We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
18
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor kitchen washing machine fish washaway cafe units accommodation island niue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2023

My husband visited again this year, after a few years away. We would go back again (and probably will soon).
We stayed in the guest house and got a car included (your own transport is essential if you want to get the most out of your stay in Niue due to the lack of public transport)
The guest house is a group of self-contained units that share a deck and kitchen area (at the end of the deck).
Each unit has it's own fridge, crockery, cutlery, microwave, kettle (jug) and toaster, which means you can either use the main kitchen or prepare simple meals in your own unit.

You also have a private living area with a TV and your own bathroom.

I like the fact that the single units don't have the beds in the living area, so you can leave your partner to sleep in.

It's not entirely polished (tiling isn't straight, you don't get towels folded as swans) but it is clean and the TV, fridge, microwave, jug all look pretty new and worked well. You also have a friendly and helpful host.

We did a lot of diving, and it's very convenient to Niue blue (the dive company). There's also a lovely "beach" just a short walk away, that is ideal for snorkeling and whale watching. On Sunday you can really should spend the afternoon/evening at Washaway. It's a must do!

Niue has the usual island limitations, so take some basic supplies (e.g tea, coffee, marmite) and obviously you'll need earplugs if you aren't used to cockerels. That, however, is true of anywhere you stay in most of the islands!

Room tip: Double check your booking by email, be patient (everyone is on island time) and take the island essentials (coffee, earplugs, etc)
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GrandTour58721880313
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2023

We had a great time, Ozwin is very friendly.
I miss the roosters waking me up early, It took a few days before the roosters became a normal sound.
TripAdvisor want me to write 200 characters....
Go to Niue, stay at Aleki...

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Varey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2022

The Aleki's guesthouse is motel style accommodation based in Avatelle village about 1 kilometer away from the resort and five minutes walk away from Avatelle beach / boat launch area (where the Washaway cafe is based - however the cafe is currently not open and does not seem to have been open for quite a while (which is a shame as we were really looking forward to going there)

The accommodation is clean and tidy with what you would expect from motel accommodation (our units were cleaned every day). Each unit has basic kitchen, however the outdoor kitchen are is very good and there is also a washing machine for guests to use.

Ozwin was a fantastic host. On the monday we arrived he cooked from Mahi-mahi for us which was delicious. Ozwin also treated us to fresh pawpaw, coconuts and tuna which he had caught (he is a great fisherman). It was also great to have a car included in the price which meant no hassle trying to organise to hire one. We had great adventures around the island and loved the Mazda Demio - she was such a great car and a great size for the four of us!

We spent our days out and about exploring and snorkelling and cooked at Alekis in the evenings. We also went fishing - we would like to highly recommend Fish Niue Charters - BJ is a fantastic fisherman (known as the best on the island)!

We all agreed that Alekis was perfect accommodation and had everything we needed while being in a village setting.

Thank you Ozwin for having us to stay, you were a wonderful host - we loved every minute, we just wish we had booked for two weeks. We look forward to staying with you again.

Samantha, Duncan, Jenny and Mark

Room tip: take ear plugs as the roosters wake up early!
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanthaHBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2020

Oz, thank you for having us at your guest house. We loved it, starting at the airport where you met us with your beaming smile. Our family suite came with a rental car, very relaxed, spacious, clean, no mosquitoes as this was our main concern for our boys. Enjoyed chilling out on the verandah for breakfast, dinner, good convo with lots of laughter & a glass or two of wine..lol. The outdoor communal kitchen was handy, great idea. Thank you for the coconuts & pawpaws. Real value for money & a great host. We totally recommend Alekis to anyone who loves the tropics. Fakaaue lahi Oz. Jury, Steve & boys

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank niutupu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2019

As first time visitors to Niue we were really impressed with our stay. What was different about this island compared to others was the lack of tourist, with only 2 flights a week and only 1600 people living on an island 3 times larger than Rarotonga. There was the sense of how things used to be in the good old days...No crowds, a raw island that wasn't commercialised.
We stayed at Aleki guesthouse for 7 days. We are now good friends with Ozwin our host. He's just a decent bloke with a big heart. Always smiling, there to give us great advice. The guesthouse was clean and tidy and was a great base over this time. The price was amazing compare to other places and the price included a rental vehicle which is a must have. We will definatey be back. thanks Ozwin for all, appreciate who you are as a man.

Some advice for others.
Bring reef shoes
Grocery shopping 20 - 40% more expensive than NZ

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff8336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews