We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
434
160
35
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
160
35
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe busturkeyroof terraceturkish breakfastalperselmastationephesusizmirruinsolives
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were referred to the Hotel Nazar by a couple that we met in Istanbul. We were a little unsure when we booked the room considering how cheap it was. It was beautiful. We arranged to have the staff, all family of course, pick us up from the airport for a very reasonable rate. Our room was basic, but very clean and comfortable. The gardens were beautiful and the pool was clean. The whole garden pool area looked like it was out of a magazine. Next to the pool in her house you can find the sweetest dog Alice. She loves attention. We had a delicious dinner for very cheap on the roof top terrace as well as the included breakfast. The food was very good. The stay also includes free transportation to Ephesus. The great part about this was that they would take you as soon as you were done breakfast. We got there before all of the crowds and really enjoyed taking pictures at the library with no one else in them. The hotel is in a great location, close to other ruins as well as the bus station and shopping markets. We were really impressed and would go back to the Hotel Nazar in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateZimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Our family of four stayed two nights sightseeing in the area. Driving up to the hotel we weren't sure if we made a mistake booking as the area seemed more residential. After walking in we were relieved. Very clean hotel with great courtyard and pool. Family Room was very large and the four of us had plenty of room. Osman told us that it used to be two separate rooms before they renovated the hotel. We were very comfortable and had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We wouldn't recommend the hotel restaurant. There are better nearby.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The two brothers who run this hotel are so accomodating. We arrived late at the hotel our first night and he asked if we were hungry. Starving! He rang the kitchen, although they had just closed and said that they will have dinner for us in 10 minutes. The room was spacious, clean and a great location. The roof top resteraunt served a great included breakfast. The owner drove us to Ephesus and dropped us off.

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

From the moment we walked in, Osman welcomed us like we were family. He gave us a tour of the hotel and took pride in keeping everything impeccable from the courtyard pool to the rooftop terrace. The triple room we had was simply decorated but everything was extremely clean. The newly renovated bathroom was immaculate, as well. We also had a small balcony where we were able to unwind and relax.

Both breakfast and dinner were served on the rooftop terrace. Breakfast was filling and was included in the room rate. We were served a selection of yogurts, olives, cheeses, cold cuts and fruits plus the eggs were cooked to order. The delicious five course home-cooked dinner at 20 TL per person was a nice treat. It made us feel like we were eating at grandma’s house. The selection varied each day and consisted of a salad, a couple of appetizers, soup, entrée and dessert. This is an option available and not forced on their clientele. I highly recommend it though. We enjoyed not only the food but also being catered to by Murat who took pleasure in serving us and all the other guests. As an added treat, for two nights, we had spectacular views of fireworks on the terrace after the soccer team won.

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of town and is walking distance to the Basilica of St. John, the Temple of Artemis, the otogar, and the train station. Ephesus is accessible by the shuttle provided by Hotel Nazar or it could be a good 45-minute walk should you decide to go this route. Groceries, ATMs, restaurants and bakeries are all in the immediate area.

Everybody at Hotel Nazar was more than hospitable to our family. They all made sure we enjoyed our stay. Osman is always available to help you plan your itinerary and schedule airport transfers and tours. He even took time out of his busy schedule to sit and chat with us while we were waiting in the lobby for our tour bus.

After settling our bill, we hauled our luggage and walked to the bus stop. Within minutes, Asim, riding his bike, caught up to us and apologized for not having had the chance to say goodbye. He gave us a hug and asked us to visit again when we return to Turkey. Now, that is a class act!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl09NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was a great place to stay. The service was fantastic..we booked well in advance based on trip advisor recommendations. Osman responded very promptly to my emails and collected us from the train station in Izmir ( about an hours drive) at a very reasonable cost when shared among three of us. (There is a bus/train connection as well ) For a budget pension the swimming pool and courtyard would be such a bonus in summer. We had good rooms, mine had a view of the castle and was quiet and clean and yes as others have said excellent to have a proper separate shower. Breakfast was fine and on the first day we were offered a complementary lift to Ephesus by a local carpet store owner ( about 3 k away). Osman also kindly took me to the site early one morning on his way to an appointment.

There are a number of excellent restaurants in Selcuk, but I noticed that the hotel could provide an evening meal which would be a bonus if you had young children.

We stayed four nights..there is a lot to do. Unfortunately we did not get to see the the famous Isa Bey Camii mosque, as it appeared to be closed. but the side trip to Sirence on the local bus was fun. Osman helped us organise a tour to other roman ruins..including Priene.

Room Tip: As always communication goes a long way. Osman speak excellent English and possibly other languages besides ..let him know what you are looking for..there is a good choice from smaller to larger rooms. I had an upstairs room with a fab view of the citadel.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozsolo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews