We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent but way out of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Doha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
Ranked #15 of 139 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent but way out of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed at this Hotel as it was hosting the MultaQa Conference. Excellent Hotel and good conference facilities.

However, I was combining the Conference with meetings in Doha City, which is 30 to 60 minutes away depending on traffic.

If you are in Doha for business choose the Sharq Village & Spa, (also a Ritz Hotel), or the Sheraton, both of which are excellent and on the main Doha bay and never more than 10 to 15 minutes from any meeting that's in the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Sea as the front of the Hotel can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    165
    51
    19
    16
See reviews for
94
120
41
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is amazing! This was my second time to Doha - last time I stayed at the Four Seasons. This visit was for a conference near the Pearl area so I tried the Ritz. Wow! One of the best examples of customer service I have ever seen.

From the moment I arrived, the staff was incredible. I arrived mid-morning and waited only a few minutes to get my room and was served a wonderful latte while I waited. The next morning when I arrived for breakfast, the waiter asked me if I would be having another latte! Amazing.

It is the small things that make a difference. There was always plenty of complimentary water in the room. At one point, I think I had five bottles available. I hate when you get only one small bottle and then have to resort to the $25 bottle of minibar water. In locations where it is not advisable to drink the tap water, this should not be an extra.

The outdoor pool area was very relaxing and the indoor lap pool was fantastic.

One of the things I hated the last time I visited Qatar was the taxi situation. It is very hard to get a taxi and then you have to fight with them to turn on the meter. But even this didn't bother me as much this time as the door staff was very quick to help me decide whether to wait for a taxi or if it was worth it to pay for the hotel limo. When I wasn't in a hurry, they helped me get a taxi, made sure the driver knew where I wanted to go and the drivers were all fine with turning on the meter.

I had a club room which gave me access to the lounge. In the lounge there was food pretty much all day, free wifi and comfortable chairs to relax in.

This isn't the newest hotel in Doha but it is very well maintained, and my room was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed for one night in March 2012. Room was large and comfortable. Beginning to show its age but very clean. We dined in the french restaurant on the top floor which was excellent (apart from the cliched music!). Breakfast buffet also very good. Only issue was we hadn't been told it was necessary to book a taxi an hour before you need it, so we booked a hotel car instead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in August 2011 .
It was Ramadan - big mistake. ( Ramadan comes in different times of the year , and we were not aware that its in August that year , and the hotel said nothing on it altho it was from the beggining to the end of the month) .
Dont visit this part of the world when the Natives r hungry , and their level of tolerance to u as a westerner christian , so low.
We were not able to drink alcohol on our holiday - Only in our bedroom,& not being able to eat in public in daylight hours spoil a big deal of a neccecery part to a vacation , every vacation , also the hotel's best restaurant & nightclub was closed.

It is a business hotel so unless u r on conference's / business meetings dont bother.

To be completely honest the hotel restaurants r good tho over priced , Especially the Italian restaurant is good.(Porcini). The buffet restaurant is have a good variety of food.


In addition there is the Qatar equivalent of Palm Island Dubai very close to the hotel

The pool area is attractive and ok.

Another Big problem is the Location - really far away from the city and everithing else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I was ther for business. Everything was very good. Prices are quite on the upper level. Didn't use the swimming pool..so I can not judge. Honestly I would not go there for holidays with my family

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kopfgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doha hotels
5.7 km away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
6.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
6.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
3.3 km away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#6 of 139 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Doha

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
Address: West Bay Lagoon | PO Box 23400, Doha 23400, Qatar
Phone Number:
Region: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Doha
#14 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#15 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#17 Family Hotel in Doha
#19 Business Hotel in Doha
Price range (per night): $238 - $351
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyage to an exclusive island resort, nestled on the shores of the sparkling blue waters. Grand, yet inviting, The Ritz-Carlton, Doha is an exceptional Qatar hotel that combines extravagant elegance with the warmth of a traditional Arabian welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Doha Hotel Doha
Ritz Doha
Doha Ritz Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing