We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Selcuk”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is exactly the sort of place I love to stay when traveling in a new country. It is right in the middle of the "real" town, and an easy walk to the restaurants in the center. You get to experience a little of the neighborhood life -- a little boy at a school down the street came out to practice his English with us, kids playing soccer, ladies sitting on their porches chatting in the afternoon. But the hotel itself is a little oasis in dusty Selcuk, with a gorgeous walled yard and lovely pool (the kids were SO happy). We were a large party - 13 people in 4 rooms - and all of our rooms were just fine, very large, with plenty of space for kids, luggage, spreading out and taking a rest. Our very favorite part was the roof deck, with amazing views. We were only there one night, unfortunately, because we would have had dinner there again. The multi-course meal was just fantastic and very authentic-feeling. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobileTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 238 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed here in the last 9 years but the 1st under this new owner.
I returned here as it is such a great location and you can walk to the town in minutes.
The rooms, aircon, breakfast on the roof terrace and the pool are all great especially in this price range.
The owner used to be a travel agent so he has all sorts of information at his fingertips.
My husband & I were going to travel 10-11 hrs on the bus to get back to Istanbul. The day before leaving, he booked us a flight to Istanbul and it only cost us 20TL more than the bus ticket!!
Nothing is too much trouble for this host and we would recommend his hotel in a heartbeat.
I apologise to him for the delay in writing this review as we stayed in June 2012.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Ilker, the owner, met us at the bus depot and swiftly drove us back for a beautiful swim after a hot day travelling. His English was excellent, and although his in-laws had no English, they were very friendly and helpful. Ilker is a very efficient and knowledgeable manager, but please note that he accepts only cash for payment but there is a cash machine not far away.The rooms were totally adequate and sleep was easy after the locals had gone to sleep at about 11:00pm. This hotel is an easy walk to the centre of the town but a taxi is needed to get to the Ephesus top entrance (Cheap from memory). We opted for meals at the hotel and these were fine and good value. A good place to stay while visiting the wonders of Ephesus. Note: be wary of "archaeologists" who happen to be not working that day and have discovered an ancient coin that they just happen to have for sale.....

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrisHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Pretty ordinary kind of hotel but well placed for the sites in Selcuk and Ephesus and the owner was wonderfully helpful. Great advice on when and where to go and how to get there- even offering to drive us to Ephesus so that he could drop us off at one gate and pick us up at the other. Good food, rooms etc. The small pool and garden were lovely to cool off in in the afternoon.
Fit for purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We chose Hotel Nazar after seeing two other hotels (all with good reviews on Trip Advisor) on arrival in Selcuk one evening in Sept without reservations. We parked our rental car, and walked around town looking at the hotels we had read about. We chose Hotel Nazar based on its location (down a small side street off the main road through town, close to everything – we could park right next to the building), very reasonable price, nice people, garden pool, and comfortable bright room (rooms in the other hotels we saw were dark, we found). Ilker (a former tour operator with excellent English) kindly drove us to pick up our rental car back in town, to show us exactly how best to drive to the hotel and where to park our car. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable, with AC, a balcony, and two comfortable twin beds (which were pushed together for us), and a bathroom with a good shower.The street outside the hotel gets very loud with voices (especially children playing) in the evening, but quiets down by 11PM it seems. Wifi worked perfectly in the room. We enjoyed the pool after a hot day of visiting ruins and walking around town. We opted to have dinner our first night up on the hotel’s rooftop, which they offer for 10 Euro per person (for several courses – meze, soup, salad, main, and fruit). It was so good, and such a nice setting, that we chose to do the same the next night (we noticed that other guests did the same). Excellent food, nice service from nice people, and a nice night-time view of the town and hilltop castle in the distance. We really liked this little hotel, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 km away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.4 km away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1 km away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#11 of 34 in Selcuk
764 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 34 in Selcuk
240 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $62 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing