We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tentation Restaurant

La Tentation Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 82 Restaurants in Port Vila
Price range: USD 5 - USD 63
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Tentation is a Romantic Fine Dining Restaurant and Cafe located on the Waterfront in Port Vila, Vanuatu
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This restaurant is situated right on the harbour and had spectacular sunset views.
My meal was delicious - easily the best meal during my stay in Port Vila.
The prices are expensive - but considering the quality of the food - good value.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    80
    46
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“didn't live up to its reputation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

There seemed to be a lack of quality staff, our order was wrong, our wine got lost, generally a shambles. I could put up with it if I wasn't paying top dollar for a night out.

The view is amazing, and would be worth a visit for breakfast, but in general it was disappointing.

Paid alot and delivered very little

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Right on hte harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Food was excellent, with good serving sizes, although on hte expensive side. location fantastic.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnandMichelleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“NYE degustation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

A beautiful PV night with the always gorgeous and attentive staff at La Tentation.
We were allowed to BYO with reasonable corkage which made the 7500 vatu 10 course degustation even better value.
It took a little while for the first course to get there but mostly people were settling down to a drink so it was ok.
The courses were well paced and well sized. In fact my partner and I could not eat all 10 courses. Some dishes were wonderful and beautifully presented. Some of our favourites included the lobster and prawn salad, salmon tartare and beef croquettes. It took a turn for the strange when the last dish before dessert was fish and chips ??
I was concerned about noise and service issues but it ran very smoothly. One exception was the group of people who decided to let off flares - noisy, silly and irresponsible. Management had previously shoo-ed off some local kids fishing out the front but apparently this drunken display was fine.
Overall a beautiful evening with a wonderful view of the fireworks

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spazzle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I was really impressed with the service, very fast and polite. The breakfast was very good. nice setting, i would recommend.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 32travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tentation Restaurant also viewed

 
Port Vila, Efate
 

Been to La Tentation Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing