We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but convenient”
Review of TAV Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TAV Airport Hotel
Ranked #295 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Bodrum
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Expensive but convenient”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I really like this hotel. It has a clean, welcoming feel about it and the rooms are extremely spacious. Access is easy by calling on a direct line for their minibus just outside the terminal exit, or by walking through the underground connection via the Metro station. Transit passengers also have access to the hotel from the transit lounge.

At 135 Euro per night for a double, it's expensive, but then again, so is staying elsewhere in Istanbul, without the worry of transportation in this bustling city. The breakfast buffet is outstanding, and in my most recent stay, included smoked veal tongue, lentil soup, camenbert and gouda cheeses, eggs made to order, grilled tomatoes with cheddar and an amazing variety of jams, juices and spreads. All of this was also extremely elegantly presented, with individual porcelain coffee pots brought to the table.

When I requested internet access (for my iphone), a laptop was delivered to the room, and reception was happy to do our flight check in from the front desk.

Bear in mind that the old wing (without windows) is/was the smoking section but has excellent artificial lighting where the windows would normally and the lighting can be adjusted depending on one's body clock. The new wing is completely non-smoking, and has a very modern decor, including orthopedic pillows, flat screen TV, parquet floors, ultra light comforters, see-through minibar, and complimentary coffee and tea. I was not able to adjust the thermostat (it was far too warm) but do not fault the hotel as I fell asleep before asking for assistance. I did receive an unsolicited wake up call which I wasn't happy about but these things happen.

Given the cost of boutique hotels in Sultanahmet,and the very easy access from TAV via public transportation to all of Istanbul, I would choose to stay here again even with the price tag.

Room Tip: Discern between the original wing (no windows but adjustable lighting) and the new wing (windows ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    295
    143
    49
    22
See reviews for
104
135
119
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The staff is great and it can't be beat for convenience; just exit the airport turn right and walk around the corner. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable. Free WIFI...

Half the rooms do not have windows. I would not stay here more than one night because you can do better a little farther away from the airport. Also, the breakfast is always a little lack laster. The only good thing is that it is attached to the airport so it is super easy for layovers. Although, they do not take my points card and may travel the extra mile next time to the Renaissance for the points.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I frequently have an early flight out of Istanbul after my visits to the city. The TAV airport hotel was a pleasant surprise and amongst the better airport hotels I have stayed at recently. Very close to the terminal, large rooms and breakfast available at 4 am makes the TAV a very good substitute for the 5 am taxi rides from the city to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skoddehauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We were in transit in IST for about 9 hours. Instead of trying our luck in the lounges, we chose to stay here. The common area in the transit lounge does not offer comfortable chairs. The hotel entrance is from the transit area. You do not have to head out of passport control. They over hourly rates. We took the 3-6 hour option for about 185 dollars.
The room was very clean and nicely lit. All the amenities of a nice hotel was there.
You can take a shower and freshen up before the next flight. Also a good option if you are traveling with children.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urojahaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel has the option of staying inside the transit/departure area, If you have an early flight this can be an attractive option as it will save you the visa and passport control queues on arrival and all the hassle of security, check-in, passport control etc. when going back for your flight. (The airport is at its busiest around 6/7 a.m.)

Hower it is not a cheap option; rooms are sold in blocs of 3 hours, 6 hours etc. and if you want a full night's sleep, the 9+ hour option will set you back about €180. You can stay in some fine places in Istanbul for that sort of money. Also there are no hotel facilities airside, other than an uninspiring room service menu. Otherwise your dining option is the Departure area Food Court. The hotel's other amenities, such as the fitness centre are also "off limits" airside.

The rooms are OK and well insulated from aircraft noise but the night I stayed there, a construction crew was having a competition as to who could shout loudest and drop the most pieces of metal pipe. It seemed to go on most of the night.

I think in future I will forego the few hours sleep gained by staying airside and use a more interesting and better value hotel in Yesilkoy or elsewhere nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Gerry96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
1.4 km away
WOW Airport Hotel
WOW Airport Hotel
#226 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.3 km away
WOW Istanbul Hotel
WOW Istanbul Hotel
#243 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.8 km away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#307 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
#346 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.9 km away
Elite World Business
Elite World Business
#113 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
3.1 km away
Radisson Blu Conference & Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TAV Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TAV Airport Hotel

Property: TAV Airport Hotel
Address: Ataturk Havalimani Yesilkoy, Bakirkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $147 - $238
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TAV Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your TAV Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul International Airport Hotel
Istanbul Airport Hotel
Airport Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing