We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average Cozy Hotel”
Review of Daphne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daphne Hotel
Ranked #286 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2017

It was my third visit to Istanbul and 3rd hotel there.

Advantages:
-The location of the hotel is wonderful. It is just behind the Hippodrome Square on Sultanahmet: 5 minutes walk distance to Blue Mosque, 7 minutes to Hagia Sophia, etc.
-The staff of the hotel is wonderful, friendly and accommodating. All of them speak good English and are very helpful in all kinds of situation. They even met us with free tea and wonderful freshly baked cookies.
-The view from the terrace (breakfast location) is amazing.
-The rooms are clean and quite large.

Downsides:
-The hotel seems a bit old. Therefore some of the room amenities are out-dated and do not work properly.
-The main disadvantage is that the walls are really thin and you can even hear the neighbors watching TV. I constantly got waken up by the footsteps of upper neighbors and by the loud shutting of the doors.
-The breakfast is not the best I have tried in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Try to choose lower level rooms as you do not wish to be waken up by the noise of breakfast dishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We were a family of 4 adults (my 2 parents and myself and my little sister) staying from 13th- 17th July in connected rooms on the second floor. We had a great time and there were 2 male staff who we interacted with mostly, one of them was Ahmed who provided us with lots of useful information about transport and places to see. Hotel was always very clean. Ahmed always gave us tea. Although my little sister was charged 9tl for 3 teas on the first day by the other guy in the evening of 13th July. The other guy did give us a good recommendation for a hamam at a reasonable price and arranged pick up and drop off. Breakfast was filling and tied us over to late lunch/ dinner and the guy upstairs each morning worked hard with serving breakfast but would be nice to have different things each day. There are so many beautiful mosques surrounding the hotel and the grand bazaar, main tramline are all close by and not too long a walk. The roof terrace was not always open although they did open it twice out of the 5 days we were there at night. I hope Ahmed got our tip of 20TL which I left with the guy on reception on the morning of the 17th. Thank you for a lovely stay I will definitely consider staying here again in future. Amin Family.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rahima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Good friendly service from start to end and they won't let you put your bags in taxi as all done for you. We stayed twice nearly 4 weeks apart and they all remembered us. rooms were old style decorated, clean and comfortable beds. Lift was great as had big ports on one visit. Magnificent view from rooftop balcony where you have breakfast and can smoke outside - overlooks the "ship park" with so many vessels at anchor of all sizes waiting for their next voyage/charter.... Mosque's abound! Restaurant opposite has amazing food and had the best meal on our trip at another nearby restaurant where we were picked up and returned back after-all organised by reception. If any fault at all would have liked some bacon....

Room Tip: Does not really matter as best views from rooftop balcony which accessible 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qldtrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Without all crap. In short..... Good location. All who working there are friendly and nice people. Rooms clean and look nice. Breakfast good. I can't complain specially for this price. Have a good time thete. Just 2 moment.. to improve service - buffet ....better dont keep forks and knife on the table.. let's customer take by themself and tablecloth must be fresh or don't use it at all. And u have very nice pretty maid, with very nice smile))) but better if - before she decide to unlock the door she must knock or ask to came in.)))) Am ok... but someone may don't like.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank askeroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel is in a tremendous and safe location in the old city of Istanbul. You can be near the location of the Roman Hippodrome within 5 minutes. You will be able to locate where the hippodrome was by the ancient Egyptian obelisk. The staff at the hotel are friendly. Breakfast buffet has good and varied selections. There are also many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. My wife and I were able to walk around the old city without any fear at all. The hotel shows its age but we felt it was maintained very well. Wi-Fi worked without difficulty and the strength of signal was strong from our room.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ccox397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#129 of 1,171 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#380 of 1,171 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#148 of 1,171 in Istanbul
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#247 of 1,171 in Istanbul
400 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tan Hotel - Special Class
Tan Hotel - Special Class
#150 of 1,171 in Istanbul
412 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#393 of 1,171 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daphne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daphne Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Su Terazisi Sok. No 14, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#196 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $52 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Daphne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, Hotel Daphne extremely luxurious décor, cleaning and serving for customer satisfaction is a great boutique hotel 20 rooms Odo had eight deluxe rooms. Hotel internet free and also we have a buffet for our guests. Complimentary 24-hour buffet entirely related staff and buffet coffee varieties, varieties of tea and pastry shop is completely free. Within walking distance to Sultanahmet Square 0.2 km as the hotel. Istanbul belly also are very unique and doors to customers with the service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Daphne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daphne Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing