We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“visit to HARAM in Mecca” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Massa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Massa Hotel
Ranked #116 of 329 Hotels in Mecca
Riyadh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“visit to HARAM in Mecca”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

There is undoubtly only one advantage with this hotel is that it is economical and very close to Haram. Those of you who will spend most of the time in haram will find this hotel economical. Those who want comfort and service must look for other hotels and they are many in the vicinity. I was surprised with the prompt room service and serving of breakfast in the room which was included in the hotel price. receptionist can be very poor in english, but the bell boy will come and rescue you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Khalidsaeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
7
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
OKC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

Receptionist are not patient and do not understand English. The bell boy (Bangladeshi guy) has to translate them. Our Umra agent in Saudi had made several errors on our reservations and we have to deal with them several times and the receptionist did not understand what the contract is written in English. While I was calling back to my USA agent and complaining about their SAUDI agent “HAJEEJ” Umra services, the one of the Saudi reception was mocking with other behind me.
Next day, I complain to their, Egyptian Hotel GM. He apologies us and send us a fruit basket. I think he knows the business. This is my 2nd straight year in Mecca and my 2nd Mecca hotel and I saw the trend of Saudi born Saudi reception are lazy to help their customer and do not want to learn other language. They don’t understand that the customer is paying their salary.
The bell boy knows more about the hotel business than receptionist. Hotel location is not the nearest hotel to Haram. The construction next to hotel will going at least 1 more year and if you want quite place, check for another hotel.
Oriental and Bangladeshi waiter are much better than other waiter in B/F area. Overall, management knows the business, but their Saudi staff does not know how to run hotel. Rooms are small with good water for shower. A/C runs fine.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mhtoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

Al Massa Hotel is the closest economical hotel in Makkah which is actually just 5 minutes walk to the Holy Haram of Kaaba, the most sacred place for Muslims worldwide. The atmosphere is good, service was above average and ut is meant for a family crowd. The price was worth the facilities. Taxis easily available in the area and also it is close to Al Aziziyah, one of the main streets for shopping and food in Makkah. Overall, we were vey happy and it was best for my parents, who are aged, as they could walk to the Kaaba anytime as it was so closed. Highly recommended for family with small children and aged people.

  • Liked — Closest to Kaaba
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
23 Thank husain52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

I stay there these May 2009 and found it really brilliant, comparing to others on the same cathegory ot highers.
The Staff supper helpfull and facilities very good.
Very near to the Haram and Shops, food just outside of the hotel if you don't fancy the food in the Hotel and very cheap.
Will recommend to anyone, my room was the one near the contruction site, but that didn't bother me at all, i never asked them for any change, but i am sure if i did they would.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Azicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2006

i stay in the hotel last juli,it is near kaaba,walk for 2 min.,the room service is good and cheap.....the room is very clean ,,the stuff is so freindly inspite the fact we change our room 3 times...at first we want kaaba view ,,then there ` was a construction beside it ,so we ask them again ,we need a quite room ,they give us another room and even they make us choose from the available ....the breakfast was so variable,,,,may be they do one sort of egg,but there is cheese,jams ceral,,a lot of stuff,...but we take our lunch at our rooms ,it is good ,,,there is nothing about this hotel except for the construction beside it ,,i think they are not guilty about it .....

  • Liked — the location and the price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank shehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Almasa Hotel
#128 of 329 in Mecca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.1 km away
Al Maqam Housing Center
Al Maqam Housing Center
#76 of 329 in Mecca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 km away
Nawazi Ajyad Hotel
Nawazi Ajyad Hotel
#41 of 329 in Mecca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Elaf Almashaer
Elaf Almashaer
#21 of 329 in Mecca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.5 km away
Bakkah ARAC Hotel
Bakkah ARAC Hotel
#54 of 329 in Mecca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 km away
Fal Al Sadd
Fal Al Sadd
#106 of 329 in Mecca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Massa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Massa Hotel

Property: Al Massa Hotel
Address: Ajyad St dam | 90 meters to the Haram al-Sharif, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price range (per night): $209 - $282
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Massa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Al Massa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Massa Mecca
Al Massa Hotel Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing