. This along with many other accommodation venues in Port Vila are rated 3 star, but this is 5 star. Great facilities (no a/c in cabins) friendly staff and good.food and.drinks. A beautiful location on the water. Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marty045
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Dear Marty045,
Thank you so much for the rating, the lovely comment and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holidays.
We always say, beautiful guest always leave happy.
We wish you a happy, successful, healthy life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

Nice spot on the beach
Little further out of town than I’d have liked.
Restaurant was good if the Italian/french chef was cooking otherwise was hit and miss.
Rooms basic and could use an update.
Staff helpful and friendly
Too many roosters in adjoins village and woke up all through every night to them crowing not just dawn.
Rooms (villas) not soundproofed
Was an ok stay but it didn’t quite hit the mark for what I was hoping/expecting

Room tip: If you don’t want to be out and about it’s probably good for swimming in pool or beach. If want to explore, need to get bus/taxi into town
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NEVictoriaLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Dear NEVictoriaLiss,
Thank you for the rating, the comment to help our future guest and thank you for coming to stay with us.
We noted fully your comment and hope it will help our future guest with their decision to stay with us.
We wish you all the best in this life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

Nestled along the shores of a breathtaking coral beach, Breakas Beach Resort offers a serene, adult only retreat that captures the essence of tropical paradise.

The highlight of our stay was undoubtedly the amazing pool area, boasting panoramic views of the pristine coral beach below. Lounging by the pool, with the gentle ocean breeze and azure waters stretching out before us, it felt like a tropical paradise!

Magical Sunsets and Cocktails: The restaurant bar overlooking the beach became our favorite spot for evening relaxation. Sipping on cocktails as we watched the sun dip below the horizon, painting the sky in hues of orange and pink, was a regular highlight of our stay. Just remember everything happens in time (island time) here so don’t be in any rush!

Led by an Italian chef, the poolside restaurant offered a delectable selection of Mediterranean-inspired meals. From fresh seafood to flavorful pasta dishes, each meal was a culinary delight that tantalized the taste buds.

The warmth and friendliness of the local staff truly made our stay special. Their genuine hospitality and impeccable service ethic ensured that every need was met with a smile, adding a personal touch to our experience.

The entirety of the hotel grounds are enveloped by established lush tropical gardens, creating a tranquil oasis that soothes the soul. Wandering through the sandy, verdant pathways was a delight, offering moments of serenity amidst the vibrant flora.

The unique Fare accommodation provided a charming blend of comfort and authenticity. The outdoor undercover bathrooms added a touch of adventure to our stay, allowing us the feeling to shower outside surrounded by nature's beauty.

Despite its secluded feel, Breakas is conveniently close to Port Vila, easily accessible by the local bus service. The affordability of the bus, charging only 1.50 (VUV), made exploring the nearby attractions a breeze.

In conclusion: While Breakas may look a little run down compared to its counterparts in the South Pacific, its charm lies in its simplicity. Once we looked past the minor imperfections, we found ourselves immersed in a world of relaxation, embracing the laidback vibe that permeated every corner of the property.

Overall, our stay at Breakas was a tranquil getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. From the stunning pool area to the exceptional service and delicious cuisine, every moment was a testament to the beauty of island living.

Room tip: Taxis can be expensive into Port Vila catch the local bus (licence plate has a big red “B” on it) its cheaper and the drivers speak English!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank H7290XCanthonyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alsa Konel, Guest Services / Front Office at Breakas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear H7290XCanthonyn,
Thank you for the rating, thank you for the lovely comment and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your holidays.
Guest with beautiful hearts always leave Breakas relaxed and that is what we want.
We have taken note of your comment in regards to run down. Our team is working on it.
We wish you all the best in this life

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews