We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Istanbul Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 456*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
USD 276*
USD 249*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 339*
USD 270*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 151*
USD 114*
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 184*
USD 155*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
USD 400*
USD 328*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 223*
USD 126*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sultan Palace Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
USD 65*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 259*
USD 200*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regie Ottoman Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
USD 183*
USD 168*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
21
37
58
33
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
37
58
33
27
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just came back from Istanbul, I stayed at the Istanbul Royal hotel and for me it is the best location possible you can be, it is located in the Laleli area, 2 minutes far from the Tram station which u can use to go to Grand Bazaar ( beyazit stop ) Bosphorus, spice bazaar and Eminono ( eminonu stop ) Blue Mosque & aya sophia ( Sultanahmed Stop ), the tram is really good and cheap 2 TL per jeton.
Rooms are of a good size and bathroom was clean.
Breakfast was just ok.
I would stay again in this hotel as it is very well located, plenty of restaurant choice near by in addition to the stands that sell fried Hamsi ( fish ) 5 TL portion

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank othmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

With a recent tour group we were housed in the Royal Istanbul Hotel. Environment is generally dingy, few to no amenities and a poor choice of hotels in a city of many. Location is somewhat off the beaten track - a significant walk from the Old City. A nearby tram is a plus. Breakfast room was dated with long tables. Food was adequate. I would not choose this hotel unless with a tour group.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Raesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

it was amazing hotel i had so much fun in this trip and the hotel complete enjoyment

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohannad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The staff were nice but the hotel was not as described. The room had not been recently refurbished as stated and there was no rooftop terrace. On the first morning the lining on our bath split so we could not have a bath and all we got were excuses. Not happy! Had a meal in the restaurant - we had cold chips and a piece of cardboard that was supposed to be steak. Should have realised about the quality as we were the only customers! Would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ann-marie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Location is not in the heart of the tourist area (Blue Mosque etc) but is a short trip by tram, and a short walk to the Suleymaniye Mosque and walking distance of the main bazaar. The local restaurants are limited but we ate at a cheap and cheerful place around the corner one night. It is right on the edge of the major clothes shopping area. Location is really 3 1/2 stars as we did walk quite a bit each day owing to this.

We easily reached the hotel by public transport from Ataturk Airport (hotel almost on top of Aksaray station), but the tram can get very crowded so not for everyone or if arriving during rush hour.

The staff were very attentive, courteous and friendly and spoke good English (a blessing for us who were terrible at Turkish!). The room was very clean and the twinshare beds were very comfortable. The only problem with the room was the air-conditioning needing to remain on as room got quite warm(I slept with ear-plugs, which I often do anyway). However, you could leave the window open which may cool the room down adequately for most.

Breakfast was functional but the tables not set up for pairs or couples and the music was not to everyone's (i.e. my) taste.

Overall, a nice place to relax after a very hectic day in a very hectic city and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room, 613 faced west which was a great view, but away from Blue Mosque/ Topkapi Palace etc.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews