We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place , average food and overpriced.”
Review of Baba Yaga

Baba Yaga
Ranked #71 of 1,751 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Baba Yaga is a unique example of a Tel Aviv restaurant, a one of its kind kitchen that offers a blend of delicacies from European, Mediterranean and Russian cuisine. Walking distance from the beach, with a nearby parking area, Baba Yaga opens its doors for couples, families, groups, and events of up to 100 people in a decorated garden scenario, keeping the uncompromising quality of its exciting dishes. Under the conducting of the house chef, Maria Piznetz, the Baba Yaga kitchen works strictly with fresh materials, offering a perfect mixture of deliciousEuropeancuisine and the overall atmosphere to match your dining experience.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived there for the live music and Russian food. The music was nice very quiet almost not noticeable..The first courses were big and good enough. The " foccacia " was not good. We would rather have plain bread...The main courses were very small and overpriced specially the pilmeni....and it took them a long time to arrive " one after the other " . We had a nice waiter who kept apologizing for the delay... The owner should have reinforced the kitchen....Not bad but could be much better...

Thank sorella v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctartakovsky, Владелец at Baba Yaga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Sorella, Thank you for your review. You are always welcome in our restaurant Sincerely yours, Baba Yaga restaurant team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Excellent service!
Excellent red wines!
Live music on weekend nights!

Great food, but main courses were served not hot. Warm, but not hot.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DR_markb120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctartakovsky, Владелец at Baba Yaga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Mark, Thank you for your review. You are always welcome in our restaurant Sincerely yours, Baba Yaga restaurant team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Went there with a group of 5 on a day when the restaurant wasn't really packed at all. Unfortunately outside seating wasn't available that day, so we had a table inside where the atmosphere wasn't really comfy.
Food was decent but nothing special.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flkr313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctartakovsky, Владелец at Baba Yaga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear, Thank you for your review. Hope you will enjoy better next time in our restaurant. You are always welcome , Sincerely yours, Baba Yaga restaurant team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We had been to this restaurant before, and I remember thinking that the food had been rather overpriced (beef stroganoff inedible, pickles a disappointment, etc.) - except for the vareniki which we had enjoyed immensely. So when we went back to Tel Aviv, we decided to give the restaurant another try, but go for solely Russian/Ukrainian food instead as this seems good value for money.

The restaurant was quite empty on a Saturday evening. The outside garden is lovely when it is warm, but it was a chilly spring night, so we opted to be seated inside. The "inside" is not very pretty, a bit drab and depressing, and there was a faint smell of dog (or cat) in the air which I did not find appetising at all. The owner's(?) children were running around and playing in the guestroom for a considerable time, and there were also two cats wandering about during the entire length of our visit.

The waiter was friendly, although a bit too chatty for my taste, and he seemed a little miffed that we went for the rather affordable soups as starters and only ordered the vareniki as main course. He did not try to upsell us, though, otherwise I'd have deducted another star.

The food arrived rather quickly, and was rather nice. Previous comments remarked that the meat had been cooked down to individual fibres, and that was indeed the case, but I personally enjoyed it that way. The disappointing part was the bread that was served with the soup, thin limp store-bought slices. A restaurant of this calibre should definitely be preparing its own bread.
The vareniki were very nice, I can't fault them.

The big "surprise" came at the end - a very considerable service charge that did not even seem to be a percentage of the price charged for food and drinks. The service charge is not communicated beforehand, and it is definitely excessive.

All in all, we did enjoy the Russian/Ukrainian dishes in this restaurant, but are not keen on the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Niris_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctartakovsky, Владелец at Baba Yaga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Niris, Thank you for your review. You are always welcome in our restaurant. Hope you will enjoy better next time in our place, Sincerely yours, Baba Yaga restaurant team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Everything was outstanding, two of f us had salmon, which was delicious; one had lamb which was wonderful; I went Russian, which was really a treat. Atmosphere was good and service was outstanding. We couldn't have made a better choice

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctartakovsky, Владелец at Baba Yaga, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you for your review. You are always welcome in our restaurant Sincerely yours, Baba Yaga restaurant team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baba Yaga also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Baba Yaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing