We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Addar Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Olive Tree Hotel(Jerusalem)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Christmas Hotel(Jerusalem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Legacy Hotel(Jerusalem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ritz Hotel(Jerusalem)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
48
84
74
32
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
84
74
32
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdamascus gateold citypita breadfour stardecent breakfastlarge bathroomhotel is locatedyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at the Addar for our first visit to Israel and Jerusalem. The rooms were nice and provided the essentials for our stay. We were within walking distance of the Old City and many of the attractions around the City. The room had two separate areas, a sitting room and a bedroom. We had an extra bed in the sitting room that was just a cot but it was comfortable and everything was clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I like it very much)))Location, stuff, food...People were friendly and kind. Love this city and people. Wanna stay here again. My family also like it. And I like oriental breakfast there. Near 24 shop which was helpful on shabbut

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nastya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

good breakfast, location, reception- man is excellent!abraham
there are balcony in the rooms.near to damaskus gate and public transport.recomend to traveler..............................................

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 1974Sava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at the Addar Hotel on our first trip to Jerusalem, and the hotel was fine. It's in the Muslim area of the city, and it's very close to the old city. It was less than a 10 minute walk to Damascus Gate. Our room was very large, with two separate areas (a living room and separate bedroom). It had a small kitchenette, which we really didn't use, but it may be helpful for families. It had two balconies, and it was nice to go out for a few minutes and just relax. The hotel in general is older, but it was clean and well maintained. At least for us, internet connection was a bit difficult from the room. I had to stand right next to the door, or use it in the hotel lobby. Behind the Addar are two very large hotels, which are by far the largest in the neighborhood. The front desk was great, and fluent in English. They reserved most of the guided tours we took (they called the travel agency and facilitated the transaction). We took the day trips to the Dead Sea, to Nazareth and the Jordan River, and we even took the day trip to Petra, Jordan. The only trip we took on our own was to Bethlehem. We took the bus just outside Damascus gate, and it's a short 20 minute bus ride. The neighborhood is fine, and we felt safe walking even at night. We did witness some harassment, but it was Muslim youth harassing Jews. We stood out as tourists, I believe, and everyone was very nice to us. The entire country is fluent in English, and we met a lot of tourists traveling alone even.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We specifically wanted a hotel with personal, friendly service, where both parents and teenagers would get the attention and help we might want and need, in a traditional Palestinian atmosphere and within walking distance of the Old City. Precisely those disciplines are those where this hotel shows its excellence throughout, and we are certainly very happy with our fourteen days there!

The architecture, internal decorating and furnishings are beautiful, though worn. When something breaks down, it is mended quickly and with all kind concern from the staff, but apart from that, things don't seem to get mended or replaced just because they have been damaged or worn. And with the amount of buses and coaches passing outside, dusting and vacuum cleaning will never keep up with the dust and dirt in the air, regardless how many and how energetic the cleaners are...

Breakfast was nice with a lovely selection of fresh juices and Palestinian delicacies, again, all served with charming friendliness and warmth. However, we had expected, and wanted, lots of fresh fruits in the Middle East, and would have welcomed a greater variation from day to day.

The cooking plates and the fridge in the rooms were our rescue, together with most helpful advice from the hotel receptionists on what to get from what shops in the neighbourhood. Although the surrounding area looked rather sad and neglected, we felt warmly welcome wherever we went, and even small shops were surprisingly well stocked with cooking utensils, food and fruit as well as more specialised photo equipment. A wide range of interesting, small, very friendly restaurants are within walking distance.

All in all, the receptionists in particular, but all staff members also, took care of all four of us in a wonderful way, offering guidance when they noticed that we might venture out on to something impractical or unnecessarily expensive, and taking full responsibility for their work.

For travellers, who value personal care and fascinating conversations in traditional Middle East surroundings more than factory new equipment, this is your choice in Israel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunnar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews