We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Tamanu on the Beach
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 27
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With our truly breathtaking absolute beach front location , our fine dining, yet casually relaxed restaurant, is considered to be the best in Vanuatu and is renowned for its pavilion styled, open-air al fresco dining. We also offer our chapel for larger groups. Tamanu on the Beach's restaurant has earned a highly respected international reputation for delivering the most distinctive dining experience, featuring local organic meat, indigenous produce and the freshest of seafood. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner for guests and visitors, our restaurant offers quality dining at affordable prices. Bookings are recommended.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were fortunate to stay at Tamanu on the Beach and enjoy the wonderfully delicious cuisine every day for a week. At every meal we were impressed.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2018

Highly recommend visiting Tamanu for lunch and a stroll around the property. Food was fresh and flavours worked well together. Cocktails were inconsistent (for example the coconut mojito was massive, whereas the G&T was on the small side)

There are several small villas dotted around the beach and a pool area off to the side. The ocean looked a bit rough for casual swimmers.

If you are considering visiting the spa for a treatment it is worth booking in advance as we were informed there are usually only one or two masseuses on at any given time.

    • Service
Thank slombardo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamanuVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Tamanu on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hi and thank you for the review of your dining experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your meal. The drinks are exactly as we intend them although perhaps our team didn't asked if you liked your Gin in a tall glass. Traditional cocktails are always slightly larger than spirit mixes.

You should definitely come and stay with us next time. We would love to have you stay and were voted 2018 Luxury Resort of the year at the recent Vanautu Tourism awards. Our 15 5 star villas average 75m2 in size so actually pretty large :-)

Our spa has 4 treatment rooms and most shifts we have two or three therapists on although it is very popular and bookings are always recommended although we always will try and find a spot for those that have a last minute decision and stop in.

thanks again for reviewing us and hope to see you back again

Tropical regards

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

We didn't stay here but friends and family did. We used the spa, restaurant...and attended my daughters wedding. Restaurant meals were first class, spa was sublime, restaurant staff were all beautiful helpful people.
Highly recommend

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamanuVanuatu, Guest Relations Manager at Tamanu on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Thank you Karina, it was lovely having you with us during the week. Especially glad for the comments on the spa. We have a lot of dinners doing a spa treatment and then lunch or dinner now, very popular!

Thanks for the review and we hope to see you back again.

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

I liked the fish salad with baguette for lunch, seafood curry for dinner also nice and my husband liked the fish dishes, great staff very friendly. Highly recommend some of the best food we found

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank DebbieWarren6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamanuVanuatu, Guest Relations at Tamanu on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you for the wonderful food review Debbie

the fish salad is one of my personal favourites as well and combined with the warm crusty bread is a winner I think.

Hope to see you back again soon

Tropical regards


Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

A number of people whom I had met on my travels suggested Tamanu, getting there is a bit of a battle, once there it is stunning and beautiful with service to match.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank martinaboboko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamanuVanuatu, Guest Relations at Tamanu on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hi Matina,

thank you for the wonderful food review and coming out to dine with us. We appreciate it, especially when all of Port Vila has the roading project on which makes travel anywhere out of a town a little longer than normal. Thankfully its due to be complete is 4 weeks and all back to normal.

Hope to see you again

Tropical regards

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamanu on the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Tamanu on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing