We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A Little House in Bakah
Ranked #32 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Location is fair in a mostly residential area. Rooms are very small, but nice and clean.
Breakfast in the adjoining restaurant is nice but not extensive. It is a decent walk to
any attractions such as the Old City. Average hotel, probably can do better unless you
want to be in that area

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doc4cn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for A Little House in Bakah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 309 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

I found the pictures of the room a little misleading. Don't get me wrong, it's a clean hotel, but the rooms are much older than they look. Other than that, from this hotel, you're in walking distance to the Old City and you're near bus route, if you can read Hebrew that is. It's also in walking distance of a tiny grocery store as well.

Can't beat the location. The staff there was very friendly and they speak English which really does help. Wi-Fi was available for free too.

I would gvie it 5 stars but the restaraunt next to it was quite pricy. But I do plan on going back here when I return to Israel and I recomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Bring lots of money, Jerusalem is not cheap. The rooms here are adequate, don't expect HDTV'...
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank matthaumschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Some people thrive on a city's noise, traffic and energy. For the budget traveller who visits Jerusalem but who doesn't want to endure the noise, this is the place. Located outside the city, at the edge of Jerusalem's up-and-coming trendy neighborhood of Bakah, it's a little oasis. The adjacent restaurant and patio are great for relaxing after pounding the pavement of Jerusalem. As a jogger I was thrilled with nearby "trails" (the bike path that splits Bakah with the German Colony; Yehuda St. simply going East turns into a path that borders the "Peace Forest" and offers extraordinary views. That jog will go past the UN headquarters, and UN staff stay at Little House frequently, adding to the Intl. feel. Thriving and vibrant streets Beith Lechem and Emek Refaim are in walking distance. You can walk to the old city if you're in good condition, or take a taxi or bus. My only issue with this place is that (and as per other posters) the building's plumbing is in serious need of an upgrade and consequently some rooms' bathrooms smell like mold. I eventually had to change rooms as a result.

Room Tip: Travel during non-peak season!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LightSweetCrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

It's a nice place to stay. Good service, clean and comfortable rooms, good location (though you'd better get a car, because is quite far away from the main Jerusalem attractions), but... they could serve a better breakfast. The food was not good, neither the service at dining room (which was not a real dining room, but a dirty and dark corner at the end of the neighbor bar)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rydanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Shalom Ladies,
What looked really bad was the bad paintwork. The painter had not used masking tape, and consequently there was lots of paint on the stone and windows. It looks awful, and it was the first thing that I noticed in the entrance.
The building has character and could look attractive, but the finish was very poor.
What a pity, as it looks very third world.
In the restaurant, the chrome, paper tissue containers on the tables were filthy, and had not been cleaned in years. We would have eaten there, but looking at the paper tissue containers was frightening.
Basically, the hotel needs to employ a professional, from abroad, who really knows how to run a hotel.


Byeeeeeeeee,
Ron

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taxi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdedNiv, Owner at A Little House in Bakah, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Guest,

While we take our guests feedback and comments seriously, I find your comment a bit odd.
The two small things that bothered you were a few drops of paint on a window and a paper dispenser.

Our hotel is located in a beautiful Ottoman building which gives it a historical charm.
We paint the building very often, therefore sometimes there might be a few drops of paint on a stone.
It is only due to the high maintenance of the building.

Regarding the napkin dispenser at the restaurant, I agree that it should be clean daily.

I simply find it hard to believe that these two minor things made your stay unpleasant.
Our rooms at the hotel are clean, the restaurant servers great food and we have a helpful staff that I'm sure would've be glad to assist you.

Best Regards,
Oded Niv, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Arcadia Ba'Moshava Jerusalem
#3 of 101 in Jerusalem
426 reviews
City Center Jerusalem
#28 of 101 in Jerusalem
610 reviews
Nachla'ot
Little House In Rechavia
Little House In Rechavia
#47 of 101 in Jerusalem
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#35 of 101 in Jerusalem
470 reviews
Hillel 11
#46 of 101 in Jerusalem
376 reviews
Eldan Hotel
#33 of 101 in Jerusalem
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little House in Bakah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little House in Bakah

Address: 1 Yehuda, Jerusalem 9362723, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#20 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: $117 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Little House in Bakah 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little House in Bakah - where being small is a big advantage. It has 34 comfortable rooms, is fully air-conditioned and serves a full breakfast. It is a unique, Ottoman style renovated mansion, with arches and columns and beautifully arched windows. The house is surrounded by a large garden that has many inviting corners under beautiful old pine trees. We have free wireless internet access. Little House in Bakah gives you a great opportunity to experience Jerusalem at its best. Free parking can be found on the streets surronding the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A Little House in Bakah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Little House In Bakah Hotel Jerusalem
a Little Hotel In Bakah
a Little Jerusalem
Little House Bakah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing