We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
223
286
119
50
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
286
119
50
71
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

Would not have booked this place on my own but was forced to do so because there was a conference there. I can honestly say I have never experienced much worse from something that pegs itself as a resort. I would strongly suggest spending your hard earned vacation dollars elsewhere.

The place is about 1km from the beach. Not an easy walk. They're trying to make up for this by building a big sand pit. If you want beach book a nice little place close by so you can walk. Distances between things are significant. You walk ALOT. Despite the fact that they're spending huge dollars on new buildings with dreamy names (to lure unsuspecting suckers), significant amounts of the roads are still dirt. The convention building could not be accessed without walking in mud. I saw ladies with their expensive shoes covered in mud. Really, spend some of the money on infrastructure.

One particularly memorable evening we were refused access to the empty restaurant (expecting a big crowd). We were later told that they did let people in for dinner. Because of this we ended up eating out of the gas station.

The place is remote and at least US$30 from anything in the way of further amenities.

I don't often roast on one of these reviews but this place earned a special distinction in my heart. Stay away

Stayed: November 2015
1  Thank nstrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia-Solanas, Dto. Atención al Huésped at Solanas Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016
Google Translation

Estimado,

Al no contar con información suficiente en sus datos de registro de TripAdvisor, no podemos darle una devolución más personalizada al respecto de sus apreciaciones.
De todas formas, nos gustaría aclararle que la ubicación y comodidades de nuestro complejo está claramente especificado en nuestro Sitio Web, Agencias de Viajes, Vouchers, para evitar cualquier mal entendido.

Las construcciones que menciona, se realizan con el ánimo de mejorar y ampliar las propuestas de servicios hacia nuestros huéspedes. En cuanto a su comentario sobre la Crystal Beach en todos los medios se encuentra especificado que la misma actualmente se encuentra en construcción. Solamente a modo de información, dicho proyecto es el primero de estas características en Uruguay y es una obra estimada para finales de 2016.

Lamentamos que nuestros servicios no hayan estado a la altura de sus expectativas y esperamos poder revertir esta imagen en su próxima visita.

Un cordial saludo.

Matilde Bell
Coordinadora de Atención al Huésped.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015

This was the worst place I have ever stayed
The "resort" is under heavy construction. There was only one restaurant and bar with limited hours of operation.
It costs $30 USD just to go somewhere to get a decent meal or see something of interest.....nothing is in walking distance
Giving Solanas the benefit of the doubt, if the new lagoon was completed it may have provided a very different feel.... but only marginally...they can't move the location
I understand this is the off season but they should shut down the site until they can provide a minimal standard of service.

Room Tip: Select the more modern Green area rooms
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamesM5319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

This is NOT in Punta del Este. You must have a car to get around, even around the grounds itself. There are bus shuttles but not often, but can be called for. There are a lot of facilities for kids, and since I was there for a conference, I cannot comment on that.
The rooms are a bit dodgy and I would not be staying there for a long period of time. No English speaking TV channels on TV which had poor/fuzzy reception anyway. The curtains are either blackout or not…it should have thin curtains so that people from outside cannot look in when you want to leave the curtains open to have some light in. The beds were not comfortable, and the room smelt a but musty, but when you turn on the AC it is better. The mosquito netting on the windows mean that you can open the window, but not if you want to sleep in because the gardeners start work outside your room early.
All in all…it was NOT a resort, and you have to be desperate to stay in this place, or not think of it as a resort at all and come with VERY LOW expectations.

Room Tip: Rent a car to get around, and ask for a new room
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Comfort_Seeker999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia-Solanas, Dto. Atención al Huésped at Solanas Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2016

Dear Sergio:

Thank you for sharing your experience with the other members of the Trip Advisor Community.
Regarding your comments about our location, this specific fact is clearly pointed in several ways (Web Site / Vouchers / Travel Agencies / etc.) to avoid any misunderstood.

Our Maintenance Team work on a daily basis to keep our property and accommodations in the best conditions. We are deeply sorry if this Service didn´t fulfill your expectations
We receive your observations seriously to keep working in order to improve our Quality Service.

Looking forward to recieve you again in the near future.

Best regards..

Matilde Bell
Coordinadora de Atención al Huésped

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2015

Solanas Club is a most relaxing experience for all seasons in a secluded pine forest.
We enjoyed its fully equipped apartment with 2 ample bathrooms, kitchenette,
terrace with an individual barbecue, maid service and all amenities.

We found it is ideal for families: outside and inside pools; spa, gym;
horse riding, bicycles, carts; tennis, paddle and volleyball courts; football field;
children and kinder playgrounds; restaurant; clubhouse; barbecue area for groups;
auditorium; permanent security, as well as many daily social activities.

Beyond the charming forest, there is a calm summer resort (Portezuelo),
panoramic Punta Ballena, and Lussich Arboretum. Glamorous Punta del Este
is only 13 kms. away and buses stop right at the resort´s entrance gates.

The closest beach, wide and peaceful, is within walking distance (5 blocks).
Solanas Club provides a free van ride to and from the beach, as well as free
beach facilities.

Room Tip: The resort has different housing areas. Solanas Royalmar is closer to its entrance and to the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBergeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia-Solanas, Dto. Atención al Huésped at Solanas Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Dear Mrs.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the other members of the Trip Advisor Community.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the Resort facilities and the Social Activities schedule as well.

We are looking forward to recieve you again in a near future.

Best regards.

MARIANA GONZÁLEZ
Encargada de Atención al Huésped

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Musty, durty, lots of flyes in the room. Run from this hotel Pictures are lies. Bedding disgusting. I left the hotel just before arrived, losting my money deposit. Worst hotel I have seen. Bad trained people for reservations and front desk.

Room Tip: There is no good place to stay there. Run from there.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia-Solanas, Dto. Atención al Huésped at Solanas Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Dear Sergio:

Thank you for sharing your experience with the other members of the Trip Advisor Community.

By not having enough information on your Trip Advisor Profile, we cannot provide a personalized answer in this regard.

Our Housekeeping and Maintenance Team work on a daily basis to keep our property and accommodations in the best conditions. We are deeply sorry if this Service didn´t fulfill your expectations.

Our Cancellation Policy is clearly specified at the moment of making the reservation.

We receive your observations as a motivation to keep working in order to improve our Quality Service.

Best Regards.

MARIANA GONZÁLEZ
Encargada de Atención al Huésped

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews