We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,095)
Filter reviews
2,095 results
Traveller rating
1,641
305
78
34
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,641
305
78
34
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tugra restaurant infinity pool park view bosphorus view four seasons beautiful hotel ottoman empire turkish restaurant breakfast buffet is turkey spent nights asian side turkish delight old city luxury concierge ortakoy
Filter
Updating list...
1,005 - 1,010 of 2,095 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

We we treated like royalty. Check in was comfortable- sat on a couch, drinks delivered and polite English speaking employees. Beautiful rooms, great views.
We hired a car, BMW 740. The driver was English speaking. He served as our tour guide also. He parked and took us to all the appropriate sites. No lines, transitions were easy.
We saw everything that we had outlined to visit thanks to our driver. Istanbul is a very crowded city with a terrible traffic problem. Do not try to drive in this town.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lambchop11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your stay with us earlier this month.
We are glad to hear that our services could meet your expectations and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Not only is the Palace beautiful but the service is outstanding in everyway.... We were there for 7 days and from the security guard, to the hotel wait staff everyone is just trying to help every which way they can. All of the hotel staff is there just for you! We had a business meeting and had nothing but great reviews and compliments from all of our guests. The views are beautiful, the garden and pool area are so pretty. The huka lounge is charming. Great restaurants... a big 10!!!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us earlier this month.
It was a true pleasure for us to read your thoughtful feedback and we are glad that we could contribute to making your business trip to Istanbul a great experience.
We do look forwarding you welcoming you back soon on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

the call of duty. Yes, the Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul is one of those top "luxe" palaces (and yes, it really was a palace before it was transformed into a hotel, but that's not why I will always remember our stay.

In spite of packing four suitcases, I managed to forget an essential medicine. I discovered this after more than 16 hours of travel and 8 time zones. When I contacted the concierge for advice, he asked if I would like to see the physician on duty. Huh? A doctor in the house? I thanked him, but thought I could remedy the problem myself together with a call to FEDEX. Unfortunately, the $$$ cost, time delay, and impossible rules--can't remember, but there seemed to be affidavits and certificates involved if I wanted to ship a prescription medicine overseas) made that an impossible route, so I asked to see the MD. Turns out, she was available every day until four pm.
Imagine a concierge doctor...no waiting and ready to help.

It took a while to find the medicine and it would not be available until the next day and yes, the cost was not negligible, but at that point, it did not matter.

And, as promised, the medicine was delivered as scheduled, the charge was added to our bill and we were able to enjoy the sights of Istanbul.

I cannot add much more to other visitors' impressions of the Ciragan Palace, other than to say we heartily recommend this hotel and are most grateful for the medical service that was provided. In a foreign land, this makes life a lot easier.

Room tip: If possible, cash in your childrens' inheritance and book a Bosporus view room. You'll feel like an Ottoman Pasha.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MitzouTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We were happy to read your review following your recent stay with us earlier this month and thank for your thoughtful feedback on behalf of all of my colleagues, who exceeded your expectations and contributed to making your stay with us a memorable one.
We hope to welcome you again soon on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

From the moment you arrive you know you have come to a special place. Ciragan Palace is truly a destination by itself and when you put it in fabulous Istanbul what more could you want. We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 4 week trip through Greece and Turkey and this was absolutely the "cherry on top" as we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary.

We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel each day and enjoyed it all. Sitting on the terrace overlooking the Bosphorus was fabulous. If breakfast is included in your rate, then the buffet is amazing, but at 43Euros per person it was over priced. The 2nd morning we just ordered room service and ate it on our balcony with an equally spectacular view. We did find it a bit confusing that some prices were listed in Turkish Lira and some in Euros. An example is the breakfast buffet listed at 43 Euros, but lunch and dinner menus were in Lira.

We enjoyed the infinity pool just steps from the Bosphorus.

We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tvl_Junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPKI, General Manager at Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Ciragan Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us earlier this month.
It was a true pleasure for us to host you for your very special occasion and I am glad to hear that we could contribute to making it a memorable experience.
We thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you again on many occasions.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Really great view to Bosphorus! There are nice rooms and nicer rooms, but the hotel is a different building than the Palace, we don't understand why it s considered so...Only the Tugra restaurant is in the Palace.(In the exhbition about the history of the place, we have seen photos and read that the hotel was build in the area where Besiktas football team used for training, next to the original palce which was burn in the beginning of 20th century.) Therefore we found the rates of the room too much expensive, especially when the price per night you get when booking through internet is at least 200 euros less than the one you have to pay, when you arrive there. Prices in the Tugra restaurant are also very high, although food is nothing special, except from the dessert perhaps...As far as it concerns the breakfast which ,while booking in the net, costed 31 euros (all prices in euros), when we went in the restaurant ,where it was served, we were told that we should go to the cafe instead, because intercontinental breakfast was actually complimentary and otherwise we had to pay the difference! The buffet in the cafe for this complimentary breakfast was really poor.
Spa also overpriced...

Room tip: i think only the rooms with Bosphorus view really worth it
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vassiako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews