We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect city break hotel”
Review of Hotel Sebnem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sebnem
Ranked #331 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The perfect city break hotel”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

If you are like me and care more about the city than the hotel, then Sebnem is perfect for you. Not to say the hotel wasn't great- it was fab - but the location and helpfulness of the staff were even better. The rooms were comfortable, quaint and you really felt like you were in Turkey (not like those sterile international chains). The breakfast was delicious and generous; the location was perfect and the staff were worth their weight in gold. I'd definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bronwenfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    142
    10
    10
    6
See reviews for
94
216
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I agree with so many of the other reviewers. I just finished 2 nights at the Sebnem. Great location, great staff, great lounge. In the Sultanahmet, it is a short walk up hill to the major sights. The street has many restaurants to choose from. Our room was the family room with a double bed and 2 single beds. Great sheets and duvet. Immaculate bathroom. The lounge on the top floor serves a good breakfast and you can have drinks as well. A lovely terrace overlooks the sea.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank moirnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here on 2 seperate occasions for about 4 nights each time in December 2011. Before we arrived the guys on reception were great - helpful and informative via email, and then when we arrived we even more helpful with recommending restaurants, tourist sites, out of the way great experiences and providing information like maps, booklets etc. There were umbrellas in the lobby for guest use (particularly helpful in winter as it rains a lot), free wifi and computer terminals.
The location is great, just off one of the larger streets in the areas, beautiful cobblestones lanes, lose to hagia Sofia, blue mosque and topkapi palace.
Breakfast is brilliant - full buffet with savory options as well as a huge variety of sweets, cakes, pastries with jams etc. Freshly squeezed juices were a real plus, as well as great Turkish coffee. Breakfast served in the covered rooftop terrace, which I can imagine would be great in the summertime, with a great view over the bosphoros.
We stayed both times in the garden room, very quiet, cleaned very well, comfy bed, a slight bit too warm in winter but we sorted this out pretty quickly, nice little touches in the room like fresh water jugs everyday and travel guides in the room, book exchange in the little lobby and for the money we paid, it was clearly the best hotel in a lot of Europe. Would definitely request this place again, and would recommend it o our friends and family.

Room Tip: Garden room very quiet, no steps to walk up, great 4 poster bed, flatscreen tv, great shower pressur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KimandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Recently stayed at the Sebnem Hotel over the winter break, and it was so fabulous that we cancelled a later reservation elsewhere in Istanbul and went back to the Sebnem. The staff is wonderful - very friendly and helpful but not pushy. Having visited two other hotels in Turkey (one quite cheap, the other higher-end than Sebnem) I can tell you it's a common problem to find hotel staff who are aggressive in pushing their favored restaurants/tours/etc. No such issue at Sebnem - hotel staff provided recommendations on request, but it was never a hard sell. They were wonderfully welcoming, friendly, and helpful in every respect.

Sebnem also has a great location very close to the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, and the metro and light rail lines, the place is clean and comfortable, and the rooftop terrace is wonderful. I was a little worried travelling in the winter that we'd miss this part of the experience, but they have a lovely glass-enclosed indoor space as well as an outdoor terrace - it's a great place to hang out in the evenings particularly as they provide a couple laptops for guests who didn't bring a computer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Wonderful service, great location, Even our towel hanger in the bathroom was heated (winter), rooftop terrace (indoor/outdoor) with views of the beautiful blue bosphorous below stays open in the evening for a glass of wine, beer or internet. Delightful breakfast with fresh squeezed juices in the morning, cappuccinos, reading materials, newspapers, guidebooks available. Kind, knowledgable laid back staff called out for dinner reservations and airport transfers. . .for us upon request and are available 24 hours. Rooms are small but cozy. Daily cleaning service is great. Lovely to experience the beautiful authentic city without the sterility of a large chain hotel. Rooms are small.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
#315 of 1,149 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#214 of 1,149 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#227 of 1,149 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#281 of 1,149 in Istanbul
32 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#231 of 1,149 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#241 of 1,149 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebnem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebnem

Property: Hotel Sebnem
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adiye Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#132 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#154 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): $40 - $81
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebnem Hotel is a 15 room, tastefully decorated, well kept hotel in the heart of the old historical principals such as The Blue Mosque, The Saint Sophia, The Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern etc. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom , 24 hours hot water and direct dial phone. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Continental breakfast is served on the terrace where you can enjoy the panoramic view of Marmara Sea. Recommended by many principal guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sebnem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebnem Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing