We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, poor standard.”
Review of The 7 Arches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The 7 Arches Hotel
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Stirling
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice location, poor standard.”
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This hotel was part of our package for Hajj and our visit to Jerusalem.
Hotel was in a nice location of mount of the olives or jabel e zaytun.
beautiful view of the city, from where allot of news reporters use as it has a fabulous view of the city and the Al-aqsa mosque(Dome of the Rock).
the rooms in very bad condition, no heating and the bathrooms were in poor conditions.
service was the ok.
Food wasn't too bad had a a ok selection for breakfast and dinner, not the best.
It looks like the hotel is still in the 60's, needs a good refurb.

I don't know what the cost would be as it was part of our package.
It had allot of mature customers from the US and Europe.
We stayed here for 4 nights with the group and only were in the hotel for breakfast and dinner and putting our heads down.
would i stay here again, yes if it had a refurbishment.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank araf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    14
    17
    8
See reviews for
13
13
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We have to remember that we are in another country, different culture for those that gave it less than great scores.
Actually, it wasn't 2006 that I stayed there, it was twice before, one in 2000-01 and 2003-04. Those dates weren't an option to pick.
The staff was very nice, the food was great, along with the wonderful view of what we came to see in the first place..... Israel.
I could have slept on a blanket in the street because I was thrilled to be in the land. I am glad we had the hotel instead. I think it was a very nice place and would love to go back. Also, the land is not called Palestine. It is Israel....... the land of Israel.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serdlc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, NJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Spent a few nights at the 7 Arches over Christmas. It's a fine place to stay, BUT travelers must know exactly what this hotel is. First - it's the former Inter Continental built on a Jewish cemetery during the time Jordan was in control of East Jerusalem. Second - it hasn't been touched since that time - furnishing are all from the mid- 1960's - clean but old. Third - it's in an Arab section of town and very difficult to get to the Western sections of the city. Fourth - the staff is terrific and very accomodating. Fifth - the food and restuarants are not kosher - the food is very good, but just be aware that Jewish dietary laws are not observed here. Sixth - no pool. Seventh - a fine place for Christian pilgrims - but a very poor choice for anyone else.

As I said - as long as travelers know what they're getting this can be a fine hotel and make a terrific base for a good trip to the Holy Land.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eilat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington (near Manchester)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I only stayed in Palestine for 2 days but I enjoyed my short stay there very much and it was mirrored by my time spent at the 7 Arches Hotel. I was satisfied with the standard of the hotel however I think that the service could have been improved.

I was told that you could recieve free two-pin adaptors from the reception but when I asked to recieve one inorder to charge my phone, I was told that it was too late at night and that I should try in the morning. When I did so in the morning, they told me they had run out of the adaptors! I was told by the Reception staff that I couldn't buy any in the local area and would have to go into the Old City. But because we had a tour planned for the day, I was not able to go into the Old City to buy myself an adaptor! The day after that was Friday and all of the shops in the Old City were closed! So I had walked around with a dead battery for 2 whole days and unfortunately couldnt record any videos of The Temple Mount or any of the other Sites I visited in Palestine.

However, despite the Adaptor Crisis, the staff of the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. But the most spectacular thing about the 7 Arches Hotel was it's location with magical and inspiring views of the Dome of The Rock and Masjid al Aqsa!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AccyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

OK.... so far the hotel isn't that bad, but the customer service is TERRIBLE.

For starters, who ever heard of charging $ 1 dollar a minute for calling a toll free line?!!?!!? God!! That simply made me mad. If you take this into account and the condecending tone of the shift manager, you get one horrible experiencie.

Yes, you have to take into consideration that for USD 70 (that's what I paid per night), you can't expect much. But after looking into the other prices within the hotel, that's where they hit you! Not in the accomodations but in everything else you might want to try.

Anyway, if your planning on staying (just to sleep in), its marginaly decent. Either way, please, do try to avoid it.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The fact that they want to charge you an arm and a leg for everything else.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling-guama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#55 of 99 in Jerusalem
121 reviews
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
#77 of 99 in Jerusalem
161 reviews
American Colony
Ritz Hotel
Ritz Hotel
#53 of 99 in Jerusalem
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#34 of 99 in Jerusalem
644 reviews
Christian Quarter
Addar Hotel
Addar Hotel
#87 of 99 in Jerusalem
271 reviews
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem
#50 of 99 in Jerusalem
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 7 Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 7 Arches Hotel

Property: The 7 Arches Hotel
Address: Mount of Olives Place | PO Box 19585, Jerusalem 91190, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 99 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price range (per night): $102 - $197
Hotel Class:3 star — The 7 Arches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Seven Arches Jerusalem is the southern slopes of the Mount of Olives, not far from the Mount Scopus and looks out from the west, at the Old City of Jerusalem with perhaps one of the more beautiful, most inspiring views of living ancient history in the world. To the north, the hotel overlooks the backdrop of the hills of Bethlehem surrounded by large Green Garden. In an effort to better serve our guests, Hotel Seven Arches is proud to announce that our renovation project is now in its final stages, and will be completed in one month. Your stay will now be even more enhanced by the upgraded rooms, restaurants, and lobby area. Our rooms freshly renovated in 2016, few of them with the best view of Jerusalem, now offer modernized, convenient features. Rooms are completely refurbished from carpet to curtains, furniture to fixtures, while the bathrooms are newly refreshed with all new bathroom hardware, lighting and mirrors. Hotel Seven Arches is a short distance from the ancient historical and religious sites of the Holy City and is the perfect base for excursions to Bethlehem, Jericho, Masada, Galilee and beyond. Transportation from Ben Gurion International in Tel-Aviv to the hotel is 50Km (31-60 min. by taxi), and from the hotel to the city center of Jerusalem is 3 km (2-5min. by taxi). Official languages are Arabic and English, Hebrew is widely spoken, and many speak French, German, and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The 7 Arches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Arches Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing