We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Quiet Paradise”

Review of Stone Villa's

Stone Villas located within the lush green forest of Niue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Villas located within the lush green forest of Niue
Natural setting Stone Villa private front patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Stone Villas located within the lush green forest of Niue
Natural setting
Stone Villa private front patio
Spacious Villa
Intimate bedroom in the evening
Stone Villas Separate Bedroom
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Dining with Nature
Private Patio
Alofi Bay end of Stone Villas street
Hio Beach (Tuapa Village)
Limu Pools ( Namukulu Village)
Typical Coastal view on Niue
Where is Niue?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Alofi

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SiandSpud
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Quiet Paradise”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from 10 perfect days in beautiful Niue. Heartbroken to leave, and already planning to return.

Stone Villas was the perfect place for our holiday. Walking distance to the shops and majority of eateries, but also comes with a nifty little car for the duration of your stay. A car or at least a bike really is a necessity in Niue if you want to see all that the island has to offer. The island is small, but there is no public transport. TIP: Bring a torch for walking along the roads in the evenings - it gets VERY dark, there are few streetlights and sometimes you will be walking on the road as there are no footpaths outside of the main commercial hub of Alofi.

We stayed in the back Villa, number 2. It is the perfect size for a couple, with a super-comfy bed and couch - bring some DVDs as after dinner there is not much night-life during the week in Niue! The huge open plan shower with hand-held shower hose is perfect for washing off diving or snorkeling gear, and having a washer and dryer was fantastic as well. The kitchen is well-appointed, with a full-size fridge with freezer and an electric BBQ on the porch. There was complimentary coffee, tea, sugar and milk as well as a nice bottle of wine when we arrived. The only suggested improvement I could offer would be to maybe add a couple of full-size drink glasses to the cupboard- currently there are only small tumblers and wine glasses, and on hot afternoons, a long drink would have been nice.

There is a lovely wooden deck, perfect for to sit on in the evening, enjoying a glass of wine and listening to the sea. Or the geckos! One thing you will NOT have to listen to is Niue's infamous roosters. Every other tourist we spoke to staying elsewhere reported early morning wake-ups, sometimes every hour from 3 am! Not at Stone Villas - any roosters that move in are relocated to Albert's father's house in another village, making for a peaceful sleep-in if you want it.

The villa has lovely wooden tropical louvres on all windows; the wind can turn cool in the evening, and closing the louvres is very effective at helping the thick stone walls keep the temperature from dropping. The windows are also fully netted to keep the bugs out.

The villa is serviced daily, except on Sundays and is always spotlessly clean and fresh. There is complimentary wi-fi for guests to access, however be aware that the connection is limited and slow, so really try to only use it if you absolutely have to. This is the case all over Niue however - including in the Internet cafe! Niue is the perfect place to switch off from the world. Slow down, catch your breath - I managed to last 10 days without internet or cell-phone - see if you can beat my record!

Ida and Albert (as well as their lovely son Jovan) were fantastic hosts, offering the kind of warm, genuine welcome that we came to recognise all over Niue.Those welcomes are a large part of the the reason I was so sad to leave, and the reason why I am so eager to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that local phone numbers are only 4 digits!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimpy16
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
“Delightful and friendly”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week. Our hosts were so helpful, even greeting us with a coconut on arrival at the villas. There was food in the fridge and a bottle of our local wine to start the holiday off. The car was just the right size for the roads around Niue - screens on windows and doors kept out the nasties (except the millipedes - though we managed to live with them). I thoroughly recommend Stone Villas for a relaxing holiday - close to town - only downside was the noise of traffic for half an hour in the mornings going up the hill to the local schools. Thank you Ida and Albert.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stone walls kept the villa cool.
Liked least: Millipedes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Thank you for booking with Stone Villas and more importantly visiting my beautiful island home ...Niue. It was a pleasure hosting you. Not only is the weather changing but also the ecosystem and everything that comes along with this change...climate change I think. Nature working at its fullest.
Again, thanks for visiting Niue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim T
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great accomodation in a good location with fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is a great place to stay. We chose Stone Villas based on the good reviews and it lived up to our expectations. The place is located just outside of the main part of Alofi and is within walking distance of most of the shops and restaurants. The fact it also included a car to use for the whole stay was a bonus. It has everything you need to be self contained and is very comfortable.

Ida and Albert were great hosts and very friendly. The villas are serviced each day and a welcome pack of food is provided to get you started. I would highly recommend this place if you want something different to a resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb-PJ
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't imagine there being anywhere better to stay on Niue!!!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Albert and Ida were the hosts from heaven!!Stone Villas exceeded our expectations. It was everything it was advertised to be and much more.The Villa was beautiful, well appointed and well located close to the shops of Alofi. The car was a fantastic added bonus which is needed to be able to fully explore what the island has to offer. We really enjoyed our chats with Albert, learning about the people and lifestyle on Niue. We highly recommend Stone Villas to anyone looking for the perfect self contained place to stay on Niue.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flyinggon...
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A delightful Niuean find”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We chose Stone Villas largely because of their positive Trip Advisor reviews and our preference for non-resort style accommodation, spending a week here in late August. As others have stated Ida & Albert and their family are delightful hosts. A very nice touch was the welcoming bottle of wine and fresh drinking coconuts (along with opening lessons which ensured we returned home with all our fingers intact). They also make a point of chatting to all guests at the end of their stay, to check if there is anyway they could improve their service. As an example of their unobtrusive attention we left washing out drying whilst we were out and it pelted down rain. We arrived "home" expecting a sopping mess only to find the washing had been put up on the balcony and was dry. Fakaaue lahi Ida!!

The location was tops for us with most of Alofi's restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance. So too is the police station (so no excuse for not getting your pretty souvenir licence), shopping centre (check out the art gallery and deli) and Post Office. Swanson's supermarket is a little further away but still walkable if you wish. Then again, you have a car (without any tedious rental agreements to deal with) so bulkier shopping is no problem anyhow. You are also very close to the location of the thrice weekly market where you may find wonderful paw paws (papaya),bananas, cakes and, at the Friday night market, fresh cooked fish parcels which you can tuck into straight away. Be quick though, many items were only available in limited numbers.

Other places within easy walking distance are the Information Centre, Sir Robert's wharf (great spot to catch a breeze and watch fish and the focus of a great deal of interesting activity if the monthly freighter arrives during your visit) and several churches. Do consider attending the Ekalesia church near the wharf where the hymn singing is stunningly beautiful.

Our stay was in the very private rear villa-number 2. Villa 1 is closer to the entrance and is a little less private but has a more useable balcony area. The tiled rooms are delightfully cool, fully insect screened and with very effective timber louvers (not a piece of window glass to be found). The bed was very roomy and comfortable and we also found the couch very good for the mandatory mid-afternoon siesta. The walk in shower was given a very thorough work out and the hot water never failed. All other items in the very well equipped kitchen and laundry worked without trouble.

All in all a very pleasant experience and one we are already looking forward to repeating.

PS Watch out for the wood pigeons early in the morning

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peaceful comfort in a great location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing