We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly Colombian Cooking Experience”

Colombia Cooking Experience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: About us We are more than a typical Cooking Class While you are Cooking authentic Colombian dishes, our local instructors will guide you around Colombian cuisine, culture, magic, music and the gastronomic riches of the different regions of our country. Our customers will be delighted with their stories and expert local knowledge about our roots, our food and customs. Our house is decorated in 3 different atmospheres. In the first one "the patio" our decoration is happy and colorful, there you will learn the typical way to prepare Colombian Coffee. In this room you could play our famous rana game while you enjoy some delicious cocktails. The second room "Cooking Room", is the place where you will learn how to cook and eat our Colombian specialities. The Third room "la Fonda" , an impression of a typical Colombian Fonda (house from the coffee región), there you will learn and taste about some exotic fruits from our country. Make sure to come with an empty stomach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I loved the group dinner and meeting with other guests. It was a fun, interactive way to present a little taste into authentic Colombian culture. The fruit tasting was really good and unexpected, only to be surpassed by a hearty ajiaco soup with patacones and all the dips! The chef, guides and support staff were all very friendly and professional. Overall an great experience showcasing food from Colombia!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Mark1874avfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fruit tasting"
in 6 reviews
"colombian food"
in 9 reviews
"great cooking"
in 3 reviews
"cooking class"
in 4 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 4 reviews
"local experience"
in 2 reviews
"colombian fruits"
in 2 reviews
"juice"
in 3 reviews
"fun"
in 12 reviews
"culture"
in 9 reviews
"activity"
in 2 reviews
"highlights"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My partner & I did this class following a recommendation from a friend, & it massively exceeded our expectations. We were greeted in the house with the warmest welcome & instantly were made to feel special by the family & team who were running the evening. The class lasted for around 3 hours & was really varied, including some fruit tasting & making a total of 4 other dishes....we definitely left feeling we had more than got our money's worth. The lead chef was extremely knowlegable & so passionate when showing us the different ingredients, we hadn't expected the class to be so highly educational as well as fun. Additional authentic touches like the background music & playing a traditional Colombian game whilst waiting for some of our food to cook were the perfect little gems that made the experience so much more than just your average cooking class. We actually did this on our final night in Colombia before heading back home to the UK - I genuinely could not think of a nicer way to have spent it.
Great value for money & an all-round amazing experience & way to get up close & personal to traditional Colombian cuisine.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank s_murphy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I had such a wonderful time on this Colombian cooking experience. The food was amazing and the hosts were great. Would absolutely recommend to anyone wanting a local experience and to learn how to cook delicious Colombian food. Thanks to JP and the rest of the team :)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Carlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were told about this experience and decided to give it a go. And we're so glad that we did.
The knowledge of the chef, twinned with the relaxed, family approach, made for an enjoyable, relaxed evening. The skills and knowledge learnt, is definitely something we'll be taking home with us. And the dishes created are going to be shared with family and friends back in the UK.
The experience is over 3hrs with lots of food and drink available.
Go hungry! Because you get to eat a lot!!
I would say, if you're looking to get an authentic experience of Columbian cooking, or just looking for something to try to get out of the Bogota rain, then this is for you.
Thanks to JP, Miguel and the team for a great evening.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Craig_Thurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

It was really easy to organize the Colombian Cooking Experience. In a first place it was a little bit complicated to find the place because our taxi driver couldn't find it.
The experience was really nice, the food tasted delicious and the chef was a really friendly person. Overall this is an unforgettable experience of the Colombian culture and kitchen.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank janabuender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Colombia Cooking Experience also viewed

 

Been to Colombia Cooking Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing