We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lagoon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Seaview Lodge(Nuku'alofa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Italy Hotel(Nuku'alofa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Lodge(Nuku'alofa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loumaile Lodge(Nuku'alofa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
5
10
8
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
10
8
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I recently stayed at the lodge. It suited my needs, lay ed back and relatively quiet, with a good view of the Lagoon.
The staff were friendly professional and helpful planning activities.
The room was clean and tidy.The fittings and fixture's showed signs of wear. How ever
a maintenance program was under way.
The continental breakfast was fresh, extras were also available, eggs, bacon sausages on request.
The Loonarossa restaurant Bar at the rear of the Lodge served up market evening meals at reasonable rates.
Overall it was a good holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1513clinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LagoonLodgeTonga, Manager at Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Malo e Lelei Clinton,

Breezy greetings from the Lagoon Lodge!

Thank you for your review of our property, we are delighted that you enjoyed a laid back stay with us and that you enjoyed Marco's Italian infused cuisine at the restaurant.

We've made additional improvements to the property since your stay and we look forward to having the fitting and fixture renewals completed for your next trip to the Friendly Islands!

Wishing you a great weekend in Australia!

Malo and kind regards,

Lesieli Vete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

My husband and I arrived in Nukualofa and stayed at another hotel which did not have cooking facilities. We spent a month here and needed a hotel with cooking facility. The staff really helped us with whatever we needed. We were the only ones staying so we had a great time. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment (# 102) that had a great view of the lagoon but not all rooms will have lagoon view. The breeze was incredible and the sun rise was spectacular. We could also see the sunset behind our apartment. There is no swimming though. They have kayaks but we were not keen as it was too windy and the lagoon is very deep. This place is away from the town center and you'd need a car. We rented a car and had a great time staying here, cooking, enjoying the cool breeze from the lagoon. It would be a perfect place to write a novel. It was usually quiet except for stray dogs outside....I'd definitely come back and stay here if I had to stay for months.....

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stargazer111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Quite basic and a bit out of town.
Lagoon Lodge is probably best for families. It faces on to the Lagoon - no swimming
there though. Reasonably quiet (dogs, roosters and sometimes traffic are the potential
problems on Tonga tapu)

A bit expensive for what it offers.

Generally we didn't find any middle upper range accommodation in Tonga Tapu that
anyone could particularly recommend.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NickFerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

I had gone with my bestfriend to Tonga for my 30th birthday and had stayed at this hotel. As this being a low economical Island, we so enjoyed our stay at Lagoon Lodge. The staff was very nice & helpful. We made so much noise being party goers & they didnt mind, as long as we were safe & enjoying ourselves. Very handy to a club near by which had awsum music. It was secluded from town, had our own privacy & felt safe with the night security doing his job. I recommend this place to anyone & for those that expect more, should try Dateline Hotel were the air is dusty, rooms full of mosquitos & insects & the food is tastless, yet Im sure the staff is as nice as the staff at Lagoon Lodge. Keep up the good work staff at the lagoon lodge, do hope to come back for a holiday once day.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milizrexyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Location was out of town, but we didnt mind. Taxis cost between $4-$10 each way.
When we arrived it was late at night. turns out that our room wasnt what we had asked for (not enough beds) so without hesitation they upgraded us to a superior suite on the top floor! we thought this was great - lots of room for my baby to crawl around and a nice balcony.
The Lodge staff were very helpful and friendly. They booked us different activities and recommended places to go.
The lagoon that the lodge overlooks is not clean and not swimable.
The restaurant that is out the back was lovely! very nice food and people.
Can be noisy during the night - dogs barking and loud music. so if you're a light sleeper i wouldnt recommend

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews