We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveller rating
930
258
86
36
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
930
258
86
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar bar east jerusalem pasha room palm house lawrence of arabia leading hotels of the world damascus gate old city call to prayer main building historic hotel garden restaurant modern amenities junior suite wonderful hotel nice pool an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018

The service is the best, whether in serving a meal or arranging a tour. The rooms are lovely, well-appointed, and evocative of another time, especially the original ones. Beautiful pool. Easy walking into the Old City. Fabulous breakfast in a gorgeous setting. We love having dinner in the garden, too.

Room tip: Spend a little extra to get a room in the original facility.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Floridagirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

This is an outstanding place to stay, first class in every way. The setting has an old world charm (and mystery), the food was excellent, and the staff solicitous in all respects. It is not inexpensive but the value of the experience was beyond measure. The Assistant Maitre’d Jihad Barakat was particularly warm and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

This hotel was chosen by the travel company who put together my itinerary - and I was really glad they did! This is a tranquil setting away from the hubbub of Jerusalem. It also fitted the bill (for me) as an historic hotel with a strong link to the past. The pull and reputation has lead to an impressive guest list of authors, actors, musicians and political heavyweights over the years (see the board in reception). 10 min walk to the old town makes it very well situated and easy to retreat to at the end of the day. Had a particularly impressive meal in the garden grill restaurant - the dessert (Moelleux au Chocolat) was amaaaaazing (takes 20 mins to prep but worth the wait). Service quality excellent. My room (in the block where the bookshop is) was splendid; stylish furnished and spacious, Only one thing lacking was a bar or bar area in the hotel just to relax with a drink - maybe enjoy a pre-dinner beer or a nightcap. They have a 'Cave Bar' but it was closed all the time I was there (4 days) which was a pity as it looked really cool. There was also a Brasserie facing the pool, also closed. This was odd as it was high season for tourists and, if not now, when would they ever be open!?

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derekholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

This hotel is amazing. If you choose not to stay there, please go and visit the beautiful hotel to see what you missed. Amazing history!Short walk to the Damascus Gate. Great breakfast and beautiful outdoor restaurant.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank karmelm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

On arrival we were upgraded to a penthouse suite as we were staying 3 nights and the hotel full. We had to wait a little while for our room but the complimentary champagne helped pass the time. In fact we The had lunch in the garden. Nice top floor room with small balcony and steam room! Very comfortable bed. Outdoor pool was nice and warm and a good length. Didn’t use the gym but if also looked well equipped.
A 15 minute stroll got you to the Old Town Damascus hate and it was a safe walk. We are in each night and only required a single course so chose a regional dish and these were superb and great value. Wine by the 25cl carafe was better value than by the glass (for some unknown reason) so stuck with ordering our own individual carafes. Staff were very attentive apart from one night when it took ages to get our bill. Well worth a visit. The Palestinian fraught beer was also excellent BTW.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews