We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A View to a Kill”
Review of Sunset Grill & Bar

Sunset Grill & Bar
Reserve with
Sunset Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #246 of 14,689 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 49
Cuisines: Japanese, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Besiktas
Description: Open since 1994, Sunset is one of the leading fine dining restaurant in Istanbul.Located on a hilltop in Ulus Park in the European side Istanbul, the restaurant has a spectacular view of the Bosphorus and the Bosphorus Bridge and overlooking to Asian shoreline. Sunset has a longstanding reputation of excellent cuisine and impeccable service. The menu includes a vast selection of specialties from Mediterranean & Turkish cuisine and a Sushi Bar was added in 2000. Additionally, in 2006 internationally acclaimed Japanese Master Chef Hiroki Takemura joined Sunset Grill&Bar and his menu includes selections from "New Japanese Cuisine". Besides being a member of the Chaine des Rotisseurs since 1999, Sunset is the recipient of many international and domestic awards. In 2002 and 2009, Sunset was selected among the best restaurants in Europe by the Zagat Survey and was selected the best restaurant in Istanbul in 2004 by Time Out Istanbul. Also, in 1998, Sunset was invited to make a presentation at the James Beard Foundation. Sunset Grill&Bar Wine Cellar Besides offering an exceptional dining experience for our customers, comprised of Turkish and International culinary aficionados , we introduced a new concept to diners in Istanbul: some of the most valuable and rarest wines from around the world are available at Sunset Grill&Bar since 2004. Our stellar wine cellar includes everything from Petrus to La Tache, Chateau Latour to Sassiccaia, and Opus One to Chateau d'Yquem - all considered some of the finest wines in the world. Since 2012, Sunset Grill&Bar is being rewarded with "Best of Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator and is the first restaurant in Turkey to receive this award. Also in 2014, Sunset Grill&Bar is rewarded by The World of Fine Wine's Best Wine List Awards.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

An outstanding experience from the minute we were greeted by the hostess to the time we left. Great view overlooking the Bosphorus, lovely ambience, superb music and excellent food with a good collection on offer of wine and whisky.

Seamless reservation, the restaurant was packed with all tables occupied. The service was top quality and food variety exceptional. Taste complimented the ambience and variety perfectly.

Recommended and will repeat.

Thank akr1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We were invited by some business associates to this restaurant, and it was a superb experience in every aspect. The bar is chic and relaxed. The view to the Bosporus from the main dining hall is amazing, a magical landscapes of lights laid out before us. The food was excellent, the service was smooth and the setting was perfect. Recommended!

Thank aubergine_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear aubergine_man,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team at Sunset Grill & Bar for selecting to dine with us. It was our sincere pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again in near future at Sunset,

Kind Regards,

Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I had dinner at this restaurant and really liked it. The food was delicious , I had the salmon with mushroom risotto and it was really good . But what made the dinner special was the ambiance of the restaurant , it’s located on a hill and the views of the Bosphorus are just beautiful !! I is an expensive restaurant but worth it as a treat !

Thank mariavoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear mariavoyer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your experience with us at Sunset Grill&Bar. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed a nice customer experience on the service you received with our team.

We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Over rated. Food was ok. Staff is rude, slow and un professional!
The only nice thing about the restaurant is the view.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jenifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Jenifer C,

As being a team in Sunset, our first goal is to serve and host our customers in the best way and make them leave satisfied from our services. Your complaints or compliments are always considered with high priority to improve ourselves.

We would like to offer our apologies for the trouble you had to experience in our restaurant.
We regret that we provided you with bad service and a poor customer experience – it is exact opposite of we pride ourselves on. We value our customers and understands how important it is to offer exceptional service.

Once again, we apologize for this error and we hope to keep you as part of our valued customer base for a very long time. Please feel free to contact us directly at info@sunsetgrillbar.com with any questions, requests or comments you may have in the future.

We look forward to welcome you again at Sunset in the near future,

Kind Regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent view to Bosphorus bridge and the city with its lights. The ambiance was nice and the service polite. I enjoyed the food! They had prepared a Christmas menu just for us as well. It is also good that there is a second dining room for smokers.

Thank Fay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Grill Ba... I, Director of Sales at Sunset Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Fay62,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your experience with us at Sunset Grill&Bar. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed a nice customer experience on the service you received with our team.

We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Ebru Tansever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Grill & Bar also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Sunset Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing