We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
michael w

Best resort in Vanuatu

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 May 2024
the villas ain't cheap, but WOW ! Beautiful settings, well equiped, spacious, superb service, wonderful activities, great food, what else ? Even with pretty bad weather, it beats being stuck anywhere else on the island. Would I rather save a a few hundred dollars and get depressed elswhere ? Hum...No ! Better 4 days at Eratap than a full week elswhere,,,
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony Pittar, Owner at Eratap Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Michael W,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Eratap. Sorry to hear the weather didn’t cooperate, we did seem to have a pretty ordinary May weatherwise.

We are glad you enjoyed the space and facilities the resort offers, it certainly helps so much to have this when the weather misbehaves.

Hopefully you are able to come back again one day and hopefully we can turn on the sun so you can experience Eratap in all its glory.

Kind regards
Tony

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$358
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$344
  • Vio.com
    AU$366
5.6 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$294
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$293
  • Hotels.com
    AU$278
  • Priceline
5.0 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Beachfront
Restaurant
AU$242
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$262
  • Agoda.com
    AU$202
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$236
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • HolidayInn.com
    AU$247
  • Expedia.com
    AU$234
  • Hotels.com
    AU$234
7.1 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$278
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$314
  • Hotels.com
    AU$275
  • Priceline
6.4 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$192
  • Expedia.com
    AU$226
  • Agoda.com
    AU$174
  • Trip.com
5.5 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
The Panorama Suite at the Grand Hotel And Casino
AU$237
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$211
  • Agoda.com
    AU$191
  • Trip.com
7.3 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$121
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$117
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
14.5 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Pool
Beachfront
AU$427
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$426
  • Agoda.com
    AU$391
  • Trip.com
7.3 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Restaurant and Beach
AU$239
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$238
  • Agoda.com
    AU$230
  • Priceline
8.7 km from Eratap Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Vila
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
702
55
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
702
55
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool local village daily specials nearby islands paddle boards fire show beautiful pool seafood platter little things mac picnic paradise vanuatu reef gear pacific bliss
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 766 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Eratap was everything we wanted and probably exceeded our expectations, to be honest.

After a fairly harrowing and stressful six months, and before I dove into a new job, we wanted a short holiday where we could destress and relax, but somewhere where we could still have a variety of experiences. While doing my research, my criteria were: short direct flight from Brisbane to minimise travel time; relaxed luxury; great snorkelling straight off a beach; great food; other water sport options, options to experience a local culture (or not); and stand alone bures (fares/huts) on the beach. I didn’t want a big resort and I didn’t want to have to take a lift to a 3rd or 4th floor. I wanted to be able to walk out my door straight onto the beach. We had been to Castaway Island in Fiji before, and enjoyed that. We looked at the Cook Islands, Samoa, Tonga and Noumea. But Vanuatu came up trumps and there were actually a few options. The Havannah was another one that I looked long and hard at.

From the moment we cleared customs in Port Vila, everything was perfect. Team member Ciel picked us up at the airport and offered us cold bottles of water for the drive in a comfortable, air conditioned shuttle. When we pulled up at the resort, some 30 minutes later, manager Pascale came down the steps to greet us, whisked away our bags, ushered us to a comfy lounge and had a lovely fruit cocktail brought to us. She ran through all the details of the resort and our package and then walked us to our villa.

There are only 16 villas at Eratap, all right on either the ocean beach or fronting the stunning lagoon behind. There are 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom options. They are extremely spacious and well appointed in the South Pacific style, with palm frond thatch roofing, wooden louvres to allow through-breezes, outdoor (and indoor, if you prefer) showers. There is a good size living area in each villa and a large smart TV should you wish to watch (we didn’t turn it in all week).

All have sun loungers on a back deck area and then a separate thatched gazebo closer to the water, also equipped with sun lounges. Some also have private plunge pools.

The views are spectacular, making for a wonderful spot to watch the sun set over a couple of late afternoon drinks.

Each villa is very private and also has an expansive patch of green lawn.

The main restaurant and bar opens onto the ocean and features tables inside, on the deck or set up down on the sand if you wish, where you can ditch your shoes and have your toes in the sand.

There is a gorgeous central pool surrounded with a dozen or more sun loungers.

We had a blissful week, snorkelling every day - either out front of the restaurant, or off Castaway Island, a small uninhabited island the boat boys will drop you at (just at minute hop by boat). They will happily take you anywhere you want to go and wait for you to return. The coral and fish were amazing - heaps of variety, with our personal highlight being a school of around 20 clownfish darting in and out of their anemones. We kayaked three mornings on the lagoon, a beautiful experience just after sunrise when the reflections were at their best and no ripples disturbed the surface of the water. We got our steps up (and compensated for eating so much lovely food) with some brisk morning walks out to the turn off to the resort - around 6km there and back.

We enjoyed a trip to the local village of Eratap, escorted by team member Mac, who happens to be the eldest son of the village chief, lending the whole experience real authenticity and insights.

And we thoroughly enjoyed the organised fire dancing held on one night a week, which was heaps of fun and ended with all the guests invited down on the sand to participate.

Highlights were the picnics over on Castaway Island. Order it the night before and the team packs you an esky with fresh baguettes, chicken or ham, salad, fresh fruit salad, and drinks of your choice. You just rock up at the jetty and it is waiting for you and they drop you at the island for a couple of hours exclusive access. One side of the island is the aforementioned snorkelling spot, the other is the most spectacular white sand beach, with turquoise lapping water, perfect for swimming.

Also a highlight was the full body massage in the open sided day spa, fringed with gardens of hibiscus and frangipani.

But the biggest highlight was the amazing staff. All so friendly, welcoming, quick to share a laugh or to assist. Whether on the boats, in the day spa, doing housekeeping, or serving in the restaurant, they were all just brilliant. Most live in the nearby Eratap Village and the resort picks them up of a morning and ferries them to and from. After a week they are like family and it brings tears to your eyes to have to hug them and say goodbye. Special shoutout to Melanie, Mac, Joseph, Pascale and Sharon.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and if you are so inclined, they will deliver it to the poolside or to your villa as well. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

Tony (the owner) has done a wonderful job creating a little patch of paradise that honours and celebrates the traditions and culture of this beautiful island and its people.

if you are considering Eratap, go!!! You will not regret it.

Room tip: Take some duty free from Port Vila for after dinner drinks back at your villa. Make sure you take water/reef shoes as the coral is Sharp.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freddy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony Pittar, Owner at Eratap Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Dear Freddy1966

Wow! – thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this very kind review. You have written our next brochure for us!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Eratap and that it was the medicine you needed before starting your next job.

We are certainly very lucky to be able to offer such a peaceful and relaxing environment that is so accessible. It is one of the beauties of Vanuatu being so undeveloped, you don’t have to travel far to find the real south pacific.

Thank you for mentioning all the highlights, we just feel so good when people are able to enjoy what we try to offer.

Hopefully you are able to come back to us again one day, our plan is to be here and continue doing what we do.

Kind regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

We were two couples who stayed for six nights in a deluxe 2 bedroom villa. I would describe our stay as sheer luxury. The resort is set on a quiet private beach a little away from the bustle of Port Vila. If you just want to relax and chill out then this is a great place to do it. Tony and all the lovely staff make it clear that you are there to do whatever you want to, and they will help you in any way they can. A beautiful and friendly place.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony Pittar, Owner at Eratap Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Dear Alicia M,

Thank you Alicia for taking the time to post this review. We are so glad you all enjoyed yourselves at Eratap, that always makes us happy to hear that.

Yes you are right, we are here to help you enjoy your time here and we aim to make your stay as stress free as possible. It doesn’t always work out that way, but we’ll certainly try.

Best regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024 via mobile

This is such a fantastic resort. I cannot fault it.
From the managers to the chefs, waiters and to all the staff that are involved running the resort are awesome. Should be rated number one on Tripadvisor this year for sure.
And not to forget the food, international standard to say the least.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony Pittar, Owner at Eratap Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Dear Andrew M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review…maybe we could get you to do the TripAdvisor rankings!

So glad you enjoyed your time here and yes Todd and his kitchen team do a fantastic job with the food especially given the difficulty in sourcing ingredients on a regular basis.

All the best
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024

We sincerely enjoyed our stay at Eratap Beach Resort, Pascalle, Laela, Winnie, Josheph, Valerie and the other incredible staff made if or a great experience. The food was amazing and the rooms were well appointed with a pool right out front. We did some fishing that Pascalle & Laela organised on our behalf. Pascalle also played life saver when Tracy got caught in a rip… We can not speak highly enough of the incredible service we received. Nothing was an issue and they even played our music when all the other guests had retired. We will certainly be visiting again as we thoroughly enjoyed this resort.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony Pittar, Owner at Eratap Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Dear Adrian P,

So great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Eratap and that the staff made it a memorable experience for you all. We are super lucky to have such a caring and dedicated team who are proud of the product they have made.

Well done on the fishing front and glad Pascalle was able to help out Tracy – she is a genuine multi tasker!

We’ll look forward to having you all back again one day, thanks for taking the time to post this review

All the best
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Hard to beat this place. Ideal sized resort with the sea at your door step. Quality equipment available without extra cost ..bikes…snorkelling gear, boards … tennis..gym.
Beautiful south sea island feel. Maintained so well with lawns coral paths and beautiful pools. Best snorkelling ever right off the beach or buzz out to one of the nearby islands and be alone with white sand, coral reef and abundant marine life .
Tony and his staff make you feel so welcome they’re on hand to help with questions all the time . Try the entire menu in the restaurant it’s seriously good food with stunning ocean views …will be back…often..thanks Eratap people.
Glenn

Room tip: Book extra time you won’t regret it . Airport and town is a short drive .
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Glennstott
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony Pittar, Owner at Eratap Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2024

Dear Glenn S,

Thank you very much for posting this review Glenn and we are so glad you enjoyed your time at Eratap.

It was great that the conditions were kind and enabled you to snorkel and experience the beautiful surrounds. We always hate it when we get rough seas or strong wind and cloudy weather and guests are unable to experience the true beauty of Eratap. But we can’t control the weather and at least there are lots of other things to do and a nice restaurant to sit in and watch the ocean.

Please do come back and visit us again one day, we’d love to see you again

Kind regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews