We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
591
51
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
591
51
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon villaplunge poollocal villagedaily activitiesnearby islandsdirt roadoutdoor showervillage tourdaily shuttleprivate islandfishfire showmeal timesschool holidaysdeck chairspaddle boardshigh tide
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Perfect. First time ever we didn't feel the need to leave a resort -- it has everything you need !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriszti_on_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We returned for our secod stay this year at Eratap and it was as wonderful as our previous stay.
Accomodation, food, staff and resort in general are all wonderful.
Have booked for our 3rd stay-need i say more!!!
We highly recommend Eratap for couples and families-a relaxing and beauiful place to have a break.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewi90686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We have just returned from a 15 day stay at the Eratap resort. Being a family of four with a boy of 12 years old and a girl of 10 years old we found this resort excellent. We were looking for a quiet resort with good service level, good food and this is the only resort that can live up to their promise that we know of. We arrived just before Christmas and departed beginning of January. Wow, what a resort and staff. We have over the last years stayed at a number of 4-5 stars Pacific resorts (Shangri La, Le Meridien, Amunuca, Tieti Terra, etc). Eratap is by far the best. It is not cheap, but anyway best in terms of value for money.

The Eratap resort is managed in an extremely good way. As a guest you get a true feeling that you are a key guest without feeling awkward. During a 15 day stay we heard nothing but extremely positive feedback from others as well. There is one restaurant at the resort, but compared to all other resorts we have been to (sometimes with 2-3 restaurants), Eratap’s food is anyway better. Breakfast is excellent and where most Pacific resorts fail such as having fresh fruit (?), Eratap has fresh fruit every day for breakfast. The standard menu is very good, but the daily specials are even better. Lunch menu for kids ranging from 600-1000 VATU, adults ranging from 1000-3000 VATU and it is worth it. Room service is accurate and included in the rate of the meal. We often took room service for lunch after spending time at the pool when the kids were tired. Wines and beer are priced fairly and there is a good selection. The pool is a small, cosy pool that is well managed and always clean. Access all day to the pool area.

The villas are top class and are very well planned. Each day these are cleaned very well. There are only 12 villas at the resort, which means that service is impeccable. Each villa has out door shower, complete garden facing the ocean and beach hut. There is a small refrigerator, water cooker with a possibility to enjoy tea or afternoon coffee in each villa.

The staff is the best throughout the pacific region. Compared to other resorts we have been to at New Caledonia and Fiji the staff service level is like night and day. There is never a problem to fix anything at Eratap.

WiFi is available in the main building, which simplifies contact with rest of the world if that is needed.

The resort is 30 minutes from Port Vila. We only went to Port Vila once and that is enough. No reason to leave the resort as it is truly paradise.

When it comes to activities we did a lot of kayaking (sometimes 5 am to see sunrise), snorkelling, playing billiard, spending time at the pool and fly fishing. Over 15 days we fished almost every day and had really nice fly fishing for trevally. We also caught rainbow runner (on fly), tuna (on trolling) and small snapper (on fly). The tuna we caught ended up as sashimi for starter and grilled as main dish. All prepared by the chef for a reasonable price. As we currently reside in Japan we can assure that it was the best sashimi we have ever had outside Japan.

There is good possibility for surfing, but being dedicated fly fishermen we simply did not have time.

Close to the resort there are small islands that can be reached with kayaks. Very nice to do as an excursion with kids with the two seated kayaks.

Eratap resort succeeds to deliver peak performance where most other fails because of items such as:

A) Every breakfast you get a list of what was ordered yesterday at the restaurant. This means that you have full control of the cost and what you ordered.

B) You will feel like king, queen, prince and princess at this resort as each guest is very well taken care of.

C) Snorkelling equipment can be used through out your stay, no need to hand it back every evening. This means that you have flexibility to plan your own time and no risk of loosing “your” favourite gear. There are plenty of kayaks available considering that there are only 12 villas. We kayaked for hours every day and not one single time did we have to postpone it due to lack of kayaks.

D) There are boats that will take you to nearby island for free if you do not want to kayak.

E) Service level is impeccable. Other resort managers should spend a couple of days at Eratap to see how guest should be treated. The normal small problems that you can have at resorts and hotels are very swiftly solved at Eratap. They just fix it!

F) Resort, villas, dining area, pool, etc are kept very clean. The cleaning ladies at Eratap make the best job in pacific.

G) Food is so good that don’t even think about reducing weight. We tend to be very picky on food quality, but Eratap surely lived up to the expectation. We tried most of the food available and all is very good. Having lived in France and Belgium for numerous years we know what good food is. The only resort we have visited in the Pacific that would be able to satisfy demanding European gourmets is Eratap.

Would we go back and could we recommend Eratap?
Without a doubt, already tomorrow if we could. Instead of going to a slightly cheaper resort, save up some extra bucks so you can enjoy this fabulous resort. It is worth every penny! The resort is so good that our kids honestly asked us: if we would sell everything we have, how long time could we stay at Eratap? That is how good Eratap is.

On a scale ranging from 0-10, we would give this resort an 11.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johncarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I have just returned from 7 days at the Eratap Resort with my wife and three children aged seven, six and three.

We had a wonderful time and can't recommend it highly enough.

The rooms were excellent and compared well other much larger five star resorts we have stayed in. Our two hut villa had two very separate bedrooms and bathrooms so we were not under each others feet at all. There were fans and a split system air con in each bedroom but they were not really necessary if you opened the windows and let the sea breeze in. We were in villa ten, which is the last non-honeymoon villa in the strip and is closest to the lovely pool and had its own private beach on the point. I reckon this was the best room as it gave us sea breezes from two sides at night and fantastic privacy.

The food was excellent. My wife and I do not like seafood so were dreading a heavily skewed menu but there was plenty of non-seafood choices. There were always two daily specials and all but once on our trip there was a non-seafood choice here as well. The meals themselves were excellent and couldn't be faulted - and we have walked out of resorts before because of bad or even average food.

The resort is very quiet with only twelve villas so if a relaxing trip is your goal you can't beat it. You could mingle with the other guests at the restaurant or by the pool if you wanted to or else hide away in your villa and private beach and keep to yourself.

There was always two activities each day and they were always worthwhile. While ostensibly around half were meant as things to entertain the kids by themselves, they were fun enough for you to tag along and enjoy as well. Our kids were a bit young to send off by themselves anyway so we accompanied them on all the activities they went on and had a great time too.

The staff were very friendly and most importantly (to me) genuine locals. We have stayed in some island resorts and felt we hardly met any actual locals, but here most of the staff come from the nearby village. They were all very friendy and wonderful to deal with.

We both enjoyed a couple of massages in the spa and my little girls had free manicures as one of the activities. Probably the nicest hotel spa I have been to and I endorse the other comments here about Annie.

Special mention goes to the owners, Tony and Louisa, and the manager Pascale. Lousia gave us the rundown and showed us to our room and Pascale was always there to sort out anything we wanted. I thought it was pretty impressive. Also Mac, the local chief's son who leads the activities was a great guide and full of great info on the locals.

One of the activities was to visit the village where we met many of the staff's families and this is definitely recommended, both as a cultural experience and to see the benefits the resort has brought to the area. On the day we left the village had invited the guests to attend church with them and this is something I regret not having the chance to do.

Our children were made to feel very welcome from the start. The restaurant has a very good kids menu that my children actually enjoyed and the staff were all very good with them at all times. There is a small library of books, a very large collection of dvds to borrow for free and a couple of boxes of toys and board games for them as well, so there was plenty to do if they were bored. The restaurant and reception also had free wifi and all the kids were using ipads or ipods around the lounge when we were there.

I am a casual snorkeller and went of a few trips to the various islands. The trips to the island was good but the best range of fish I found was on the reef directly in front of the restaurant, literally twenty metres from the bar. Half an hour in the water and then a restful ale. Very nice indeed and especially rare as most resorts I have been to I have had to travel by boat to another location to find any decent snorkelling.

Port Vila was very close by and you could get there easily for free in the resort bus. It is very basic and there is very little worthwhile shopping. Some great soap in one store and one or two nice local arts and crafts stores but the rest were junk stores and expensive duty free. It is hot and sweaty and not the cleanest place in the world but we loved the experience and wouldn't have missed it. We did the whole main strip in ninety minutes with time for two sit down ice creams, so don't dedicate a whole lot of time to your visit.

In summary I loved it and can't recommend it highly enough. Great location, great food, great people and a great standard of accomodation. One of the other families staying there were back for their second visit and being so close to Sydney I can easily see us going back again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We travelled to Eratap with our 4 children aged from 10 to 16. The resort was a peaceful paradise for all family members. There were ample activities if you were feeling energetic and plenty of peaceful areas to relax and unwind. The food was a highlight. I have never eaten so decadently for 6 days straight in my life. We did not tire of the regular menu as we were constantly ordering the amazing daily specials; lobster, mussels and prawns were abundant. Each morning as we ate breakfast we could watch the local fisherman catching fish. My husband and I chose the meal plan which was worth while. We found the prices including alcohol to be very reasonable considering the high quality. I would highly recommend Annie at the spa for an excellent massage. She also gave my daughters a lovely manicure. Reef shoes are essential as the shoreline is surrounded in coral. Aeroguard is also necessary 24/7. The ocean was beautiful and warm for swimming and snorkeling. The staff were very accommodating and polite. They were not intrusive but always available when you needed them. Each morning you are given your current room account to check over and correct which we found very convenient, no nasty surprises on check out! We travelled into Port Vila one morning, which we found hot, dirty and uninviting. There was no great shopping although worth going to the open food market for the cultural experience. There is no need to leave Eratap Resort during your visit, our children were not bored or looking to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnjoyTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews