We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I loved this hotel. We stayed here for two nights and was delighted with aspect of this hotel. We arranged a pick up from the Izmir airport from them and was personally escorted by Murat.

We did save some money by getting the smaller room but we felt it was fine for the two of us.

Pros:
Location - close to the main town area and the bus stop
Staff! Very helpful, willing to drive us to the sites (though we already scheduled a private tour so we didn't use this service)
BREAKFAST! The typical Turkish breakfast of cucumbers, tomatos (so good), cheeses, olives and breads served to you. But also EGGS made to order as well as yogurt and oats. Served on their upstair terrace that was so peaceful and relaxing with an amazing view
Price, very reasonable
Bathroom - normal bathroom with shower and toilet separated (many B&Bs/hostels have the toilet and shower in the same space)

Cons:
Bed were hard

Feel very confident staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 369 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel was nice and well taken care of by a father/son duo. They were very nice and helpful--arranged for a guide to Ephesus, provided great breakfasts and gave advice on places to eat.

The accommodations were simple--we ended up upgrading our room so we could have more space. It felt a little overpriced for the space and the location--not far from town, only a few blocks but also not near much.

The pool, patio and roof deck were nice but the hotel was nearly empty when we stayed there so there wasn't much going on (they would have served us dinner on the roof deck, but they would have been cooking specifically for us, which we felt weird about). Plus there are plenty of great places in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agdouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This pension hotel offers much more than a delightful building near the center of Selcuk: brothers Osman and Asim create the feeling of a home away from home. After a day or two you feel like part of the family--including the 'family' of other travelers you meet on the rooftop for breakfast (and lunch and dinner, if you want). The food is great, the walled garden with a swimming pool is a plus, and the brothers know the best company for a PMD tour (Priene, Miletus, Didyma--Greek and Roman sites hard to reach without a car) with a wonderfully knowledgeable guide. Whatever my question, they had a helpful answer--including help with wheeling my luggage to the train station because I had a problem with my knee. And the hotel is only a five minutes' or so walk to either the bus or the train station.

While most American tourists come to nearby Ephesus on huge cruise ships, being bussed in and out of that famous Roman ruin, they miss the charm of Selcuk, its Saturday market, its hamam (Turkish bath), its storks (and stork nests high on ancient pillars in the town center), and its excellent museum. I loved sitting on the hotel rooftop in the evening, watching the walled fort high on the hill or staring over town rooftops into the distance, and seeing the storks fly by with food for their nestlings.

If you want clean functional accommodations, a wonderful family atmosphere, great home-cooked food and views, a 45-minute walk (or a free ride) to Ephesus, and even a small bookcase of English books that various travelers have left behind, stay at the Nazar Hotel. I high recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint.
The room we had at the family run hotel was spotless and their Owners made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay at Selcuk.
Bed was comfy and the bathroom was in near new condition. Bar soap is provided. Simple yet appetizing Turkish breakfast is provided.
They provided free shuttle to Ephesus and also to the bus station when we were leaving. They always responded to our request positively with a smile.
It was a leisurely 10 min walk to the bus station. The weekend market was held in the same vicinity.

Look no further for an affordable yet warm stay in the charming town of Selcuk. Highly recommended and thanks to Osman for making our trip at Selcuk memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastMeetWest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The hotel was booked for us by an agency, and we were very pleased with their choice. Room was small but very comfortable, with a small balcony. The family who run the hotel are all very friendly and helpful, and the home-cooked meals they serve on the rooftop terrace are so good we ate there every night - there was good variety in the nightly fixed menu. They were also by helpful when there were some glitches in the hotel pickups arranged by the tour company, offering to drive us to the bus station. They have computers available, but the Turkish keyboard is a challenge! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 km away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.4 km away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1 km away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#8 of 34 in Selcuk
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#11 of 34 in Selcuk
764 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 34 in Selcuk
240 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $62 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing