We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spacious rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oryx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oryx Hotel
Ranked #84 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“spacious rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

location - not really along Corniche Rd., but within walking distance (a block or two). there's a Choithram supermarket and small grocery store on the next building, there's also a pharmacy/drugstore. we passed by some nice cafes in the area, though we didn't get a chance to try them. taxi drivers seem familiar with the hotel, and so it was easy to get there.

rooms - we booked two rooms, and both are really spacious, with sitting area (large coffee table + 2 leatherette armchairs). simple but tastefully furnished. husband & I had a king-size bed, while mom-in-law and bro-in-law had twin beds in their room, as requested. hotel was fully booked when we were there (there was a triathlon on that same weekend) so we ended up having rooms three floors apart -- a minor inconvenience. they have separate shower and tub in the bathroom. be careful though when taking a shower as water seeps out under the shower stall door, our bathroom floor got a bit flooded.

service - checkin was fast and guy was courteous, tried to accommodate our requests despite the late checkin. we called for additional drinking water for coffee/tea, and they sent a couple more complimentary bottles of water to our room immediately. upon checkout, girl at reception looked stern and didn't smile one bit. but checkout was fast so it was ok. if we plan to spend the weekend in Abu Dhabi again, we'd definitely consider staying in Oryx Hotel. this is way better than the previous hotel we booked in Abu Dhabi before.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RezC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlDiarOryxHotel, Management at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a generous review of our hotel. We are delighted to know that you and your family had a relaxing and comfortable stay.

The team is grateful for such a wonderful feedback. Reviews such as yours motivate the entire team to put in their best to deliver high levels of service. The inconvenience caused by the shower will be rectified immediately and we are thankful for bringing it to our notice.

We look forward to welcome you back with us on your continued visits.

Warm Regards,
Management
Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    39
    29
    13
    8
See reviews for
21
20
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We needed a place to stay for one night on New Year's eve after the Coldplay concert. Good size rooms, clean, and very convenient walking distance to the Marina area, Emirates Palace, Emirates Towers, etc.
Breakfast is (very) average buffet. Really nice feature was the roof top pool, bar and casual dining area where we enjoyed a drink and a snack whilst enjoying the view.
Overall good value accomodation, and BTW the concert was great, if a little short.

Room Tip: It's away from the Corniche so don't expect ocean but there are some nice outlooks from most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlDiarOryxHotel, General Manager at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the great review about your stay at the Oryx Hotel. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with us, particularly at the roof top pool, bar and dining area.

Your positive comments about the rooms, services and entertainment are received with gratitude by our team.

The comment regarding the breakfast buffet is taken in good spirit as we believe that the valuable feedback of our guests always benefit us.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us.

Regards,
Management
Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed at the Oryx during a conference for 5 days. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The view from the room window was great (room 1207). The bathroom was very spacious and it was a pleasure to use it!
The breakfast buffet was nice, but got repetitive. The hotel is situated very near to the corniche and has lots of supermarkets nearby.
Overall would definitely recommend it for a hasslefree stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anupam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlDiarOryxHotel, General Manager at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Oryx Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant experience with us. Located in the heart of the city, we continuously strive to offer both our business and leisure travelers the best blend of traditional hospitality and modern amenities.

We look forward to hosting you again at Oryx Hotel.

Regards,
Management
Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Situated right next to Emirates Palace and Marina Mall, if you need to be right at this end of town then you can't get better value for money than the Oryx. The rooms are spacious, especially the bathroom which is massive, rooms are clean and well serviced, great views from the bar and swimming pool at the top of the building and check in was very fast, a rare quality in Abu Dhabi in my experience. Cost of the room was comparable to some of the much lower quality hotel apartments in the region so to have a hotel of this standard for the same price was fantastic. Only minor gripe was that the Internet was fairly expensive at 96dhs for 24h but considering the price of the room, it is no major deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dubaiandlovinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlDiarOryxHotel, General Manager at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Oryx Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Being a premium accommodation option in Abu Dhabi, we provide our guests with par excellence facilities and services. Perhaps this information would help you understand the pricing of some of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Oryx Hotel.

Regards,
Management
Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Not on a main course, but quite convenient to Corniche and a great selections of small restaurants. Rooms were clean (although infrequently serviced without reminder calls to front desk). Showers a bit wonky in design, but very refreshing - just keep an extra towel on the floor as these afterthought installations have a tendency to leak a bit. Room service fare was quite good and always arrived quickly. Nice bar/restaurant/pool area on top floor. Breakfast buffet served its purpose, but was a bit lacking in inspiration and flavour. Staff throughout very attentive, friendly and accommodating. Would stay again, if not only for the convenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid street noise - and facing away from buildings and constructions
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlDiarOryxHotel, General Manager at Oryx Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Oryx Hotel and your kind feedback. We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and found our services up to the mark. A review of our amenities and services helps us in identifying areas of advancement and helps us to enhance our offerings.

We thank you for your custom and look forward to serving you again.

Regards,
Management
Oryx Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.0 km away
Grand Mercure Residence Abu Dhabi
1.1 km away
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
Sheraton Khalidiya Hotel
#85 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.9 km away
The Eclipse Boutique Suites
The Eclipse Boutique Suites
#74 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Courtyard World Trade Center, Abu Dhabi
1.7 km away
Hilton Abu Dhabi
Hilton Abu Dhabi
#37 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
1.1 km away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#105 of 130 in Abu Dhabi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oryx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oryx Hotel

Property: Oryx Hotel
Address: Zayed the First Street, Khalidiya Area, Abu Dhabi 54845, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 130 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price range (per night): $88 - $220
Hotel Class:4 star — Oryx Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oryx Hotel is located in the up-market district of Abu Dhabi. The hotel is in close proximity to the city's key business and leisure attractions as well as Corniche (the local beach) where you can immerse yourself in the tranquility of the softly lapping waters of the Arabian Sea. Each room is fully equipped with all modern-day amenities including high-speed Wi-Fi internet access and is ideal for holiday-makers and executive travelers alike. There are plenty of ways to relax and stay in shape at the Oryx Hotel. The Curve, the hotel's Health Club comprises of a contemporary gymnasium, roof-top swimming pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi. In terms of cuisine and entertainment, there are plenty of options to choose from such as the Horizon Restaurant which offers an a-la-carte and buffet menu and stunning panoramic view; the Blue Line restaurant where you can indulge in classy cocktails and live music; and Horizon Terrace, ideal for laid-back chit-chat with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oryx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing