We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are looking just for a bed to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Istanbul Royal Hotel
Ranked #968 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“If you are looking just for a bed to sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

A very basic hotel that I only could recommend you only if you go there only to sleep. I stayed here during four nights in a travel with my family. We booked two rooms facing the street. This is rated as a 4 star hotel and in my opinion is a 3star very basic.

1. The recepcion staff: Just correct, nothing special.

2. The rooms: Really basic. The carpet did not look very clean... Beds and bathrooms just OK. We were not disturbed for the noise of the street during the night. For us was silent not as said in another reviews.

3. The breakfast: The first morning we arrived at 9.45 (breakfast is until 10 am) because we were really tired for the previous night as we arrived to the airport late and to the hotel at 2.30 am.
That morning the waiters were taking away the breakfast so we just could eat some coffee and boiled eggs. We did not like this as it did left 15 minutes yet.

Next mornings we were at "normal" hours at the breakfast room so we could enjoy the whole food. Bread rolls were delicious.

4. Location: Not very centric but near to a tram stop to arrive in five minutes to the Blue Mosque and Santa Sofia Mosque.

If you are in a budget, or you are looking just an acommodation to sleep, this could work to you. Really basic hotel so do not expect any luxury.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank donperico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    34
    54
    32
    25
See reviews for
31
63
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just came back from Istanbul, I stayed at the Istanbul Royal hotel and for me it is the best location possible you can be, it is located in the Laleli area, 2 minutes far from the Tram station which u can use to go to Grand Bazaar ( beyazit stop ) Bosphorus, spice bazaar and Eminono ( eminonu stop ) Blue Mosque & aya sophia ( Sultanahmed Stop ), the tram is really good and cheap 2 TL per jeton.
Rooms are of a good size and bathroom was clean.
Breakfast was just ok.
I would stay again in this hotel as it is very well located, plenty of restaurant choice near by in addition to the stands that sell fried Hamsi ( fish ) 5 TL portion

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank othmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

With a recent tour group we were housed in the Royal Istanbul Hotel. Environment is generally dingy, few to no amenities and a poor choice of hotels in a city of many. Location is somewhat off the beaten track - a significant walk from the Old City. A nearby tram is a plus. Breakfast room was dated with long tables. Food was adequate. I would not choose this hotel unless with a tour group.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Raesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Amman, Irbid, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

it was amazing hotel i had so much fun in this trip and the hotel complete enjoyment

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohannad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The staff were nice but the hotel was not as described. The room had not been recently refurbished as stated and there was no rooftop terrace. On the first morning the lining on our bath split so we could not have a bath and all we got were excuses. Not happy! Had a meal in the restaurant - we had cold chips and a piece of cardboard that was supposed to be steak. Should have realised about the quality as we were the only customers! Would not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ann-marie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Ons Hotel
Grand Ons Hotel
#894 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Bosfor
Hotel Bosfor
#960 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.5 km away
Bekdas Hotel Deluxe
Bekdas Hotel Deluxe
#659 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Hilarium Hotel
Grand Hilarium Hotel
#660 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 km away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#471 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Polatdemir
Hotel Polatdemir
#401 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Royal Hotel

Property: Istanbul Royal Hotel
Address: Mesih Pasa Mah. Aksaray Cad. No:16 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#480 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $34 - $77
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISTANBUL ROYAL HOTEL FULL RENOVATED 2011. Just off Ataturk Boulevard and 200 metres from Pertevniyal Valide Sultan Mosque, this hotel features a Turkish cuisine restaurant and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Rooms have flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Hotel rooms at the Istanbul Royal Hotel have carpeted floors and large windows that overlook the streets of Istanbul. They come equipped with a minibar and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can enjoy a cold drink and light snack from the 24-hour piano bar. Each morning a breakfast buffet is served at the Royal Hotel’s restaurant. Room service is also available. There is a tour desk that assists with car hire and provides information on local attractions. A laundry and ironing service is also available. The Aksaray tram stop is 100 metres from the hotel. The Grand Bazaar is a 10-minute walk away. The Istanbul Royal Hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and luggage storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Otel, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Istanbul Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing