We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Hagia Sophia Museum / Church (Ayasofya)
from USD 12.72
More Info
from USD 13.00
More Info
from USD 65.00
More Info
from USD 40.46
More Info
Reviews (38,487)
Filter reviews
38,487 results
Traveller rating
28,262
7,861
1,937
315
112
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28,262
7,861
1,937
315
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagia sophia restoration work amazing building awe inspiring audio guide amazing history under renovation take your time entrance fee visiting istanbul turkey scaffolding mosaics christianity queue plaster dome
Filter
Updating list...
1,752 - 1,757 of 38,487 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

If you can purchase your museum pass do it to avoid the extra waiting time though they didn't have it when we went much to our disappointment. Arriving early head straight upstairs to have some peace and quiet with the stunning frescos. Soak in the atmospheric old church, mosque, museum that truly is a place of the divine before the tour groups trample the place with their selfies.
Make sure you stand outside at night behind the coloured fountains to get a great view/photo with Aya Sophia in the background.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 655michaelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was the number 2 item on my bucket list, and it definitely delivered. Seeing the place for myself was an experience unlike any other. You should definitely visit the second floor as it gives a feel for the gigantic scale of the building. Unfortunately, there were renovations going on when I visited and the scaffolding was unsightly on the inside, but I'm glad to see that they are preserving the history so that it will be around for future generations to marvel at as well.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank MasterShake72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Loved the place. We went early in the morning to avoid rush. Just as well in the afternoon the queue to but tickets was very long. Absolutely must see this place. We did not take a guided tour. Read the signs we don’t think we missed out.

Highly recommended

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank SAB-luvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This a a must see in Istanbul. It's amazing, intriguing and interesting. We love our visit at the Ayasofya. The Sultanamet area is just spectular

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank adriann_jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

İt is one of the oldest building in the old city. Well protected. İt is worth to visit when you are around.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Эльвин Г
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews