We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
34
33
11
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
33
11
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big mama day trip boat ride snorkel gear great swimming lovely place to spend alcoholic drinks chicken burger lovely lunch an hour and a half sea life restaurant bar shipwreck sunday wharf wreaks simplicity
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Relaxing day trip from the quay in Nuke. Sandy beaches, swimming, watching fish and sea critters, and a really good lunch. Recommended as a good escape from the bustle of the town. The island can be walked round in 20 mins. Very basic facilities so don't expect a resort by European standards.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Such a beautiful place only 10 mins by ferry, absolute bargain at TOP$50 pp which included a fantastic large lunch, best Tuna fish and chips I've ever had. Large amount of cyclone damage unfortunately no vanilla plantation and limited facilities but very pleasant way to spend a day, especially Sunday when everything else is closed.

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank VickiC1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

We went across on the ferry for a weekday (only one ferry time weekdays). nice relaxed place, sadly it looks as if the resort/falas are closed during to extensive cyclone damage. Good fish & chips, generous portions. Friendly staff, working hard to repair the damage. Ask about the fishing dog-hes great to watch.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank LesleyA507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

im aware of the unfortunate events effecting the island, however, the could simply just give it a tidy up, was a total mess, with rubbish also.
the staff told us we could order food up to 4pm. so at 2.50pm we went to get our lunch, she rolled her eyes at us, and huffed as if it was a huge problem. even ordering drinks they just looked at me, not even a hello.
i wouldnt return again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misssjl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Living in Nuku Alofa since January we have been to Pangaimotu many times. We were lucky enough to see this great place before and after cyclone Gita hit (causing massive damage). We still love visiting and supporting this beautiful part of Tonga. The snorkelling is lovely, the water is clean and the fish around the shipwreck are abundant.
Although the debris and destruction from Gita is still very obvious, the atmosphere is warm and friendly with laughter all around. It's easy to sit under the make shift shade and enjoy their delicious food. Our family visiting from Australia said it was like hanging out in Aunty's back yard and it's their favourite place in Tonga (ours too)! It's easy to get to and a reasonable price. Our kids love going there and it's a safe place for them to swim.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffandRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews