We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff, perfect ubication”
Review of Antique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antique Hotel
Ranked #701 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice staff, perfect ubication”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This small hotel is located in the most touristic area just a few meters from the blue mosc, hagia sofia and other interesting sightseeing spots, the owner was so helpful an patient to give us a lot of information. i think he is highly trustful an always objective with his recomendations. i strongly recomend him and his team.
Another positive thing was that our room was cleaned every day and we had floor heating! which was very nice, espeacially for such a good price :25 euros for two people including breakfast)
but: there were some things that we engoyed less. first of all the rooms are mini!!! you can hardly put your bag somewhere, between there was maybe just a distance of 50 cm!! but i also heard that in istanbul the room are often like this and sometimes you pay much more and also get a really small room. i think the room was not bigger than 10 m².
the bathroom was not really comfortable. there was no courtain so after taking the shower everything was wet and the shower was fossil and the toilet bowl was also not the newest and therefor it had some brown sediments...
but if you just pay 5 € more 8actually we wanted to chage the room but in the end we were to lazy to pack everything etc) you get a room with air condition, heating, and a more or less new bathroom (where you can close the shower) which i think is worth it.
the breakfast in my opinion is a desaster. you don't get normal coffee but only nescafe with milk powder (sometimes they have normal milk). we went there at 9.30 (it is supposed to be served untill 10) and so many times nothing fresh was left. there iss butter, marmelade, cream cheese and some strage but tasty turkish spreads, sometimes there are tomatos, cheese and eggs, but mostly they was nothing of it left when we came. no fresh fruit, no fresh drink, only some coloured and very sweet "juices".
in the end i really liked the hotel, because of the peolpe. i was happy to meet eniz (the owner) who invited us for coffe and tea when we came back late after the whole day of walking threw the cold. he offered me to bring us to the airport because he had to bring his sister there.
i really would love to stay there the next time i go to istanbul because i think if you go to the 30 € room you get a lot for that small money. the only thing is that maybe next time i don't want to stay in sultanahmet (the touristic center of istanbul) becuase it i very nice and interesting at day time, but at night it is completely dead! maybe i prefere to go somewhere where there is some more street/nightlife and go to the touristic places at daytime and take the tram or whatevere. also in sultanahmet everything is touristic!!! all the restaurants, everything! that means that it is very expensive and you will not find nice coffes (after the breakfast with horrible nescafe i couldn't find a nice place for my first good coffee, which was not absurdly expensive), bars etc.
still thank you eniz for the good time. and see you next time i visit istanbul!
ah, i forgot: the beds are VERY comfortable. and the terrace has a nice view!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    95
    29
    13
    18
See reviews for
23
111
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Located in Sultanahmet, in the heart of Istanbul, l'Hotel Antique is a small hotel with big capacities. The staff is very helpfull with anything a traveller may nead, directions, places to eat, visits, or do something, transportations, shuttle to airport or else, etc. It is also a great place to meet interresting travellers who have similars interests. Breakfasts, serve on the terrasse on the roof, are copious and very good and the view on the Blue Mosquée on one side and the Marmara sea on the other side fills the imagination. Enis, the sympatic owner, is a valuable "personne ressource" in Istanbul!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel was nice, very clean and the staff extreamly friendly. Would definiatley recommend it, and its a excellent location, in the heart of istanbul. The only comment was the the bathroom was small, and could be a little awkard at times. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Very conveniently located near the Blue Mosque. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast on roof with stunning views over the sea. Hotel very clean. Bedrooms rather small but quite adequate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnightingall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The rooms are teeny tiny and the bathroom is even smaller, however, the service was amazing. The staff were extremely helpfull and friendly, the bed was comfortable and welcome at the end of a long day - we even had chocolates on our pillows. The breakfast was enough and they even bake cookies on site, nice with coffee looking over the blue mosque on the one side and the sea on the other! Very central, I will surely use them again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,037 of 1,141 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#374 of 1,141 in Istanbul
118 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#477 of 1,141 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#627 of 1,141 in Istanbul
609 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#456 of 1,141 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Fener & Balat
Hotel Fatih Istanbul
Hotel Fatih Istanbul
#930 of 1,141 in Istanbul
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hotel

Property: Antique Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Ogul Sok. No:17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #701 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $18 - $37
Hotel Class:2 star — Antique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Antique Hotel Istanbul which serves since June, 1989. Centrally located in Sultanahmet, The Antique hotel is a traditional family run property situated in the historical centre of Istanbul. Hotel Antique makes visitors feel more like a home. Accommodations are available for the short and long term stays for international travelers. The Antique is one of the most unique and definitely best BB hotel in the Sultanahmet district, offering friendly budget accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antique Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing