We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
104
140
72
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
140
72
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car king solomon pizza high commission in town cafe next door bamboo bar the past months walk up noodles baked beans other hotels breakfast buffet well equipped gym week stay post office flat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

It would have been amazing in its heyday but now it's looking tired and run down. It's a basic hotel that offers a taste of laid back island life. Room was spacious but basic. Service was laid back but efficient. We had a few problems in the room but they were dealt with promptly.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank elbee4wd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Its was the week between Christmas & New Years and the hotel had some fun Christmas decorations but it was very quiet with few guests.
The lounge was fine and the restaurant was okay but unfortunately we couldn't try the highly recommended pizza's since they had no "gluten free" options.
The old fashioned train car/elevator that carries you and your bags up the hillside was a fun oddity that our 14yr old enjoyed. The pool was big enough to cool us down but might get a bit cramped if you arrive in "high Season".
The rooms were decent and if you got one with a working A/C, lucky you!
The views arn't too bad.
The gardens were filled with flowering tropicals and the Star Fruit tree had ripe fruit which we got to enjoy!

It was fine for us for the one night and the staff was friendly and attentive. The location was close enough to the Market, Post office, Museum so it was easy to entertain ourselves for the afternoon & morning before our flight to MAVO Eco Lodge on Remata.(highly recommend )

Room Tip: Check the A/C when you arrive & higher floors offer better views.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

I often stay here at KSH the contemporary outlook, Architecture and tropical environment of the hotel is very beautiful as it showcases the Solomon islands rich diverse culture. The garden pool is beautiful and the night life is just so amazing with lots of entertainment from various tamure groups not to forget their delicious pizza a big thanks to Samantha who's aways helpful and friendly.
I recommend the King Solomon hotel the best place for you to stay during a vacation.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Haitch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

This hotel knows its place. An ageing beauty in need of a facelift. Quaint, sprawling wooden buildings of mixed islands and western design. The property creeps up the side of a hill (they call them ridges in the Sols). Receptions, bars and restaurants are at street level, gym and pool next level and then 5 levels of simple rooms and apartments. There are plenty of steps, no lift, but wow a cable car to quietly take you to your level. The upper levels have harbour views to die for.

The lady kicks up a storm on Friday and Saturday nights. Easily the best entertainment in town. Friday nights feature a live band in the restaurant until 10 pm, after that the adjoining night club screams into action until 2am next morning. Saturday nights often feature traditional dancing – very well presented and worth a visit.

Checkout the bamboo café – great coffee in comfortable surroundings.

A hidden gem is the gymnasium. Well equipped, but could do with some TLC. The adjacent pool area is an oasis away from the dust and noise of the street below.

No pretensions here; discreet, value for money, ok service but a quick word to mine host Shane Kennedy, who is usually around, gets things moving.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the west side are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenfield99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

I came to Honiara to meet a live aboard vessel and dive the Solomon Islands. I stayed at the King Solomon before joinng the vessel and again before flying home.

The hotel itself is reasonably priced for the location but it is tired and in desperate need if a major refit.

There are two redeeming features that are note worthy- the staff and the bar/restaurant.

My airline managed to lose my luggage en route. The front desk staff and even the owner of the hotel bent over backwards to assist. With patron internet interruptions I was given access to the hotel office computers to be in touch with airlines and travel staff. Hotel staff even made calls on my behalf to contacts to assist. Some of the most genuine and cordial hotel staff I have met anywhere in the world.

The bar/restaurant became a haven during my wait for my bag. Drinks were generous and served by pleasant staff. The restaurant had a reputation for pizza of all things and their outdoor brick wood stove made them even tastier. Worth a visit even if not staying in the hotel.

The rooms were spacious enough, and the funicular “elevator” was quaint. The pool was not given the attention it deserved. If the filter system is not running stay out of it. Keep your bags off the floor of your hotel rooom - enough said.

Granted the Solomon Islands are a poor and impoverished country but the King Solomon hotel needs an infusion of renewal equity if it is going to return to its obvious former glory.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Les N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews