We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Death road mega day!

We had the best day with Willy and our driver Hugo. Everything from booking in the office and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Hannah P
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Fantastic tour!

Brilliant tour of the death road. I wanted to bomb it down and my girlfriend wanted to go a bit... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Marcusmandingo
via mobile
Read all 536 reviews
  
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
521
11
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
11
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana cake these guys other companies small group great breakfast death road medical doctor buffet lunch knee pads safety gear own pace amazing experience loki hostel no pressure half the price fantastic company yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

We chose Ride On pretty much at random after seeing how good the reviews were on tripadvisor. You can call or email them to book advance but as we had a few questions to ask we headed down to the shop when we arrived in La Paz. The shop can be a little hard to find but we rang them and they directed us no problems. The man we spoke to in the shop was extremely helpful, he initially told us that the tour for the following day was full but after a couple of phone calls he manahed to add us on.

We had Marcello and Brian as guides and they were both brilliant. My girlfriend was very nervous but Marcello was great at explaining how everything worked and putting her at ease. He also gave us some really interesting history on the death road every time we stopped for a break. On the way down we either passed or were passed by at least 5 or 6 other groups and none of them seemed anywhere near as safety conscious or organised as Ride On. We saw groups where some of the riders were left 15/20 minutes behind the guides. This was not the case at all in our group with at least one of the guides always being close by and the van following in case of any problems. The equipment provided also seemed to be well above the quality of the other companies and what was most surprising is that we found out Ride On is actually cheaper than a number of the other companies I’m referring to. The food over the course of the day was great and the guides take some really good photos on the way down which they send over by email.

The ride itself is an amazing experience and I couldn’t recommend Marcello and Ride On highly enough.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Ciaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Definitely recommend to anyone! Well organized, safe and a lot of fun! My daughter recently broke her collar bone and was unable to ride a bike but RideOn graciously allowed us to tag along on the tour riding comfortably in the van following the bikers along the way! If you are looking to bike Death Road I would highly recommend this company over the others, the safety equipment and gear provided was much more superior to any other tour groups we saw along the way. Willie is a fun personable guide who speaks great English. Eddie follows behind the group and takes great photos and Video along the way. Ogie (I'm sure that's spelled wrong) is a very safe and competent driver, which is a huge plus considering how crazy drivers are around here!! Thanks so much for letting us be part of this experience!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank anasazi138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Honestly one of the best things you can do in Bolivia! Was so much fun and the guides stuck to the front and back of the pack, allowing those who wanted - to go fast and others take it slow. Ask for Billy! He’s a legend - funny and creates a great atmosphere!!! Food was great as well, the banana cake was the best way to start the day! A must do for sure!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Noah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Death road- You can make it really hard and challenging or keep it simple and safe. We were kind of in the middle. Our tour guide Willy who was awesome knew the right speed downhill for our group. We were a small group of 5 which really helps. Small group size is so important to enjoy the death road. Willy spoke perfect English and was literally like a paparazzi taking pictures.
We were given really good mountain bikes and the ride was very smooth. Great service for a really good price.
Also one more thing to point out- we had some miscommunication at the start with our pick up times but the owner took responsibility and called us and made sure we were on the van. We did not miss anything even though we started late. We were not rushed and it was great experience. We also stopped for zip line ride. The drive back was long but the driver did a good job, considering the amount of rain and fog. Kudos to Willy and team for making a great experience. Ride on “crazy llama”

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank diablo_rag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We travelled as a group of 18, Marcello and the guys looked after all of us brilliantly. The previous biking experience of the group was pretty varied, but no matter how fast or slow you wanted to go, the guys stayed with us. The gear provided was in excellent condition (bike, helmet with face protection, knee & elbow pads) especially in comparison to other tour operators. These guys are all about safety while also having good fun, telling tales, offering food reccomendations plus the banana bread is a great way to start the day!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews