We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Run Hotel”
Review of Hotel Nazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nazar
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Selcuk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at Nazar Hotel from April 30 to May 4, 2012
Very nice with a beautiful walled garden, swimming pool and roof top terrace (great views) for breakfast and dinner (if you like). Rooms are basic, functional and very clean - just what we were looking for.
Very nice hospitable and helpful family. Brothers Osman and Asim and their families do a great job. A young boy family member (about 5 or 6 years old) brought us our yogurt at breakfast and very shyly practiced his English by saying good morning. He was wonderful and reminded us of grandchildren.
Was thinking about renting a car in Izmir but I decided to use the pick up and drop off at the airport service that they offer and that was a plus since a free shuttle to the Ephesus site is available. Selcuk is very walkable.
All in all a perfect introduction to Turkey outside Istanbul and Ankara.

Room Tip: Neighborhood seemed pretty quiet after dark so any room is probably okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantimotaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 374 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were referred to the Hotel Nazar by a couple that we met in Istanbul. We were a little unsure when we booked the room considering how cheap it was. It was beautiful. We arranged to have the staff, all family of course, pick us up from the airport for a very reasonable rate. Our room was basic, but very clean and comfortable. The gardens were beautiful and the pool was clean. The whole garden pool area looked like it was out of a magazine. Next to the pool in her house you can find the sweetest dog Alice. She loves attention. We had a delicious dinner for very cheap on the roof top terrace as well as the included breakfast. The food was very good. The stay also includes free transportation to Ephesus. The great part about this was that they would take you as soon as you were done breakfast. We got there before all of the crowds and really enjoyed taking pictures at the library with no one else in them. The hotel is in a great location, close to other ruins as well as the bus station and shopping markets. We were really impressed and would go back to the Hotel Nazar in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateZimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our family of four stayed two nights sightseeing in the area. Driving up to the hotel we weren't sure if we made a mistake booking as the area seemed more residential. After walking in we were relieved. Very clean hotel with great courtyard and pool. Family Room was very large and the four of us had plenty of room. Osman told us that it used to be two separate rooms before they renovated the hotel. We were very comfortable and had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We wouldn't recommend the hotel restaurant. There are better nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The two brothers who run this hotel are so accomodating. We arrived late at the hotel our first night and he asked if we were hungry. Starving! He rang the kitchen, although they had just closed and said that they will have dinner for us in 10 minutes. The room was spacious, clean and a great location. The roof top resteraunt served a great included breakfast. The owner drove us to Ephesus and dropped us off.

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

From the moment we walked in, Osman welcomed us like we were family. He gave us a tour of the hotel and took pride in keeping everything impeccable from the courtyard pool to the rooftop terrace. The triple room we had was simply decorated but everything was extremely clean. The newly renovated bathroom was immaculate, as well. We also had a small balcony where we were able to unwind and relax.

Both breakfast and dinner were served on the rooftop terrace. Breakfast was filling and was included in the room rate. We were served a selection of yogurts, olives, cheeses, cold cuts and fruits plus the eggs were cooked to order. The delicious five course home-cooked dinner at 20 TL per person was a nice treat. It made us feel like we were eating at grandma’s house. The selection varied each day and consisted of a salad, a couple of appetizers, soup, entrée and dessert. This is an option available and not forced on their clientele. I highly recommend it though. We enjoyed not only the food but also being catered to by Murat who took pleasure in serving us and all the other guests. As an added treat, for two nights, we had spectacular views of fireworks on the terrace after the soccer team won.

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of town and is walking distance to the Basilica of St. John, the Temple of Artemis, the otogar, and the train station. Ephesus is accessible by the shuttle provided by Hotel Nazar or it could be a good 45-minute walk should you decide to go this route. Groceries, ATMs, restaurants and bakeries are all in the immediate area.

Everybody at Hotel Nazar was more than hospitable to our family. They all made sure we enjoyed our stay. Osman is always available to help you plan your itinerary and schedule airport transfers and tours. He even took time out of his busy schedule to sit and chat with us while we were waiting in the lobby for our tour bus.

After settling our bill, we hauled our luggage and walked to the bus stop. Within minutes, Asim, riding his bike, caught up to us and apologized for not having had the chance to say goodbye. He gave us a hug and asked us to visit again when we return to Turkey. Now, that is a class act!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl09NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selcuk hotels
0.3 km away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#6 of 34 in Selcuk
530 reviews
0.4 km away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1 km away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#11 of 34 in Selcuk
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Bella
Hotel Bella
#10 of 34 in Selcuk
764 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Akay
Hotel Akay
#19 of 34 in Selcuk
240 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kalehan
Hotel Kalehan
#13 of 34 in Selcuk
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazar

Address: Isabey Mah. Sehit Polis Metin Tavaslioglu Cad. No:34 | Selcuk - Izmir, Selcuk 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Selcuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Selcuk
#1 Family Hotel in Selcuk
Price Range: $61 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazar Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing