We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
104
140
72
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
140
72
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car king solomon pizza high commission in town cafe next door bamboo bar the past months walk up noodles baked beans other hotels breakfast buffet well equipped gym week stay post office flat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

King Solomon is not a high end hotel but it is a nice, clean hotel with a nice pool. A lot of expats live here as well. The rooms are big and clean. If you are looking for a hotel where you can spend your time for a holiday, this is not the place. It is just a clean place in Honiara, very good for a few days while doing business in town or waiting for your flight.

Room Tip: Opt for a standard room. They always give you the luxury room (I don't think there is a standard room anymore) but you get it for the price of a standard room (SBD 750)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The rooms are basic but clean and the pool area was nice. It is not the sort of place that you would go for a holiday but was a good place to crash when passing through Honiara. I had a couple of flights delayed and the staff were very helpful in helping me change my travel arrangements. There was also entertainment with dinner and free breakfast for the children.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank my_travelling_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

If you want the western experience and like to stay in your room the King Sol is not for you. The bar has a great Aussie expat group who are friendly and like a chat. Always someone at the bar to chat with. SOLBREW is great and you wake up without the pain. Owners Shane and Sue are great hosts. The staff are the best i have ever encountered. Friendly, learn your name and are great at adding atmosphere to your stay. Do yourself a favor. If you like to socialise then the bar in the evening is for you.

Room Tip: Go high for a view
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stefan-act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

As a frequent world traveller, hotels become boring very quickly. At the King Sol they deviate from this trend.The staff are more that happy to get to know you, and welcome you back everytime you walk through the foyer. There is a friendly bar/bistro with fantastic beer and great wood fired pizzas. Most nights there are expats and locals in attendance and love to share a story.

Rooms are ok, showers are hot and beds are comfy. Its not 5 star but has everything you need (and a microwave).

Not the fanciest hotel, but deffintitly the friendliest

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Away123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I could not get into the Medana due to it being fully booked for the duration of my stay.
But this turned out to be my gain.
The King Sol turned out to be a very friendly and social hotel.
The staff were all exstremely friendly and helpfull
On one ocasion i had left over $800 sol in my laundry, on my return that afternoon it was presented back to me in an envelope,There was never an issue on honesty and safety during my stay.
The pool was great, especially on Sunday afternoon when they have traditional dancing.
Have a Sol Brew with the owners Shane and Sue. Some of the great staff were Wendy the front office manager (who has a wood carving of herself in the foyer ) Talita,Wasina and Big Fella the DJ
Will definently stay there again
While you are in Honiara you must go on the tour with John Innes who is an expert on the Battle of Guadalcanal.

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milleniumCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews