We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveller rating
435
160
35
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
160
35
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe busturkeyroof terraceturkish breakfastalperselmastationephesusizmirruinsolives
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 645 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel was nice and well taken care of by a father/son duo. They were very nice and helpful--arranged for a guide to Ephesus, provided great breakfasts and gave advice on places to eat.

The accommodations were simple--we ended up upgrading our room so we could have more space. It felt a little overpriced for the space and the location--not far from town, only a few blocks but also not near much.

The pool, patio and roof deck were nice but the hotel was nearly empty when we stayed there so there wasn't much going on (they would have served us dinner on the roof deck, but they would have been cooking specifically for us, which we felt weird about). Plus there are plenty of great places in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agdouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This pension hotel offers much more than a delightful building near the center of Selcuk: brothers Osman and Asim create the feeling of a home away from home. After a day or two you feel like part of the family--including the 'family' of other travelers you meet on the rooftop for breakfast (and lunch and dinner, if you want). The food is great, the walled garden with a swimming pool is a plus, and the brothers know the best company for a PMD tour (Priene, Miletus, Didyma--Greek and Roman sites hard to reach without a car) with a wonderfully knowledgeable guide. Whatever my question, they had a helpful answer--including help with wheeling my luggage to the train station because I had a problem with my knee. And the hotel is only a five minutes' or so walk to either the bus or the train station.

While most American tourists come to nearby Ephesus on huge cruise ships, being bussed in and out of that famous Roman ruin, they miss the charm of Selcuk, its Saturday market, its hamam (Turkish bath), its storks (and stork nests high on ancient pillars in the town center), and its excellent museum. I loved sitting on the hotel rooftop in the evening, watching the walled fort high on the hill or staring over town rooftops into the distance, and seeing the storks fly by with food for their nestlings.

If you want clean functional accommodations, a wonderful family atmosphere, great home-cooked food and views, a 45-minute walk (or a free ride) to Ephesus, and even a small bookcase of English books that various travelers have left behind, stay at the Nazar Hotel. I high recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Booked this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and it did not disappoint.
The room we had at the family run hotel was spotless and their Owners made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay at Selcuk.
Bed was comfy and the bathroom was in near new condition. Bar soap is provided. Simple yet appetizing Turkish breakfast is provided.
They provided free shuttle to Ephesus and also to the bus station when we were leaving. They always responded to our request positively with a smile.
It was a leisurely 10 min walk to the bus station. The weekend market was held in the same vicinity.

Look no further for an affordable yet warm stay in the charming town of Selcuk. Highly recommended and thanks to Osman for making our trip at Selcuk memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastMeetWest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The hotel was booked for us by an agency, and we were very pleased with their choice. Room was small but very comfortable, with a small balcony. The family who run the hotel are all very friendly and helpful, and the home-cooked meals they serve on the rooftop terrace are so good we ate there every night - there was good variety in the nightly fixed menu. They were also by helpful when there were some glitches in the hotel pickups arranged by the tour company, offering to drive us to the bus station. They have computers available, but the Turkish keyboard is a challenge! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at Nazar Hotel from April 30 to May 4, 2012
Very nice with a beautiful walled garden, swimming pool and roof top terrace (great views) for breakfast and dinner (if you like). Rooms are basic, functional and very clean - just what we were looking for.
Very nice hospitable and helpful family. Brothers Osman and Asim and their families do a great job. A young boy family member (about 5 or 6 years old) brought us our yogurt at breakfast and very shyly practiced his English by saying good morning. He was wonderful and reminded us of grandchildren.
Was thinking about renting a car in Izmir but I decided to use the pick up and drop off at the airport service that they offer and that was a plus since a free shuttle to the Ephesus site is available. Selcuk is very walkable.
All in all a perfect introduction to Turkey outside Istanbul and Ankara.

Room Tip: Neighborhood seemed pretty quiet after dark so any room is probably okay.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantimotaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews