We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe in old Amman”
Review of Zajal Restaurant

Zajal Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 800 Restaurants in Amman
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The place is a renovated old appartments and houses. the decor is very nice and take you back in time to the 20s and 30s. The food and service are both good. The place has so many seating options, inside ,outside, terrace, garden. the shisha is good as well. Good for the families especially on weekends

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hazem_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2018

Really good authentic cuisine at very reasonable price. Loved the Aleppo sausage dish. Staff very good and helpful. Non alcoholic beer was good as well.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Spacious place, (even three tables with canopy swings) friendly and competent staff, great local cuisine, our favourite restaurant in downtown Amman.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Detlef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Authentic - but not overly so - restaurant minutes walk from the bustling shopping streets of old town.

The waiting staff - all Egyptians - were curteous to a fault, fast and attentive, but never once interrupted our conversation.

Prices: very sensible. Few tourists in evidence, lots of locals. Visa and Master are accepted.

Zajal served a sensible combination of middle eastern food; we chose slow-cooked chicken, ditto beef, and two starters - all were great!

There is only alcohol-free beer; but the coffee is excellent, as is the list of shisha/hookah flavors.

In short - highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We decided to eat here on our first night in Jordan and we were not disappointed. The beautiful street outside leading to the restaurant and roofed with assorted umbrellas is really beautiful and the decor of the restaurant from the entrance to the outdoor courtyard is just as charming.

The staff were nice and friendly and the food was very good. All in all a great start to our stay in Jordan.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beta-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zajal Restaurant also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Zajal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing