We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 199
USD 161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 230
USD 168
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 192
USD 188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 194
USD 189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 96
USD 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Lagon Hotel(Noumea)
USD 144
USD 136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Nouvata(Noumea)
USD 84
USD 81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Beaurivage(Noumea)(Great Value!)
USD 90
USD 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveller rating
560
406
87
28
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
560
406
87
28
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanse vataswim up baraquatonic poolla piroguenew caledoniahash brownsbedroom suitehotel restaurantsfull kitchenwell equipped kitchensun loungerspool area isclub medcoffee machinereception staffgreat resortdirect access to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

It has a beautiful feel to it. We had a deluxe ocean view room that has kitchen facilities if you need them. Our view was delicious, our room looked over the ocean onto Anse Vate Beach. Free laundry facilities which are great. Within walking distance of Anse Vate shops and restaurants

The only negative was the staff always seemed a little vague. The lack of training and management really shows. This would be a really wonderful experience if you didn't have to run around the breakfast buffet asking staff to get more items you need because they haven't bothered to restock. Coffee was awful and you had to pay extra if you wanted an expresso from the machine.

I would go back there as I just loved the rooms and the location.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MichatBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

After my recent trip there, I feel compelled to write a review so they can potentially adjust some of the behaviour and amenities...

Positive: it’s modern
Reception staff have been nice

Negatives:
- no beach area (by that I mean there are usually beach areas where you can lay down under the palm trees...well, not in this hotel, we had to go to the Meridien next door for that)
-Prior to arriving in the hotel, some of the senior staff have been extremely rude /arrogant with us when we had issues with our booking... to the point that Booking.com suggested to kindly call them on our behalf, unfortunately after the call even they had been subjected to this hotel rudeness...at this point we couldn’t cancel as you cannot cancel your booking with this hotel.
-No internet on 5 Mo (unless you pay for some more internet).
- Restaurant staff rude

Overall, we had to pay extra for everything and we felt so unwelcome there...it felt like being in a 2 star hotel. I really would not recommend, and just don’t know how they have been rated 4.5/5 on here.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Aissatou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateaunoumea, International Sales Executive at Chateau Royal Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear Mrs Kabba,

Thanks for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction on mentioned points.

Please kindly note that you have benefited from a preferred Non-refundable rate for your booking – which explained the discounted rate.
As you know, a full prepayment is required and this is non-refundable.
As discussed with our manager, unless exceptional circumstances occurred, the total amount is due.

We hope that you will not remain on this negative note and would be pleased to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This must be the best accommodation in Noumea! It is perfectly located on the beach-front with just a short walk to shops & restaurants. The rooms are very spacious & comfortable, with daily cleaning by pleasant staff.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank agormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This was by far the best venue in Noumea for many years, and when it was completed we switched from other hotels to the Château Royale. It was always excellent – until this recent visit. The staff are still outstanding but some need more training and the hotel management has started pennypinching on small items and needs to hire a first-class manager who will tighten up the following backflips. Rooms are beautiful, situation excellent, and if they can get their act together and fix the problems below we will certainly be back – hopefully even this year. But the faults below are definitely detrimental and hugely irritating to someone who's been there when the hotel was running efficiently. We were told the manager walked out on them and whoever is in charge now seems to be more interested in saving expenses than pleasing the customers. Here are my gripes – – – –

We booked oceanview superior rooms with our travel agent and I organise that for myself and another couple. Even though I was a repeat customer, they got an oceanview room but we got a garden room. Not good enough!

I have been a platinum member of Marriott, Starwood press club, and a member of most other major hotel chains because I've travelled so much and stayed with all of these. At any decent hotel over to stars it is customary for hotels to keep a register of repeat customers and generally to upgrade them. With me you downgraded me to a garden view room. Not good enough!

In any decent hotel, repeat customers come back to be welcomed by a note from the manager and either a bottle of wine or a bowl of fruit or some flowers. When we got to our room at 3 AM that morning after the typhoon, there was not even milk for a cup of tea in the room. Not good enough.

We had requested sandwiches in our rooms because we knew we would arrive after midnight. When we got to the rooms – nothing. Not good enough!

The air-conditioning in the lounge room worked, but not in the bedroom, and our friends also had air-conditioning problems. Any decent hotel would get rooms checked before guests arrived. Our friends were told you had power outages during the typhoon – all the more reason to have everything checked properly. Not good enough!

One of your biggest assets is your spa and I had used this in the past. This time I was refused entry because I did not have speedos. I had the same bathers that I used last time but they would not let me go in. If speedos were a new rule and you had records that I had been there before, any worthwhile hotel with good management would advise accordingly. You didn't! Not good enough!

You had the fine dining restaurant under renovation. This should have been advised to us immediately we booked. Your sloppy management didn't bother. Not good enough!

With the breakfasts I was appalled to see that you were charging top dollar for our occupancy but seemed to be desperately trying to save money by cutting back on the breakfasts to a ridiculously pennypinching degree. Five mornings out of the seven there were no baguettes and we had to wait for them to be brought from the kitchen. And even then they were the precooked frozen type that you buy at supermarkets instead of really good baguettes which are freely available everywhere in Noumea. Absolutely disgusting service and certainly not good enough!

As qualified food critics the meat cuts in the buffet were such poor quality that they were disgusting. Some inedible sausage and no ham or salmon. Your food and beverage manager must've had his budget cut right out or been asleep. It would also have been nice to get a decent selection of fruit. As with the breads/baguettes, there was very little selection on the tables and at most times many of the fruit types offered had been cleared out by guests and not yet replaced. Not good enough.

You had an outstanding hotel but your temporary management needs some urgent fine-tuning and supervision which, in my opinion is sadly lacking. You charge top dollar rates and it's not unreasonable to expect a top dollar breakfast and top dollar service. Your staff are still very nice and I had no problem with these but the whole way our stay was arranged was simply appalling. If these points can be quickly and efficiently corrected we would certainly keep coming back to your lovely property, but it's a shame that it has been let go to such an extent. We were trained on hotel assessment by Relais & Châteaux in France, so these faults were immediately obvious to us.

Room Tip: Ocean view deluxe rooms are about as good as they can get to be
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

This was our first visit to Noumea and this hotel was recommended by friends. It lived up to their recommendation in every way and we spent two glorious weeks here. While we had initially booked a deluxe ocean view room, this was unfortunately also overlooking the Le Meridien Hotel and so, with Cyndia's assistance, we upgraded to a fantastic Prestige one-bedroom suite, which was well worth the added expense, because it was absolutely magnificent to have an uninterrupted view of the lagoon and the ocean and all the activities that were being enjoyed on them. The hydofoil surfers, who take full advantage of the westerly winds, were fascinating to watch. The hotel was perfectly situated so as to be protected from the full onslaught of these winds, which made watching the activities all the more enjoyable. There was wind surfing, kayaking, canoeing, swimming, paddle boarding, sailing, jet skis, exercise classes - a real hive of activity. Our suite was spotless, spacious and very comfortable. The accessibility to the sea, which was at the perfect temperature, was great and we could move from the sea to the hotel pool with ease, so we had the best of both worlds. The poolside lounges were very comfortable and there were plenty of umbrellas. We only wish that the hotel would ban smoking in the pool area as it does in the hotel itself. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at La Pirogue and even more so the dancing to the excellent live music. We were disappointed that the main restaurant, La Taom, was closed for renovation. The only downside for us was with the breakfasts and we really think that the hotel should be ensuring that its guests experience real French cuisine and particularly, real French baguettes l'ancienne and crispy croissants, rather than the warmed up bread loaves and limp croissants that we received, especially when the real thing can be purchased from L'Atelier Gourmand, which is less than five minutes away! The Aquatonic Spa was an amazing treat, both in the beauty and in the health sections. We thoroughly enjoyed the aquabike class, which gave us a real workout. The hotel is also ideally situated close to the best restaurants in Noumea. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Chose a prestige room with an uninterrupted view of the lagoon
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews