We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run with outstanding location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Historia Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well run with outstanding location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Let me begin by saying that I really wanted to give this property a 5 out of 5, and I wouldn't have been wrong to do so. There were just a few minor things that prevented this place from earning a perfect score. Your take away from reading this review, however, is that the Historia is a fantastic choice for your stay in Istanbul.
First the great; Perfectly located in the Sultanahmet district of Istanbul with impressive views of the Bosphorus if your room has a balcony. My room was peaceful enough to make me not want to leave and look at anything else. Quite affordable. I actually spent the 1st part of my Istanbul vacation at a top US franchise "Big Box" business/luxury class hotel and that was very nice, well run with all the amenities that you would expect from that kind of property. And it was over twice what I paid at the Historia, witrhout the view or the local charm that the Historia delivered. Well run with professional, friendy manaagement and staff. Omar Sevgili, the Coordinator (which is Manager, I assume) is an impressive young entrepreneur with an excellent grasp of both the English language and the use of new media (Facebook, etc.).to promote his business. I'm a pretty cheap date as a hotel guest, but if I had required a lot of hand holding, I'm sure that the staff would have provided it. The breakfast buffet was very good, served in a discrete dinning room with garden terrace on the building's 2nd floor.
Next the adequate; the property is clean and decently maintaned. Room service cleaned my room daily.; Towels and bathroom ameneties were acceptable. The building has a lift (elevator). It's not big, but it's perfectly adequate for getting up and down if you don't like stairs. It's not that you need to climb far anyway. My room was on the 6th floor, which is the top. That was two floors above the lobby and check in area, which is apparently street level (although it's listed as the 4th floor - building is on a hill, I guess). Room furnishings are not fancy, by any means,, but adequate and in good repair. Hot water was a little slow to get started in the evenings, probably because my room was on the top floor, but it did come. The shower faucet was a little tight, but functional. There were two available outlets in my room which, given the room size, was fine. There is also a train train that runs behind the property, but the train is electric and does not run that frequently (it's not the CTA), so noise was not a problem.
Finally the needs some improvement section. The rooms are a bit small. My signle, while perfectly fine for me as a solo traveler, might have been a little tight quarers for two people. Thet could stand to upgrade their TV's from the old school 14" CRT flea market jobs to flat panels, and their reception on some of the channels was spotty. Wasn't a big issue for me, though. They could use coffee makers in their rooms. Having to walk around in public without my first cup of coffee is a cruel act for everyone concerned. While my room was cleaned every day, the drinking glasses that I used were not replaced.
All in all, I highly recommend the Historia. I will personally stay here again.

Room Tip: The view of the Bosphorus makes this place a top pick. A balcony room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlainVanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    198
    40
    13
    7
See reviews for
157
144
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Myself and two friends stayed at the Hitstoria in Instanbul for a few nights of R&R in a business trip and we couldnt have been more pleased with the location of the hotel. The location was perfect with numerous restatuurants and Bars between the hotel and the Blue Mosque which is about 750 metres away. The rooms are comfortable if not luxurious and I couldnt recommend this more if you are looking for a more "rustic hotel expericne". The staff are great, the breakfast which is included is reasonable. Wifi is available and free. Ill stay here next time I go to Istanbul for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor which will haev ocean glimpses
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This little hotel is very well located in the historic area. The rooms with the view and balcony are great.
The staff is VERY helpful and friendly and really made me feel welcome.
I would stay stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a view of the Bosphorous and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ami98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

the view we could enjoy from the balcony is itself one of the best memories of our trip!
would definitely come back!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view! a little more expensive, but definitely worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gio_zar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Just arrived home from a week in Istanbul. We, seven women, stayed at Historia Hotell, and loved it. We were in the heart of Sultanahmet, but found at this hotel an atmosphere so quiet and peacefull!!
So wonderful it was everyday leaving the crowds,noises,the people behind in just a 5 minute walk and arriving at this peacefull Spot!
I'll mention first- that the rooms are small, BUT they are clean, nice to be in, good beds, and with all you need, even frig.
We invested a few more euros and had roomy balconies where we could enjoy the sun, sunrise,and seaview.
Included in the price was a well filled breakfast buffet and we could Choose to eat either in the pleasant breakfast room,or in the garden terrace just outside in peacefull surroundings.
The Staff were all very very Nice, helpful, polite and they all made the stay at the Hotel perfect!

No doubt, if we return to Istanbul we know our address!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janetsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#83 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#117 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#182 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historia Hotel

Property: Historia Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:23 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#100 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#147 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $38 - $73
Hotel Class:3 star — Historia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historia Hotel is an excellent special class hotel in Istanbul located at the heart of the famous Old City. Istanbul Old City’s Historia Hotel has been welcoming guests from around the globe to the one of the most exciting city in the world for more than10 years. Histori Hotel puts visitors in closer proximity to everything there is to see and do in Old City and Istanbul. Historia Hotel is within easy walking distance of Old City Istanbul’s world famous celebrated historical highlights like The Blue Mosque , The Hagia Sophia , Topkapı Palace , Underground Cistern , Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Grand Bazaar , Egyptian Market and many shops. In less than five minutes you can walk to more than 100 restaurants. At Historia Hotel you will only minutes away to enjoy all Istanbul Old City has to over. Historia Hotel offers 27 oversized rooms, most overlooking to the Marmara Sea with magnificent sea view with balcony and terrace. Book now for an unforgettable hotel experience in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Historia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing