We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great staff, great night”
Review of The Eucalyptus

The Eucalyptus
Ranked #18 of 839 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Authentic Biblical cuisine using wild herbs that celebrate innovation and ancient recipes. Located at the beginning of the New Artist Colony not far from the Old City, 5 minute walk from the Mamilla shopping corridor. The restaurant is not accessible for those with mobility handicap The restaurant does not have handicap restrooms The restaurant is in a historically preserved building and this is the reason for lack of accessibility
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Dined alone at Eucalyptus and was convinced by my waitress to go for the tasting menu. So glad she did. The food was simply awesome. Such wonderful variety so beautifully presented and the flavours were amazing. Highlights included the roast cauliflower, the eggplant, the mallard breast (had never had mallard before) and the ceviche. Sitting outside and grazing for hours was wonderful. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and made sure I had a wonderful night even dining on my own.

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank 495lieslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 903 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2016

This is definitely one of the best restaurants I have been to in jerusalem. The service here will make you forget you are in israel. We arrived, and were quickly seated in the outside section on the beautiful artist colony street. The waiter then noticed we were chilly and she brought us blankets! The food came more than quickly, even though the restaurant was definitely busy indoors. The food was really delicious, some of the most gourmet food you'll find in jerusalem. The presentation was pretty as well. If that wasn't enough, the waitress brought us an appetizer, as well as tea after the meal and a second dessert in addition to the one we ordered, all on the house. Only thing to bear in mind is that this is a pricier restaurant, and the portions are smaller (as is to be expected). Overall: Must recommend.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Akiva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2016

This must rate as one of the best restaurants in Jerusalem - the food was highly original and tasted wonderful and we had the option of sitting outside overlooking the
historic Jerusalem. The staff were on hand throughout the meal and Executive Chef, Moshe Basson, came out and chatted to guests....

Julia Stanton

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank juliasQ7098VO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing experience, very special, delicious and beautiful adventure.

Places in a perfect location, facing the historical Jerusalem walls.
Everything is cooked and made at the spot.
This is a must visit restaurant in Israel.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank danelj2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Having read lots of positive reviews, we tried the Shir Shirim tasting menu. It was OK - 3 cold starters, three hot starters, three mains and a dessert platter. There was certainly enough food - can't imagine how people get through the larger tasting menus. But really only one or two dishes were memorable and probably only one that I would order again.
Compared to other meals out in Jerusalem, it was expensive. On the plus side the staff were enthusiastic and attentive and the chef came out to speak to us. By the way, the 15% service charge is now included in the bill.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnnieLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Eucalyptus also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Eucalyptus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.