We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic hotel for any season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #17 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just returned from a delightful stay at the Four Seasons hotel,Sultanhamet,where all our expectations were fulfilled and exceeded.This superb hotel,admirably managed by the charming Mr Felix Murillo is within easy walking distance of Sultanalmet Mosque,Topkapi Palace museum,Hagia Sophia museum,and many other attractions.A little further away ,but most highly recommended is the Koska confectionary shop.The best selection of turkish delights,baklavas,nuts and cakes imaginable.
The hotel's entrance hall is a florist's dream.Beautiful floral arrangements artistically displayed.Different flower themes extended to all parts of the hotel and gave us great pleasure.

Our elegantly furnished room on the 2nd floor overlooked the garden,and conservatory restaurant.Our room was faultlessly cleaned and replenished daily with bottled water,and a basket of fresh fruit.

The garden is breathtaking,the fragrance of hyacinths,the colour combination of various plants and flowers are a credit to the immaculate maintainence and pride the gardeners of the hotel take in their work,

We ate in the restaurant,professionally managed by Engen,and his hard working talented chefs,and waiting staff.We particurly enjoyed at breakfast the lage comb of honey,and the delicious conical shaped hot onion,basil and olive breads served at dinner.Try also a basket of tasty french fries availabe in the lounge bar.

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary and thanks to Mr Murillo and his happy staff they made the occasion memorable.A celebratory cake and sparkling wine greeted our arrival ,and each night we had a delicious and superbly presented rose petalled tray of canapes,petit fours ,macaroons and turkish wines delivered to our room..

Every member of staff was exceceptionally friendly,attentive and dedicated to making our stay a happy and worthwhile experience.It is perphaps churlish to pick out individual staff members,because everyone was so pleasant and helpful.However we were given special attention from Mr Mehmet,Guest Manager,Sinem,Receptionist and TugGe .

One expects luxurious toileteries,fluffy robes ,quality bed linen free internet service in 5 star hotels.One also expects,but regretfully does not always receive 5 star service from the staff. At Four Seasons ,Sultanahamet you can rest assured that this is what you will recieve in abundance .

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor facing the gardens are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 974 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Some might called it Shangri-La or Nirvana, well, it seems it is located in Istanbul at Sultanahmet. First time visit to Istambul, arrived very late at the hotel after a long transoceanic flight. We were greeted by name at the hotel entrance, no check inn at the lobby, we were inmediatly guided to our room. The room was impecable, everything in order, plus a nice selection or Turquish deserts for our arrival. The hotel is very quiet, perfect pairing for that lovely Four Seasons bed. The grounds of the hotel are full of flowers and small plants, that complement the heavenly atmosphere of the hotel. Everyone on the staff was always a step ahead to serve you, again, greeted by name and always made fell welcome and in the right place in Istambul. All culinary aspects are excellent, the choice ranges from local dishes and spices, to international flavors for the less adventurous. Our only regret at this hotel, is that our visit was too short. For the discriminating traveller, looking for only the best in every sense, this is your address at Istambul. We will return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We often stay at the Ritz Carlton and happened upon this hotel because the Ritz was booked. We are so happy with that turn of events, as the Four Seasons Sultanahmet is easily one of the best hotels we have ever experienced. From the moment we spoke with them with questions about our stay, not one detail was overlooked including the driver from the airport who assisted us with in room check in (a real treat after 17 hour journey), a welcome amenity for our 12 year old daughter, impeccably appointed room and bathroom with a view of the Haigha Sophia, daily treats left in our room, a beautiful breakfast buffet with lovely and attentive wait staff, and the list goes on. This hotel is ideally situated and although we were worried it didn't have a pool, we ended up being glad it didn't as there is so much to enjoy in Istanbul. We are looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room in the hotel. Ours was very quiet (though you could hear the call to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhkklk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear dhkklk,

I am very gratefull for your kind words. My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.

dhkklk, If may ever be of assistance please let me know. My direct email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com

I look forward to welcome you back to Sultanahmet and the Four Seasons. With your permission I want to share your comments with the team.

Yours cordially,

Felix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was our first trip to Istanbul and friends who had lived in there recommended the Four Seasons. When I made the reservations, I mentioned that the trip was to celebrate my husband's birthday. The hotel went out of their way to make the trip memorable; when we checked in, the manager came out to give my husband birthday wishes, and we were upgraded to a suite. At dinner in the restaurant (which is pricey but great food), our meal was finished with a beautiful birthday cake; all of course, very discreetly done. It is these personal touches that makes the Four Seasons worth it.

The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms quiet and comfortable; the service, as other reviews indicate, unsurpassed. Turkish people overall are so hospitable; one evening we were trying to locate an out of the way restaurant, and rather than get a taxi, the doorman, who was leaving for the day, drove us on his way home! At that same restaurant, the waiter, who spoke only limited English, was charming and attentive and ensured that we knew how to navigate back to the hotel.

Istanbul itself is an unforgettable city. The historic and cultural sites are not to be missed and the Four Seasons is in a perfect location for sightseeing. We walked almost everywhere, and were happy to come back and relax in our suite, where we found daily treats at teatime.

Overall, there is a warmth and appreciation for visitors in Istanbul that we have not found in other cities. We always felt safe, regardless of the hour, and even when no one spoke English, there was no barrier in communicating in restaurants or cafes. We have traveled extensively, and this hotel and Istanbul are some of our favorites.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear KAB100,

It is very special that you took the time to write about your experience at the Hotel. It was really nice to have you with us and I am very happy that you left with good memories.

You know that I am available if you need any assistance in the future, please let me know. My direct email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com

Yours respectfully,

Felix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Our family enjoyed a 6 night stay in March. The hotel offers the historic character of being a former prison looking out onto the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace while also offering all the modern and luxurious amenities of a Four Seasons hotel (soft linens, fast wi-fi, immaculate housekeeping, fresh flowers, fresh fruit, etc.).

Every staff member we met was kind, helpful and welcoming. They took wonderful care of us in numerous ways, but I will mention two examples that especially touched us:
First, someone in housekeeping sewed four buttons onto a shirt that I had never gotten around to mending - without our even asking. They notice the smallest detail. And secondly, one morning I was running very late and missed the end of breakfast. When I went to the restaurant to meet my family (who had made me a small plate of food), the waiter noticed the selection and suggested that he ask the chef to make me a fresh plate of warm scrambled eggs as mine must be cold already. It is this kind of thoughtfulness which we appreciate so much. The staff were so professional and genuinely kind, including the concierges who were more than happy to answer many questions and offer good advice. The attitude of all the staff made our visit very relaxing and enjoyable.

I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. We brought our two children (11 and 14), and while there were not many kids at the hotel while we were there, they were made to feel welcome as well. The only thing missing that they would have enjoyed is an indoor swimming pool.

One last tip- if you are interested in textiles (embroidery, ikat, wovens) or carpets or kilims, go visit Mehmet Cetinkaya's Gallery very near the hotel (5 min walk just past the Arasta Bazaar). They have a wonderfully edited collection of pieces, some museum quality. The owner is an international authority, and his gallery is unique - not to be confused with the myriad of carpet and kilim stores everywhere.

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 floors, the 2nd and 3rd having the highest ceilings and biggest windows. Views were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gothampanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear GOTHAMPANDA,

WOW! Thank you very much. You know we always work very hard to reach the hearts of our guests and when it happens... When the small details arrive... And even more, you take the time to write about them... The feeling is great, awesome!!.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind words. I am Felix, the General Manager.

I want to remain and be available should I may ever be of assistance. My direct email address is felix.murillo@fourseasons.com

Yours Cordially,

Felix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,081 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#68 of 1,160 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#8 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $313 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing