We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
42
44
25
16
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
44
25
16
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue marlin pool bar rooms are spacious and clean dubai facilities
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2008

A brief overview:
1) You are just at the hotel and that is it. No shops and 40Km to anything. I wanted a peaceful break before business so this sort of suited me. BUT
2) You have to buy everything in the hotel. £5 GBP a Beer and £2 a soft drink.
3) The hotel beach is currently a mass of diggers and construction workers. These go on ALL night. I complained at one point and they said they would only start at 8am after the night shift ending at 4am. NB All this work is about 20m from your room. I ended up smoking on the balcony at 3am most nights reading my book with the noise.
4) There is no sort of tourism of any sort. No trips etc. There was a bus was meant to be on some sort of schedule but there were only about 4 people in the hotel when I stayed. I wonder why? We even got standed at the beach one day as the scheduled trips didn't happen.
5) All guests seem to be construction workers. Hence even in a couple there are lots of old men in the bar smoking - mixed with the odd arab who thinks that any western woman is fair game.
6) The pool bar is under construction. Hence the (quite nice pool) is wrecked by the constant hammering and sawing of wood. I guess this is for the future and it may be better then but the hotel is in a major constrution phase at the moment.
7) As a result of the above point don't expect any entertainment or even staff in any bars etc. I had to go to reception to get someone to get a drink and turn over the the upside down chairs by the pool. (So few people they don't bother putting the tables right unless you demand to sit at one - and even then that would be a reception job.
8) Food - awful. Rooms are also all in shade in the evening. That is if you can open the patio doors which are a nightmare.
9) Rooms are fine it's just the general hotel that is the problem. Sheets are lovely but Golden Tulip does great ones in Amsterdam so I guess that is a chain thing.
In summary I would not go back or at least for a year if only I had to be that area for business as there are major works going on. The reception staff are lovely and admit that the hotel is rubbish at the moment. It may get better but their cheap rates are there for a reason. Go 2 Dubai. I will add some candid photos when I get a chance. Just flown into London and wanted 2 make sure people know what it's like.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ellicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Staff at this hotel are wonderful, very helpful and friendly. Rooms were adequate although maintenance was a little lacking, shower leaked, and patio door was too stiff to open but everything was very clean. The hotel is located halfway between Abu Dhabi and Dubai and taxis to either can work out expensive. Metered taxis don't come out to the hotel, nor do trips pick up from it. The hotel bus is good, going to Abu Dhabi on a Saturday and a Monday and Dubai every other day but only to the shopping centres leaving at 3pm, arriving at 4pm and leaving again at 8pm. This was plenty of time for shopping and we were tired by 8pm. We wanted to see something of the country and found it difficult to organise. We did take the Abu Dhabi shopping coach to the mall and then caught a taxi to the gold souk which was very cheap but we had to be back to catch the coach so timings were difficult.

Many of the guests, mainly German, were on an organised trip so had their own coach, when they left the hotel on trips it was virtually empty expect for people like us who had come by themselves. The hotel driver told us that they now plan to offer guests a driver for the day to visit the sites on a one to one basis, don't know the cost but sounds like a good idea.

We booked bed and breakfast which was adequate and eat in the restaurant some evenings, other than the restaurants, one of which is Turkish, there is nowhere to get food so a shopping trip to Dubai or Abu Dhabi supermarket is essential. The food in the hotel was excellent, costing about £15 per person in the evening.
Best place to get alcohol is in the duty free shop when you arrive at the airport, it was expensive in the hotel and we never found a shop that sold any. Don't try and take duty free alcohol home in hand luggage when going home before going through security they will take it off you. You can buy it before you board your plane.

Pool is lovely, plenty of sunbeds, towels etc. Hotel run a bus to their annex which is about 10 mins away by the sea, this was good, again no shops but a bar, restaurant and pool but very quiet, apparently they have two camels there but we didn't see them.

To sum up, teenagers would hate it, although they do have a gym but no-one seemed to use it, if you want to get around and explore maybe not the best located hotel, there is nothing much to walk to either, if you want to chill out by the pool/beach fantastic and staff were lovely.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank FirstTimersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2006

Then this is the place for you. The location is not ideally suited for people with a pulse… However, the Hotel is immaculate and staff are exceptionally helpful. You are approximately 40 mins ride away from the heart of Dubai and will cost you approx 140 dirhams (£20 each way). The hotel provides a courtesy coach into Dubai but only at 3pm and returns at 8pm (the timings are not great!). I do recommend that you visit Souk Madinat Jumerirah, 30 mins from hotel and costs 100 dirhams (£15 each way) – worthwhile, many restaurants situated outside along the river Creek and where you can watch the world go by! Very impressive.

The beach situated at the hotel is not very nice and is where you can hire the water sport boats, jet skies etc, however, like one other English couple, we were stitched up! Hiring out their jet skies you are not covered by any means of insurance and like most personal travel insurances, we were not covered for any watersports participation. If you decide to hire out a jet ski – I forewarn you – that you must check the jet ski thoroughly to ensure that there are no dents, scratches etc. Regrettably, we didn’t check – (as we were not shown the contract to sign until we were sitting on the jet ski). When we finished our half an hour – they checked the jet ski and showed us a scratch down the side. We did not do this, and they were very quick to notice this scratch! And we didn’t even notice it (how could we, the scratch was situated under the water). They would not give us back our passports until we paid £362. If you want our advice, do not hire out the jet skies. As I said whilst we were there another English couple also got stitched up! The water sports facility is run by a separate company and has nothing to do with the hotel.

The second beach that they mention in their brochure is approx 10 mins ride away situated at the Bungalows site. The hotel lay on a courtesy bus ride on the hour. The beach is exceptionally quiet and don’t be surprised to find yourself the only person on the beach! The swimming pool and Jacuzzi is situated on top of the beach – Great view!

Like I said – if you are not looking for any entertainment, night life of any kind then this is the hotel for you. It’s a real shame because they do have the potential to arrange such entertainment and it really does let the hotel down.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TrailBlazer30832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2006

The hotel is a snapshot from the 80s. Tired decor and no facilities of any kind nearby. The beach is an artifical pancake of imported sand adjacent to a artificially created inland lagoon.

The reception, doorman and restaurant staff were very polite indeed. However, the manager also called us at midday one day saying that they were overbooked and that we had to vacate by that evening! Appalling.

Stayed: April 2006
5  Thank Seaside37242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2006

Our family stayed there for 2 nights. The room was big & clean but old furnished. Food was o k but it was a bit costly for those varieties. The shower curtain was too short and the bath tub was too small in width. Facilities should be improved, pity though !

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inspiration12273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews