We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
318
336
176
83
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
336
176
83
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquebigger roomold townterrace restaurantbreakfast was includedmini barmain sightssirkeciattractions
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

had a great stay at the hotel. rooms are small, but adequate. very clean. great location-central to attractions. two amazing staff stood out - Mr Murat (Front office), was amazing with his advise and help every single day, truly professional and great command of english. And Ms Ruveyda was not only the sweetest woman, but helped us plan our day every morning at breakfast. Only negative - The breakfast isn't anything special, and it is a bit odd to have to pay for your orange juice.

Room Tip: check with hotel first before booking room as u may be surprised by its small size otherwise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinma71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The best part was the breakfast buffet, but that got boring after 3 days. Room was tiny, I was travelling alone so it was enough but it would've been a tight squeeze for two. Hard to find and construction and traffic made sleeping difficult.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMZTOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thanks for your feedback.Our hotel is very central and close to most of touristic attractions.
The room windows were covered by special soundproof material.The breakfast has a wide variety and changed daily.Thanks for choosing us.We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Yours Faithfully

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I would like to thank all the staff at the Ipek Palas. My friend and I booked a double room for 3 nights and loved the fact that we were so close to all the cultural tours and places. We had no problems travelling around on the trams I would like to say a special thank-you to Ramazan who runs the Terrace Restaurant. It provides friendly service and good food. I even had a special red silk tablecloth and the most beautiful shaped knapkins especially twisted into flowers plus a fabulous cake and sparklers to celebrate my birthday. Very thoughtful and very kind. Room was a bit small but very clean and there was a safe in the wardrobe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I would have rated this hotel a 3 / 5 but added another star just for the great location. Its within a 10 minute walk to the Topaki Palace, Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque and less than 5 minutes to the Sirkeci tram stop.

Hotel itself was just OK -- we booked a "superior" room but it was still pretty small and had a weird smell to it. Overall room was clean but definitely an old room, with old furniture, and the bathroom had a TINY shower (with one of those on-the-wall soap-and-shampoo-in-one dispensers). We faced a side street so didn't have problems with noise that other reviewers complained about; but they were doing some interior construction/remodelling/painting of the hallways outside our room which made it impossible to sleep in late.

Staff was polite, friendly and helpful. Breakfast wasn't amazing but there was a decent spread.

Overall we didn't love the hotel but for the cheap rate and great location we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michster54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipekpalashotel, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ipek Palas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Our valued guest

Thank you very much for your feedback about our hotel and service.The room that you booked was a superior concept room.Each concept room has its own style and for each decoration different theme was applied.As you mentioned, we had a maintenance and apologize for this inconvenience.For your next trip to Istanbul, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Guest Relations
Ruveyda Demirci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Superb location in the centre of the historical area. Apparently it is the 2nd oldest hotel in Istanbul. Breakfast as expected, rooms a bit of a disappointment, although the staff did move us and we were very happy with the second room. The staff are superb, very friendly and helpful. The construction of a new underground train line is a bit noisy at night if you are in one of the front rooms.

Room Tip: For 2012 at least, request a back room, view not up to much, but at least its quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews