We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kariye Hotel
Ranked #960 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 4 January 2014

...well, first of all we LOVE the Asitane Restaurant (for real)! But we made the stupid decision staying in the hotel...well well...what shall we say without being rude? okay... the staff is really nice. The suite is spaciousy. The setting of the Hotel besides karye kilesi (chora chruch) is nice. BUT...now we need to stop being kind. The bathroom is absolutely unexpaptable: 30 minutes of brownish water, rusty Installation and a variety of different funghi growing on the wall! You are afraid of picking up the shower - it might brake (and accutally did once upon a time). And the smell. No way. This place is really past it's prime, and, with some urgently necessary renovation, might be a nice place. But not right now. Avoid this place.

Room Tip: don´t use this Hotel...but if you insiste...take the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kedi_Kedian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel several times, one of which was five days. The breakfast is the first thing to be mentioned, always rich and fresh, with well done Turkish tea. Not less from what is to be expected from the well known restaurant of the hotel (Though the prices of the other dishes in the restaurant is expensive compared to the small portions, but deserves to be tried for its carefully compiled Ottoman receipts). The hotel is old, actually a renovated old house, but clean and tidy. The bathrooms could take some maintenance maybe, but still OK. The location is not at the heart of the touristic old city (which is in fact better), but in the heart of history, next door to Kariye Museum, you walk a street or two down and you will find Fethiye Museum, and you will be in the ancient neighborhoods of Istanbul; Balat, Fener and the beautiful Halic. The buses and minibuses are reachable by a few minutes walk. Parking in front of the hotel is also safe, where I left my car all day long during five days. Personnel is good, nothing negative about this hotel. Good choice for a peaceful stay.

Room Tip: I always stayed in the main building which includes the restaurant. Have no idea about the annex bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank İlkay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel and the room was attractive with tranditional furnishings and comfortable bed and we have an outlook onto the museum next door and view on Istanbul.
It is right next door to the beautiful Kariye Museum which is a MUST SEE when in Istanbul, seeing this Museum was one of the highlight of our trip.
The bathroom was adequate but could do with some renovation. The water in the shower was warm and not hot enough. We had problem connect to the free WiFi in our room.
Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of food and was served in the fine dining restuarant within the hotel.
The location was a bit far away from the centre of town - 30minutes by bus ( bus come approx.every 20minutes ) to town.
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

the hotel is situated right next to Chora Museum, in the Fatih district. this is a very nice neighborhood, with nice views over the Golden Horn.
it's an old wooden building, as most of the buildings in this area, very shiny, especially the part overlooking the Golden Horn. the rooms needs to be renovated, but keeping the old style which gives it the charm.
I liked the breakfast and the garden where it was served and the people at the reception who were very kind.

Room Tip: they also have a separate building where the rooms are not very nice. please be sure to specify you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Nice quiet calm hotel, far well from downtown. Old room equipment. friendly staff. Good and tasty breakfast.Wood windows is sharming, Simple old furniture also. Small artisan market near by. Metro stop is 1 km by foot of light promenade, than after 2 stops change to tram and about 10 stops to town center.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
New Fatih Hotel
New Fatih Hotel
#749 of 1,163 in Istanbul
67 reviews
The Elegant Hotel
#867 of 1,163 in Istanbul
4 reviews
Turquhouse Boutique Hotel
#745 of 1,163 in Istanbul
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#371 of 1,163 in Istanbul
133 reviews
Fener & Balat
Hotel Fatih Istanbul
Hotel Fatih Istanbul
#924 of 1,163 in Istanbul
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariye Hotel

Address: Dervis Ali Mah. Kariye Cami Sok. No:6 Edirnekapi, Eyup, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Fener & Balat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #960 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $41 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kariye Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kariye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariye Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing