We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,359)
Filter reviews
2,359 results
Traveller rating
1,094
569
275
165
256
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,094
569
275
165
256
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prayer room kaaba view shopping mall the ground floor excellent hotel in room dining holy city prayer times food court masjid al haram room service is house keeping umrah trip makkah lift luxury complex
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 2,359 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

I am currently staying at This hotel.
I booked through a travel agent for a total of 6 adults and 1 infant. Upon arrival I was told that there were no rooms available for my husband and I with a king/couple bed (booked in advance) and I should make do with 2 singles pushed together. I spent a very long time asking why I am being down graded to a lower spec room than what was paid for. Eventually after a lot of back and forth a king bed room miraculously appeared and we checked in happily. During the booking process and checking in process I mentioned that I am allergic to feather pillows and could they please be replaced by foam pillows, my request was not met so I called reception again mentioning I am allergic to feather pillows who then sent 2 pillows as replacement. At 3 in the morning I am starting to feel unwell and realise that the pillows sent were feather. So I again call reception to please replace the pillows with anti allergenic pillows. I was given 2 feather pillows and one very lumpy ‘foam’ pillow.
I’d like to mention that I have stayed at fairmont Mecca previously and had an amazing experience, very disappointing service so far and not looking forward to the next 6 days booked at this hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank firdosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorMakkah H, Guest Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order for the rest of your stay .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Overall I was completely disappointed with my stay at Fairmont Makkah Clock Royal tower. First, when I arrived at the hotel and waited in the queue to check-in I was shocked to be told to go all the way up to floor 28 rather than checking me in the front desk (after waiting in queue to check-in.) During my stay at other 5* Hotels I never encountered this type of treatment, and had no issues checking in the front desk, despite booking a GOLDEN room in other (not Fairmont) hotels.Next, when I entered my "GOLDEN" suite neither the TV, nor the sink in one of the bathrooms were working during my stay. I requested FOAM pillows for my bed but they arrived like 1 - 2 hours later. House keeping also took around 2 hours to arrive (how's that for a suite service?)Furthermore, when I went for breakfast in the GOLDEN lounge on the 29th floor I was shocked to be told that since I was dining alone I could not get a seat facing the window, but was given a seat in a very poor location. To add insult to injury the staff was serving tea/coffee/milk/etc. to other tables while completely ignoring me. After finishing my breakfast the dining manager Mohammed arrived and asked me how was service. When I told him about the bad service I encountered he immediately apologized and rapidly served me my favorite drink of hot chocolate. It is so sad that I have to talk to the dining manager to get a good service. Finally, during my stay I was told by my butler that I can order as many sweets/fruits as I wanted and that it would be delivered to my room. However, when I requested sweets to be delivered to my room I was told that this was not allowed, and that I can only have sweets at the lounge from 2 - 4PM. I was shocked by this, some staff told me that I can have the sweets delivered to my suite while others told me to come to the lounge to have it. Where is consistency and transparency?Upon check-out I mentioned all my concerns to the manager Mr. Mustafa, and asked him what he would do to make me return again. He only apologized for the bad service I encountered but did not offer me something that would make me return to the property. I told him about the service recovery I would get if I experienced such treatment at other 5* hotels but he said the the service I encountered was not a big deal. Furthermore, he told me that I could have phoned in to tell them to fix the TV. I responded that it was him JOB to ensure that everything is working PROPERLY BEFORE my arrival at the

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank aceboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorMakkah H, Guest Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

In terms of 5 star properties in Makkah I have been to this is one of the better ones. The service in the part of the hotel I was in was excellent, and the Fairmont Gold rooms are recommended. There are two limitations, first the elevator service leaves a lot to be desired and secondly this is not a hotel to take your own car to, the parking end is chaotic. Otherwise this is on the recommended list.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorMakkah H, Guest Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

a Luxury hotel in very prime location but lack of good service and good breakfast. Very busy lefts and yet some are out of service without immediate repair. very good and clean rooms though and its almost 300-400 mtrs till Haram.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank iqasmi646201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorMakkah H, Guest Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

You have excellent rooms but very expensive food,bad quality, no western food, no healthy food and no even menue in the room, good customer service, the worst thig are the long trips in the elevators to haram, you keep geting lost when changing elevators and no clear signs to Harram

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AccorMakkah H, Guest Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews