We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
YaserKKK
Zagazig, Egypt

Good Budget Hotel 7 minutes from the Holy Mosque

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Aug 2015
Excellent location 7 minutes from the Holy Mosque.. One disadvantage is that the hotel is on a hill so guests need to suffer a little bit climbing it.. Hard to find a parking spot near the hotel. Room was very narrow to fit 5 beds.. Linen looked very old and some had tears.. Clean bath..
Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$325
  • Booking.com
    AU$325
  • Expedia.com
    AU$325
  • Priceline
    AU$324
0.2 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Restaurant
Room service
AU$379
  • Expedia.com
    AU$381
  • Fairmont
    AU$416
  • Hotels.com
    AU$377
0.4 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$293
  • Expedia.com
    AU$294
  • Hotels.com
    AU$291
  • Priceline
    AU$293
0.5 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Free parking
Restaurant
AU$340
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$341
  • Hotels.com
    AU$339
  • Priceline
    AU$337
0.6 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$216
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$234
  • Agoda.com
    AU$201
  • Expedia.com
    AU$236
0.2 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$294
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$296
  • Hotels.com
    AU$293
0.4 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$317
  • Priceline
    AU$316
  • Trip.com
    AU$318
  • Vio.com
    AU$317
0.4 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$213
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$221
  • Vio.com
    AU$202
  • Priceline
    AU$221
1.0 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$38
  • Priceline
    AU$38
  • StayForLong
    AU$54
  • Expedia.com
    AU$39
2.9 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$104
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$104
  • Vio.com
    AU$46
  • Trip.com
    AU$57
1.6 km from Hotel Amjad Ajyad
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Mecca
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
2
0
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
0
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is advertised as Amjad Ajyad Hotel on all hotel booking websites. I had booked through booking.com only a few days before arriving and so did not have as much time to research the hotel as I would usually. However, it was within my budget and the photos on the sites looked good.

The location of this hotel is said to be less than a 10-minute walk which may theoretically be correct but as it is situated on a steep hill type road, it easily becomes a 15 min walk especially when you are tired out after performing Umrah and returning to the hotel. Even if it was a 20 minute walk on a flat road it wouldnt take so much out of you as this shorter but steep road. I would not recommend this for elderly or unfit persons.

On first impressions the hotel looks modern, a little quiet (didn't see that many people coming and going) but decent.

The room also looked clean with a small but not too bad en suite and the usual desk and wardrobes. I would, however, suggest that for rooms where there are more than 2 people sharing (in our case it was 4) the bathrooms should be bigger. Another problem with the bathroom was that the whole floor and shower area was made of marble and although it looked ok, it was extremely dangerous and slippery. This was proven when my father fell whilst showering. You can see from my photos that the space available was very small with no real cordoning off of the shower area except for a shower curtain that was very flimsy and therefore didn't do much to prevent the water from splashing all over. The soap dish also began slipping and eventually fell off the wall where it had been screwed.

Despite all of this my general view of the hotel and our experience was that it was average, not bad for the money and therefore seemingly good value. However this suddenly changed when my sisters pointed out stains under the duvet and pillow cases, and on the bed sheets! The one thing that a hotel should NEVER do is allow for the linen to remain uncleaned! Even if they believe the linen is still clean from previous use, it should still be changed for new/clean linen before the next guest arrives in the room. This was clearly not the case. I do not like naming and shaming but I felt so disgusted. I felt that my lack of research had resulted in a bad choice of hotel as I have never had this experience before.

One morning, in passing, my father had heard a family confronting the front desk staff in regards to an unexpected increase in their room rate. We did not find out what happened but I recall saying that I was glad I had a print out of my online booking. This seemed to be of significance when we ourselves checked out after our 2 night stay at the hotel. The total seemed to be an additional 50% on top of the booking rate. I made it very clear that this was incorrect and re-entered the correct amount on the calculator for them. They then seemed to be confused and looking through their papers to find an explanation and from what I could gather they were trying to charge per day rather than night and even this calculation was coming out incorrect as they had the wrong check-in time noted down. Anyway they conceded and agreed on the rate I had booked with online as they should have. However, their credit/debit card machine was broken. They asked for cash instead. Luckily I had enough on me to cover this cost and was glad to depart seemingly unscathed.

2 days later, whilst in Medina I received an email from booking.com saying that a cancellation fee had been applied, as the hotel had notified them that I had not turned up for my booking in Makkah! And surprise surprise the amount was for one night stay which would bring the total payment taken from me to be the same as the amount they tried to make me pay on check-out. I was furious and sent an email immediately to booking.com complaining. I also sent an email to the management of the hotel stating my case and anger. I was planning to return to Makkah before leaving the country for home but did not want to face a confrontation. I felt quite helpless and could not rest my mind as I felt it was an injustice. I decided to call my bank (yes this cost me a lot on my mobile!) and discussed the matter with them. They told me the payment hadn't been taken. This helped ease my mind but I still was not 100% sure if it would go through on a later date or not. Neither the hotel or booking.com had replied to my emails at this point.

A few days after my return to the UK I eventually received an email from booking.com saying that the hotel had apologised, a mistake had been made and that no payment had actually been taken. Finally! But the damage was already done.

This review has ended up being very much longer than it was meant to be. I have tried to be as fair as possible in my review and just feel that some things should be made clear to potential guests. I really do hope the hotel manages to improve it's service, it's collaboration and use of online sites, communication and above all else the cleanliness of it's linen!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Saaara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.