We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
HulaKiwi
Sydney, Australia

Getting Tired, but still friendly

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2024
Had an unscheduled stay for 2 nights due to flight cancellation. Resort is on the lagoon which is pretty enough but quite a way from town. Food options limited, especially breakfast. Given a choice of 1 thing (full breakfast) which was cold when served. Cold poached eggs is a new experience for me. Reception is quite bland, and you need a golf cart lift to get to the rooms. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the resort is getting tired and has a number of maintenance issues. I expected better from Ramada.

On the other hand, the staff were all friendly and helpful.
Date of stay: March 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel General Manager, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila, responded to this review
Responded 15 Mar 2024
Dear HulaKiwi,
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast, we have had to remove the breakfast buffet currently, with so many cancellations and being the quiet season, the buffet meant we were throwing more food out than consumed. I will discuss with our chef as it should all be cooked fresh to order, and can order as much as you want (like a personalized buffet).
We are taking the low season opportunity to do a lot of painting and fixing around the resort which may make it look a little tired, but quite the opposite, we have completely closed and now reopened 3 of our 5 buildings with new paint and all the little things fixed in preparation for our guests. Our kitchen has had a complete make over to ensure the highest standards of hygiene and taste. We have installed a new custom made Argentine grill to cook local produce over a wood fire, imparting that lovely smoked flavour, we cant wait to finally unveil it!
Again we are sorry that your wasn't an amazing experience despite our best efforts, please feel free to contact me on gm@ramadaresort.com.vu to discuss further.
Kind regards
Ben Smith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$246
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$244
  • Priceline
  • HolidayInn.com
    AU$258
2.0 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$293
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$274
  • Expedia.com
    AU$293
2.3 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Beachfront
Restaurant
AU$252
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$203
  • Expedia.com
    AU$261
2.7 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$196
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$178
  • Expedia.com
    AU$225
1.5 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Free parking
Pool
AU$276
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$409
3.3 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Free parking
Pool
AU$114
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$98
  • Expedia.com
    AU$121
8.7 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Pool
Beachfront
Restaurant and Beach
AU$238
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$235
  • Expedia.com
    AU$239
4.5 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Panorama Suite at the Grand Hotel And Casino
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$212
  • Agoda.com
    AU$195
  • Hotels.com
    AU$207
1.6 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$425
  • Agoda.com
    AU$372
  • Expedia.com
    AU$425
1.5 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$355
  • Agoda.com
    AU$344
  • Trip.com
11.3 km from Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Vila
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
310
174
81
19
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
310
174
81
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buggy service coffee machine pool area buffet breakfast large bathroom happy hour cultural show great pool beautiful lagoon full kitchen swim up bar fire show staff were amazing fish kids club yogurt buggies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2024

We have just spent 7 nights at the Ramada. Positives - extra comfy king size bed. Cold A/c and overall, a well equipped studio apartment. Restaurant is really good with a lot of variety and reasonably priced menu. Swimming pools for adults and kids are fantastic as is Bob, the pool attendant. Buggy delivery to our room
(311) was appreciated as the complex is build over several levels. It is a reasonable 1000 V. fare from the town or about 2000 V. to the airport. Staff are very friendly throughout the Ramada. Not a criticism but we would have appreciated a bit of resort and city information in our room. We were told that some guests had QR codes but not ours.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JennandMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel General Manager, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2024

Dear JennandMalcom,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your experience with us. we are absolutely thrilled you had such a great stay! Bob is fantastic and thank you for the mention so that i may celebrate this with him. I am sorry you missed the welcome letter with the QR code for information. I am pleased to say just this morning we received our updated in room compendiums that we are in the process of putting into rooms.
We hope to welcome you back
Lukim YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2024

The Ramada is a little out of town and a bus (vut150) or taxi (vut700) is needed each way. The staff are magnificent, prompt, the food is good (try the gnocchi) and even sang happy birthday to my wife. Rooms overlook the lagoon but it's not for swimming so stick to the pool.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel General Manager, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Dear LongXuyen,
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience with us. the team and I are absolutely thrilled you and your wife had a great time. I Hope the singing was in tune.
Lukim YU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2024

Excellent place to stay if you are on business. Very comfortable newly furnished rooms with Kitchenette, excellent internet, good quiet aircon, very confortable bed, generous balcony with great views over Erakor and wonderful staff and service.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rhysg146
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel General Manager, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear rhysg146,
thank you for taking the time to write of your experience with us. the team and i are thrilled to read you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to celebrate this with the team.
Myself and the team hope to welcome you back in the near future
Lukim Yu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Wanted to get away on Island Holiday for my 'Special' Birthday with my Sister and had never been to Vanuatu so decided to head there and stay at the Ramada Resort Wyndham. Couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate. Our room was fabulous and I arrived to flowers and a Special Birthday message done in flowers on my bed. Every day the staff were amazing with service & always big smiles. They made me & my sister feel special and celebrated with us. The meals were great and entertainment most nights which was also great! The Hotel is in a lovely spot that looks out on the lagoon. Was lovely and quiet although quite breezy. The music and noise was pretty much over by 9:30 -10pm so don't listen to the other reviews about noise - that's nonsense. When travelling around the island - be sure to use the bus system - basically any vehicle with a B on the No. Plate is a bus and its a 100-200 Vt fee otherwise you will be paying a lot for taxis. Be sure to try the Zip Line and tour to Blue Lagoon and waterfalls. Thank you Ramada for a very Special stay. Our thanks also to the beautiful Staff who made our stay memorable - Jenny & Lucie and Team - special thanks! Justine & Genevieve.

Room tip: Do your water sport early as the close the shed around 4pm.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jussy_L01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel General Manager, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear Jussy_L01,
Thank you for entrusting your special birthday. We are excited to have been part of making such memorable life memories! The team and I love celebrating and hosting you and your sister!
Thank you also for giving me the opportunity to celebrate this service with the team.
Lukim Yu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2024 via mobile

This place was a beautiful & comfortable base for our trip. The studio room was AMAZING - so incredibly spacious & comfortable & it was also so convenient to have our own full kitchen when we wanted to make a coffee or cut up our own fruit. Aircon in room was also amazing & balcony was huge with great views. The buffet breakfast was wow - anything you could ever want to eat & so delicious. Me and my partner are dreaming of the eggs they serve lol. Customer service was impeccable & staff were lovely & helpful. Only downside of the resort was the pool was a bit tired looking & you can’t snorkel in the lagoon. But if your happy to snorkel elsewhere then not a big deal. Overall really great place and I’m glad we chose here!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leahahokava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel General Manager, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Vila, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear Leahohakava,
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience with us, it means so much to get such wonderful feedback. Our chefs will certainly be over the moon to read such a glowing experience.
We are working with local government to clean up the lagoon and hope that in the very near future our guests will once again be able to snorkel there.
The team and I are also very glad you chose to stay with us and hope to welcome you back.
Lukim Yu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews